We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Unforgettable and super-picturesque experience!

Great experience and sooo much fun! In addition to adrenaline pumping in your blood, you also get... read more

Reviewed October 21, 2020
408eugeneg
A must do

Highly experienced team , managed by Stu and Mike , makes training with Verbier summits a must do... read more

Reviewed September 21, 2020
MichaelE1532
,
Cork, Ireland
Read all 101 reviews
  
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
99
0
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
99
0
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tandem flight two weeks these guys ground school once in a lifetime flying high an amazing experience the entire experience thanks mike great flight flying skills flying school experienced pilot long review make everyone feel welcome radio contact swiss alps
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 101 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2017

For a perfect paragliding and learning retreat, Verbier Summits couldn't be beat. I came in as a beginner for the EP+CP course in early September and walked away with a license 2 weeks later.

1. **The People**: The most memorable vacations involve wonderful people - and Mike, Stu, Emi and crew are the best teachers and company you could ask for. Extremely clear about all aspects of flying; confidence inspiring, encouraging and genuinely complimentary; safe, professional and judicious about conditions/ gear/pre flight checks (Guy more than once caught my mistakes before takeoff); easy to coordinate with at all stages of booking; and truly warm, fun, interesting people who greet you with a smile at every opportunity.

2. **Location and Infrastructure**: With Verbier Summits you get - a gorgeous and picturesque valley in the alps; consistent, stable winds permitting 2-4 flights a day; gondola rides right up to the launch site while meeting likeminded locals and course mates; takeoff from high elevation (2200m), where a 1300m descent permits long flights for beginners (20-40 minutes), options for ridge soaring, and different clouds and hews every day; an easy to recognize and spacious landing field dedicated to Verbier Summits; and all transportation taken care of by Verbier Summits (to/from training hill, between landing and gondola, etc). Accommodations, breakfast and classroom are essentially next door to the gondola and amenities (grocery, bank, bar, stores), and the team's chalet apartments (La Ruinette) are charming, arty, and comfortable with perfect kitchens for cooking. They were so popular that the second week we had to stay in an airbnb. The serene walk up a hill overlooking the valley every day while saying bonjour to the neighbors really airs out your heart. There's also hiking and tango lessons (taught by one of the paragliding instructors, Emi) to keep you engaged in the evenings, among other options like biking and via ferrata. If you do the 2 week course moreover, the compactness of Switzerland supports a weekend jaunt across the country for yet another adventure.

3. **Structure**: The rhythm of the course over 10-11 days made for a super relaxing vacation while staying mentally and physically engaging everyday and letting you absorb the peace of a pastoral village. Throughout the course, you engage with about 5 instructors (including Mike and Stu) who cover ground handling, takeoff, landing, and meteorology/aerodynamics theory. They follow the British and Swiss curriculums, and supplement with best practice experience. Everything the team does supports you flying solo from your very first official flight (around day 2 or 3). The theory was fascinating and clear. Ground handling teaches you takeoff and landing close to the ground. Multiple run throughs of what to expect and do in flight let you trust yourself and be self reliant. Calm radio contact at all stages of flight (takeoff, exercises on contingent scenarios, landing) continue to build confidence. Debriefs post landing reinforce good habits and quickly correct areas for improvement.

In short, I couldn't be more pleased with the experience nor could I recommend Verbier Summits enough. 10 out of 10!

Date of experience: September 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank LightPacker310962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017

It's a must! I completed the 2 week EP and CP courses. Every day I couldn't wait to fly. Very safe/good conditions with spectacular view!

Date of experience: August 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Marc_Nielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

One of my best experience ever.. the team, the people, the view And of course the flying was like a dream..(: Highly re

Date of experience: August 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank yuvalbless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Thanks to Verbier Summits and particularly Andreas for a perfect first tandem flight. He was friendly, chatty and made me feel at ease straight away. Would absolutely recommend him.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017

After years of seeing paragliders soaring while out mountain biking I finally took the opportunity to learn with Mike, Stu and the rest of the Verbier Summits team.

I can only thank the team for an excellent and highly professional EP course week - it was an amazing experience – from finally grasping my take off’s (Guy and Emmie have the patience of a saint.) and landing to the overall experience of the first flight. The professionalism and encouragement from the team was second to none in making the students feel comfortable and confident – a lot of people could learn from this in general industry…

I was very close to staying for the second week but due to work restrictions I will have to wait until next season.

The accommodation that was included was excellent, very smart chalet with fantastic mountain views from Le Chable with a great breakfast included at Cantaloupe bar next to the Verbier Summits office.

While the whole course was very professional and well run it was also very relaxed.

Top marks to all at Verbier Summits!

Date of experience: August 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 179tomh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews