We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost Atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Beau Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Beau Rivage
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Weggis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our fourth visit to this hotel in as many years and it was only at the last minute that we realised the hotel ownership had changed. The warmth of our greeting from Marjorie on our arrival was promising, but there it ended. Although the manager hovered in the background in the reception area on many occasions, he never once attempted to speak to us and never once did he put in an appearance whist we were dining. What a contrast from the previous owners, who radiated warmth and were always around to exchange a few words with guests. By contrast, the dining room staff were very friendly and approachable, particularly those that had been retained from the previous regime. The food quality was generally satisfactory, with the exception of the dessert choice which was very limited and poor compared with the fare offered by the previous owners. It would seem that a pastry chef is desperately needed!
For German speaking guests the choice of TV channels in the bedroom was excellent, but for English speakers it was limited to one channel - CNN News! Yet there were quite a number of English speaking guests in the hotel. Accepting that the hotel has only been operating under its new ownership fpr about 2 months, this will probably be corrected in due course, but we believe this could have been sorted from the beginning. The hotel was as comfortable and well presented as ever, but more needs to be done to recreate the lovely warm atmosphere that used to exist under the previous owners.

Like the experience of another recent reviewer of this hotel, we departed without any farewell or good wishes for our onward trip from the reception staff. It seems to us that some staff training is required to improve the atmosphere and warmth in the hotel.


These comments are intended to be constructive for the management.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the extra cost for the views they afford.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Godfrey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Beau Rivage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 179 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

This year, the Beau Rivage is under new ownership/management and although we were assured when booking that things were the same as ever, they weren't.
On arrival, and in contrast to previous visits, there was no one instantly at the door to take care of car and luggage - although, to be fair, we were offered help once we reached the front desk. In the restaurant, we missed the warm, personal welcome offered by the previous owner's wife and would be surprised if the food earns its traditional Gault Millau rating. My wife ordered a Bami Goreng on the assurance it was a vegetarian dish only to find peces of meat in it. Additionally, the ostensibly Asiatic dish appeared and tasted more like Italian pasta and was surpsingly topped with a fried egg. Previously, the dessert buffet had been a feature of Beau Rivage dining - on this occasion, though, replaced by a meagre choice of two desserts one of which was a tired fruit salad - an obvious hangover from the morning's breakfast buffet. And, although the new management has modernised bathrooms, they have not upgraded them. Gone all together is the previous bathtub. By contrast, the former, cramped dimensions have been kept and the whole no longer harmonises with the admittedly dated decor of the adjoining bedrooms at least on the first floor. (Our own investment priorities would have been wellness facility improvements).
In the past, we found the Beau Rivage through the Gault Millau guide and returned on a number of occasions because it offered quality dining and comfortable beds in an unbeatable location which more than compensated for the tired decor and below par wellness facilities. And, although nothing of substance has changed, initial indicators are not encouraging (like the failed light bulb in the dining room which was not replaced between dinner and breakfast time or the less than top quality chocolate sweets in the bedroom) - all of which suggest we might have to look for an alternative venue when heading south. And, one final surprise (especially for a returning guest): the new management neither said good-bye nor solicited a reaction to the 'new' Beau Rivage - neither personally nor in questionnaire form. Bottom line: under new management - but with a rather large question mark.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I usually stayed in a 4 star hotel nearby the Beau Rivage in Weggis. As we were not very happy with the service, food and staff in the previous hotel we booked the Beau Rivage as it was recommended by a very close friend of mine.

We were absolutely surprised about the quality of food and the friendlyness of the staff . On Sunday the weather was absolutely fantastic and we were very keen having our late lunch on the Terrasse which provides a beautiful view on the lake. Unfortunately at our arrival, all tables on the terasse were already taken.by other guests and we were about to leave trying to find another restaurant.

The beautiful blonde girl with the short hair (i think her name was Heyke) realized us and arranged out of nowhere a table for us. She provided an absolutely fantastic service.

The food was delicious. During lunch we've had the opportunity to have a chat with the new director of the hotel which we never had when we stayed in the previous hotel.

We are delighted to recommend this hotel to anyone due to the friendly, flexible and attentively staff members, the location, food and new hotel director which was very curteous.

Room Tip: Room 405 or defenitely lake view rooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We booked a Rhine Cruise with Noble Caledonia. It ended in Basel but we were offered a free 3 night B&B extension at this hotel wirh a number of included tours.
It was our first visit to Switzerland, and although the weather,in mid April, could have been better, those few days turned out to be for us, and many others we had got to know on the cruise, the highlight of the whole holiday.
Everything about the hotel and its services was impeccable.

Our room, with windows on two sides, had lovely views over the Lake and towards the surrounding countryside.
Meals in the elegant restaurant were good.
Breakfast choices reflected international tastes.
Dinner was perhaps a tad too formal and stylised for us - with the ritual removal of silver covers from main course dishes.

All the staff in the hotel were charming - a perfect example of the high hospitality standards Swiss hotels and catering establishments are renowned for.
This was a perfect and elegant way to end our Rjhine River cruise in the congenial company of friends we had made during 10 days on board Johann Strauss.
And I would love to spend another few days in the Hotel Beau Rivage.

Room Tip: Ours was a corner, twin room. Very quiet, lovely views ( including from the bathroom window)
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12172013er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for three nights during August 2012 and picked this hotel because we wanted a room with a terrace directly on the lakefront - i.e. with no road between the hotel and the lake, as is the case with many hotels on Lucerne.

Yes, the hotel is old fashioned in its decor, but this is because everything is so well maintained. Our room was on the first floor and if you can afford a terrace on the lake we would really recommend this - the view was absolutely breathtaking and made up for the lack of modern decor. The room was dated in its interior and the bathroom basic, but it was spotlessly clean and very functional. The terrace was a good size and had a table and chairs, umbrella and 2 banana lounges. The only improvement we would suggest is tea and coffee making facilities in the room - but this seems to be standard practice throughout Switzerland.

The pool and terrace downstairs also provide a wonderful vista of the lake and we found service to be excellent. The breakfast buffet was very generous and we were always given the choice of eating inside or outside.

Weggis itself is a very quaint town and whilst busy during the day, it is quiet at night. It's central location makes it a good position from which to explore all aspects of the lake The hotel is located approximately 200 metres from the ferry terminal.

We plan to return.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a terrace with lake views. The additional cost is worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sashenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

In one or two recent reviews in Tripadvisor the Beau Rivage has received a small measure of criticism for being too old-fashioned, the décor a little dated here and there, and other “aesthetic shortcomings”, as one reviewer called it! Well, a bit old old-fashioned perhaps, but still first class. We had no problem with enjoying old-fashioned Swiss hospitality when we stayed at the Beau Rivage again after an absence of several years, having previously visited on a number of occasions over the years and always found it to be exceptionally and consistently good. Our booking for a four nights stay was handled promptly and efficiently, the reception we received was warm and welcoming, and we had an attractive, well-equipped room with lake view and a patio. They even sent their friendly porter, Manuel, to the boat station to pick us up on arrival.

As always, the Geerings strive for perfection in every respect and meticulous attention to detail. In view of the current strength of the Swiss franc, the hotel is inevitably a bit expensive, but at CHF360 (off-season rate) per double room per night, inclusive of breakfast and half board for two people, it was good value. The evening half board menu offers a five course dinner, including a choice of three starters and three mains, plus a salad buffet and a tempting variety of deserts. The half board menu was of such high quality and variety each evening that there was never any need to turn to the à la carte menu. The rich breakfast buffet was equally good. The service was attentive and friendly, without being unduly effusive.

Other reviewers have already attested to the wonderful setting of this hotel, right on the shores of Lake Lucerne, with a lovely garden, an outside terrace for dining al fresco (when weather permits), a heated outdoor swimming pool, a wellness centre, and other guest amenities. Bliss!

We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flowerofscotland10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I first visited Weggis on honeymoon 45 years ago staying at the Albana Hotel.We became friends with the owners and returned every 5 years on our anniversary until regrettably like many hotels in Switzerland the Albana ceased trading.
For our 45th wedding anniversry we have just returned from a stay in the Beau Rivage which was like going back in time.
The Hotel has been sympathetically modernised and provides service and style of the highest quality.Attention to detail is their watch word and the cuisine is outstanding.Our room was a lake view room with a patio and was stunning.
Like everything else in Switzerland the stay did not come cheap but in our view was worth every penny.
The only thing wrong was that this 4 star Hotel deserves to be a 5 star Hotel

Room Tip: Lake View room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCCGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weggis hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 16 in Weggis
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central am See
Hotel Central am See
#11 of 16 in Weggis
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seehof du Lac Hotel
Seehof du Lac Hotel
#7 of 16 in Weggis
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SeeHotel Gotthard
SeeHotel Gotthard
#3 of 16 in Weggis
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#5 of 16 in Weggis
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#9 of 16 in Weggis
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Rivage

Address: Gotthardstrasse 6, Weggis 6353, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Weggis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Weggis
#3 Family Hotel in Weggis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Weggis
Price Range: $204 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beau Rivage 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Rivage Weggis
Beau Rivage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing