We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On top of the world!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabane du Mont-Fort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Verbier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabane du Mont-Fort
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“On top of the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

You have to ski to this gem, and it is not that difficult, but it is so worth it. The Cabane is situated high on a mountain top, overlooking the valleys below. When the weather is sunny and nice, there is no better place to be than at this restaurant for lunch, out on the deck, taking in the view, and eating (my recommendation) a cheese fondue with a crisp green salad. The experience will stay with you forever. This last time I visited, it was snowing heavily, so everyone was eating inside the restaurant. That is nice, too, because it is so characterful and cozy. I don't believe they take reservations, and the last time we were there, we placed our orders at the bar, then waited for it to be delivered to our table. The food is local and very good, and the staff are nice. In the restaurant, there are baskets above the tables for customers to store their ski gloves and goggles, so they don't take up limited space at the tables. Arrive early (@noon-ish) for lunch, if you want to be guaranteed a table.
An added note: If you are interested, the Cabane is also a hotel, with beds and showers, if you feel like spending the night! This is to accommodate people attempting the Haute Route, but anyone can book.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dudette59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here on our hike of the Walker's Haute Route. Unfortunately it was densely foggy this day, so we took the gondola from Le Chable to Les Ruinettes, then hiked the last 90 minutes or so in the rain. The few glimpses we got of the mountains before us were spectacular. We packed our own food so we didn't eat any meals at the attached restaurant. We had a small room to ourselves with 2 twin beds. The water is drinkable. Bring a sleeping bag liner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
193 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a wonderful first experience in a cabane as we hiked along the Haute Route.The rooms were simple, clean and comfortable. The food was delicious and the setting beautiful. We enjoyed drinks on the deck before the fog rolled in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babobear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
410 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hike here is pretty easy, just walk an hour and half from gondola (or walk full distance from Verbier, prob an extra couple hours). Once you are there, sitting in sun and enjoying a cocktail was pretty idyllic. You can hear cow bells ringing below you. Sunsets were amazing. Dinner was fine, hardly spectacular but tasty. Accommodations are spartan but serviceable. The five of us in our family slept in one room w/ a couple double bunks. Were a little surprised by price of everything when we paid ($450) but this is Switzerland! Overall, super fun night. They have everything you need after a nice hike. Certainly wasn't as remote as we thought it would be, but highly recommend. Breakfast was less than inspiring... bread and jam and mediocre at best coffee, and not cheap.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HClowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

After walking for 3,5h the cabanemontfort was a paradise...the food is great and has a very good summer deal: dinner, sleeping and breakfast for a cheaper price than a hotel in verbier... The staff are friendly and very efficient with the service

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryMarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Of all the restaurants on the slopes of the Verbier ski area this is the one not to miss. Unless of course you want champagne, caviar, fancy beef from an exotic country and fish you cannot pronounce. CdM is an old-fashioned high mountain hut with traditional cuisine, the cheese fondue is outstanding, the chicken salad is worth a detour and I would kill for one of those chocolate brownies. There is no service, you will have to stand in line to order through a window of the extremely small kitchen but that's part of the experience and chances are you make some friends while waiting. If you want to spend the night in one of the small but comfortable bedrooms it is advised to make a reservation. Prices are fair and if weather permits you may enjoy one of the best terraces in the greater area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank STWVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Another stop on the Haute Route from Chamonix to Zermatt, reached after a very tough climb from the valley underneath Verbier.

A welcome sight for sure, the Cabane sits on a rocky bluff at the end of a series of paths that run next to pretty, tumbling bisses. Stunning views back across the mountains from its terrace.

Nice welcome, good hearty food and comfy dorm bed. I was fortunate to have my own room of 4 bunks so got a decent nights sleep (which was very neccessary after the hard day!).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verbier hotels
2.4 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Montpelier
Hotel Montpelier
#3 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nevai
Nevai
#7 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Rotonde
Hotel La Rotonde
#9 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Chalet d'Adrien
Le Chalet d'Adrien
#2 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Chalet de Flore
Le Chalet de Flore
#10 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabane du Mont-Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabane du Mont-Fort

Property: Cabane du Mont-Fort
Address: CP 105, Verbier 1936, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Verbier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Verbier
Number of rooms: 276
Also Known As:
Cabane Du Mont-Fort Hotel Verbier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing