We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views!”
Review of Hotel du Golf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Golf
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel du Golf for 5 nights, the 3rd week of May. I was part of a tour group and we were all given rooms that had mountain views as I believe this was their off season and they were not too busy. My room was large with a balcony and breathtaking views of the mountains and little clusters of houses. It was nicely laid out with plenty of closet space and lots of hangers - at least 20! The bathroom was spacious and the shower worked very well, although quite a high step out of the tub. Everything was very clean. The rooms also have a safe which is very handy. There is free wifi in the rooms - great for keeping in touch and sharing the mountain views!

We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel and the meals were very good. Breakfast was a buffet with scrambled eggs, sausages, bread for toasting, cheese, ham, cereals and delicious pastries. The coffee and tea service was pleasant and efficient. Our dinners were also very good with a different menu each night, everything cooked well. Three in our group were on gluten free diets and were well accomodated by the hotel.

I used the spa area for sauna, steam room, jacuzzi tub and bucket shower and everything was clean and well maintained. A very relaxing experience!

The front desk was very helpful with information about the town. The hotel is located a 3 minute walk from a train/bus station that you can take to visit Montreux or Aigle. They also have maps showing local hiking trails, which were unfortunately too muddy and slippery to hike on while we were there. The hotel has a very nice looking patio restaurant/ bar in the back which is probably open in the summer. It would have lovely mountain views, but too cold to be sitting out much when we were there. Apparently it was the coldest spring in 30 years this year, so hopefully outdoor activities are usually OK in May. In spite of the cool weather I enjoyed the stay at the Hotel du Golf.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saintsfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 217 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here in late May during a visit to one of the local schools.
Although booked into a standard room, the hotel upgraded us to a valley view room (although, the mountains were only visible on the first evening due to some really bad weather!).
The room was comfortable, had a great shower and was everything one could have wanted.
We had breakfast every morning at the hotel – it was a good spread, with excellent choice of meats and cheese, breads and spreads – as well as a hot option too. The breakfast staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
Hotel reception staff spoke excellent English and were also very pleasant.
All in all – a lovely hotel – highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a Valley View room - they might just do it (they did for us!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicmanbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We (couple & toddler) stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in January and again in April. The room first time around, although very dated was clean and a good size. The view form the balcony was stunning. The hotel staff were very friendly, however reception staff, presumably all family were very hit and miss. Asking for our dinners to be delivered to our room seemed to cause much confusion to one receptionist in particular. She insisted we could not ave the cheese plate nor salad as we had to chose them ourselves. I said, just ask the waiter to do it, we will be happy with that... No warm welcome on either stay. The elder family members seem to prowl around giving grumpy glances at guests. What is that about?
Our 2nd stay, and fair to say our last, we were not so taken with the place. The room was not properly cleaned and smelled musty. The hotel seem to rely on their location and views. They could do with a good shake up.
If it were not for the discount we received via our insurance co, there is NO WAY I would have been happy to pay full rates. It is simply not a comparable 4**** hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erinsuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very nice family-owned hotel. Cosy and warm atmosphere. The food is excellent, the employees are very helpful and sympatic. The view is gorgeous. The spa is quite nice (try the whirlpool outside facing the snowy Alps!
I was there for business: the meeting room is very nice as well, very clear with a beautiful view!
Great value-price ratio!

Room Tip: Room 102 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plong18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just back from a few days skiing. Booked at the Golf because the hotel with whom I originally booked failed to honour my reservation as they had to close at the behest of the authorities! The location is excellent, a hundred metres from the railway station and the ski hie shop - we were skiing by nine am even though we had to rent skis that morning. So, great location but the hotel is to that net resting: nice deck and decent food, if dull breakfast. Did not use the wellness area.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank douglasshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were pretty disappointed by this so called 4 star hotel. The welcome was ok but not really warm. We had to go back to ask for the bathrobes in order to access the welness area. The rooms are very rustic and would need a serious fresh up. The bathroom was clean and functional but also very old style. Room was not fully cleaned up, we found an ice tea bottle and a nut on the floor beside the bed. The heating automatically stops with a temperature of 18 degrees, to our taste a bit too fresh. Had to ask for additional blankets and after a second attempt they brought a small electrical heating. View was spectacular with a nice balcony. The wellness area was newly renovated and pretty nice, but the guests don't seem to understand that it is for relaxation and that screaming, laughing and shouting is for the slopes. The hotel should consider reminding the guests with clear rules. The restaurant service was pretty good, not that much the food which was average. Happily we had a special discount through a third party for this booking, because the overall services of this hotel does not justify the normal rates!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is clean, central and comparatively cheap. But it is not a 4*, not even close. The 1970s Decore is bad! And though the views are nice the hotel is showing its age with old rooms and a "game room" that is incredibly retro ( not by choice). The hotel is fine but don't think it's a luxury hotel, with a massive make over maybe I would stay here again... Until then don't even bother.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel, you pay for what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gibran608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldugolf, General Manager at Hotel du Golf, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your 3 recommandation. We are surprised about your overall apprecitation as you gave us 3pt over 5pt minimum on each criteria.
Regarding the age of the hotel, it has been built in 1983, 1993 and 2009 for the last section. So it can not be 70's looking. From april 2013, we are renovating the first section of rooms into an uptodate chalet style. We recommend the guests to request one of these for their future booking.

On our website, you can find an exact pictures of each category of rooms and you will get exactely what you have booked for. We find that complaining after your stay about what you have choosen with uptodate pictures, is not very fair. We are doing some constent renovation and all of our rooms are in an perfect state.
We encourage you to check our website www.hoteldugolf.ch to find out our new impovement and to give you the opportunity to change your mind about it. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villars-sur-Ollon
0.3 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#5 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
59 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Bains
Grand Hotel Des Bains
#1 of 1 in Lavey-les-Bains
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ecureuil
Hotel Ecureuil
#8 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golf

Address: Avenue Centrale 152, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range: $212 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Villars Sur Ollon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing