We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, incredible views.”
Review of Hotel Beau Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Beau Rivage
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Weggis
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great room, incredible views.”
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed at Beau Rivage for 4 nights. The room was very comfortable, actually large for European hotel. We were on the 2nd floor, and had our own balcony. Some rooms do not have a balcony by the way. The views of the lake and the mountains are stunning. The bathroom was roomy also; it had a tub with shower, and double sinks. The staff was very nice, but a little on the stiff side. Things there are very proper, almost formal. The clientele seemed to be on the much older side as in retirees. They dress up for dinner. The restaurant staff is very particular. Don't try to wear shorts into the restaurant for dinner. The food was good, and the service was very good.


We had two issues with our stay. First, the hotel has no air conditioning. Our room stayed warm even with the windows open, and detracted from our sleeping comfort. They brought us a fan that must have been twenty years old and very loud.

Second, we were there the week of the Rose Festival, and our first two nights the party outside down the street lasted until 2 a.m., and we could hear every word in our room. if you like to party with the Swiss, then the first week of July is right for you. Not a good way to recover from jet lag. This wasn't the hotel's fault; just thought you would want to know.

Also, the room rate seemed high considering what we paid later in Paris. We didn't feel like it was a great financial value, but hotels at Luzern are expensive.

They have a very nice heated pool, and an indoor whirlpool and steam room just off the pool. You can't beat laying in the lounge chairs looking at the mountains with the lake just feet away. And jump in the lake if you can handle the water from the Alps!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    50
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
89
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

It is very rare in life to find absolute perfection, certainly in a hotel. But we think we have found it...at the Hotel Beau Rivage in Weggis. We have stayed there on 86 nights in 10 different holidays dating back to 1990; it is by some distance our favourite Swiss hotel out of the 30 we have stayed in.

The level of service and attention provided by the owners Mr and Mrs Geering is legendary; their "hands-on" approach is a simple idea which many other hotels would do well to try and imitate.

Perhaps the most significant reason for the success of the Beau Rivage is that Mr and Mrs Geering never rest on their laurels, they are constantly striving to improve. As an example - I am a very keen swimmer, and one of the highlights of our now annual summer holiday in Weggis is swimming in the Vierwaldstaettersee - for 1hour 15 minutes at 5.30 am (!) then again at 5.45 pm. In the garden by the lakeside at the back of the hotel - what sensational flowers! - there are steps leading down into the lake. One always used to accept that stepping into the lake required great care to avoid the slippery and jagged rocks next to the shore. To my amazement, Mr Geering did not accept this and built - at great expense - a platform which now guarantees a painless entry and exit to and from the lake. It this attention to detail which elevates this hotel above others in my view.

We were absolutely delighted to celebrate our Silver Wedding at the Beau Rivage in 2005 - we were treated like a King and Queen, as always. Sadly my wife is not now in the best of health but as ever she - and I - look forward to our next stay in what has become for us (and I suspect many others) a little paradise on the shores of the Vierwaldstaettersee.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, ENGLAND
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

The Beau Rivage in Weggis is a small traditionally styled Swiss hotel, set in an ideal position right on the lake at the centre of the original village. The views are wonderful, and we had a superior lake view room that came with a large terrace.

From the outset the service was very good. They helped with luggage, remembered my birthday, and arranged a night-key for late return, and did several other things without asking. The waiting staff were plentiful and well-trained. The entire experience was one of receiving great service but in a relaxed and unpretentious way. Some guests dressed formally for dinner, others didn’t, but there were no rules.

We had half-board accommodation, which may get boring in some hotels, but at the Beau Rivage the food was very varied and always excellent quality. Choices on all courses and salad buffet meant that you could get what you wanted. Wine costs were reasonable for Switzerland, and a good list available. Buffet Breakfast was great too.

Our room was furnished in traditional style but with recent good quality furniture and had an LCD screen with 40 channel SAT TV; wireless Internet was also available. We had twin beds, desk, two chairs and en-suite bathroom with a bathtub, and the room wasn’t over-crowded. And of course a lovely terrace.
The grounds bordered the lake with a well kept semi-tropical garden, a small heated pool, and cafe/dining on a terrace beside the gardens, with lake-views. There is a small car park for guests’ vehicles.

The prices were very reasonable for a 4 star hotel of this quality, and I would certainly recommend it over and above some more expensive establishments in this town. You feel slightly as if you are in a time-warp back to the 60s/70s when staying here, but in a good way. It’s a great place to relax, as a base to tour the area, and to really appreciate the beauty of the lake and mountains.

  • Liked — Ideal setting on lake
  • Disliked — parking a bit crowded
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Toofastcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We arrived on a rainy day, but the surroundings in the hotel and of course the friendly staff compensated for our discomforture.

We had a lakeside room on the top floor which I strongly recomend. The staff simply could not have been more helpful, they are always ready to assist, they were wonderful.

Our room was perfect for us, if you asked us to fault the Beau Rivage I would scratch my head and I simply could not do it.

A superb holiday for us, in fact the best holiday that we can remember!
Thank You again Mr. & Mrs. Geering

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank SwissfanMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

The hotel is wonderfully located, with the most incredible views of the lake. It's definetly worthwhile opting for a lake view room.

Our only gripe was the bells of the nearby church, which seem to go on forever, but that's something you're unlikely to avoid anywhere in Weggis.

The staff were wonderful and very friendly. The hotel restaurant is expcetional, as is the hotel's next door (on the right hand side, if facing the lake).

All in all a great place to stay!

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Church bells
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Simon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Without a doubt the best service we have ever experienced at any hotel, right down to the finest detail. Breakfast was superb, amazing setting overlooking Lake Lucerne and mountains beyond. Dinner time was exquisite - violinist and pianist on Sunday night, and everything is done immaculately.

We have stayed in 6 differnt Intercontinentals and 3 Savoys and although these 5 star hotels may have more room facilties, the service at the Beau Rivage puts them to shame,

Go for the lake-facing rooms with balcony, it really does make the stay even more amazing.

  • Liked — Location, service, food, setting.
  • Disliked — nothing - was absolutely perfect!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank durbs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonheiden, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

This hotel can best be compared to a "Swiss knive", it has everything you want on a small basis. By this I mean it's a family runned hotel, in which Peter and his wife Dorly are realy taking part in the daily service. The rooms on the front side have a magnificent view on the lake and the small garden, which is equiped with a heated swimmingpool and relaxing chairs, let's not forget also the wellnes center with whirling pool. The restaurant offers a daily menu for those on halfboard, with a variation of meat, fish or poeltry! quality of the food is excellent and so is the service, the only thing I miss is an airconditiong during long hot summers as the hotel is faced south it can get to hot in the rooms. After being a guest in this hotel for more than 20 times, for me it's like a sort of second home during summer, needless to say I can highly recommend it

  • Liked — hotel setting
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank patrick-belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weggis hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 16 in Weggis
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#5 of 16 in Weggis
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Post Hotel Weggis
Post Hotel Weggis
#11 of 16 in Weggis
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seehof du Lac Hotel
Seehof du Lac Hotel
#6 of 16 in Weggis
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#10 of 16 in Weggis
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central am See
Hotel Central am See
#9 of 16 in Weggis
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Rivage

Property: Hotel Beau Rivage
Address: Gotthardstrasse 6, Weggis 6353, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Weggis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Weggis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Weggis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Weggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beau Rivage 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Weggis
Beau Rivage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing