We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Cordee des Alpes
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but regretted leaving so soon. My family (two adults and three kids (14, 10, 2)) stayed in a 2-Bedroom apartment overlooking the valley below and Alps across the valley.

The good:

The breakfast was included in our package and was among the best hotel meals I've ever had. The selection of food was familiar: fruit, bread, cheese, yogurt, cured meat, juice, coffee, pastries, cereal, eggs to order; but the execution was flawless. Perfect omelette, pastries to commit small crimes for, post-jet lag coffee of your dreams. For dinner, we ordered room service from the restaurant dinner menu and the food was exceptional, but I do have some criticisms about the room service that I've listed below.

The beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were spare with top-flight soaps, gels, etc (which we took with us and used for the rest of our vacation in Italy), and though the water temperature was too variable (a slight adjustment to the dial created huge swings in water temperature) the shower was very comfortable. Our room had spectacular views across the alps, and the balcony was a wonderful place to relax and take in the views.

The furniture in the rooms was incredibly comfortable--the couch was deep and perfect for zoning out in the out of body way that the trans-atlantic flight demands. My 14-year old son slept a few hours on the sofa.

The lobby and restaurant are well-designed in modern Chalet style, with earth-tones and broad embrace of the type of rough-hewn materiality produced by exposed beams and stone throughout. A beautiful hearth in the lobby provides a great spot for reading by the fire or enjoying a glass of wine or cup of coffee. The restaurant is equally beautiful, with open kitchen views and booths for families and wrap-around windows looking on the courtyard.

We didn't have time to use the spa or pool or amenities, but I'm sure they're spectacular.

The staff provided a perfect combination of solicitude and natural informality that fits me to a T, and they were flexible enough to accommodate our specific needs. They drove us to the gondola and were waiting for us when we needed a ride back to the hotel. They provided a crib for our two-year old without us even asking, which was very much appreciated.

Our apartment included a parking space for our rental, which we could access ourselves or have them access for us. When we checked in they took our car keys and emptied the car and parked it and delivered our bags to our room. Very convenient.

We didn't spend enough time there to have a strong opinion about the location, but it is not ski-in/-out and getting to a lift in the winter I'm sure requires a ride (which as I've noted is extremely easy to procure). But the views are tremendous and it's easy to find.

The bad (including some subjective criticisms that can be ignored):

I would have preferred a few more area rugs in the apartment to increase the cozy factor. Also while I love minimalism, it requires more attention to detail to be properly executed. There is a very fine line between a minimalist room and a room that looks and feels unfinished. Specifically, there were cords running from lamps that and small appliances on the kitchen counters that are minimalist no-no's. I think they'd be better off just adding a few wall hangings to distract from the electric cords.

Also, we were exhausted from our trip (we flew into Geneva from NYC and then drove directly to Verbier from Geneva) and so we decided to order room service rather than to get the entire crew down to the restaurant. The room service food was excellent, but it was obscenely expensive ($200 USD) given what they brought to us--four entrees and one appetizer. It was the type of dinner that you'd be okay about paying for if you were in the restaurant getting your plates cleared and glasses filled and bread bowl filled, etc, but the entrees are small, which, if you're paying $40-50 per entree, is easier to justify if you're also getting all the various services that typically come with a pricy meal at a nice restaurant.

For example, they didn't bring pitchers of water or buckets of ice or any other accoutrements, and we ended up clearing our plates and dishes and putting them in the sink where they sat overnight. I'm sure if we'd have called and requested pitchers of water and buckets of ice and bowls of bread, or for them to come clear the dishes, they'd have brought them/done it immediately and with a smile, but we were exhausted and didn't feel like bothering with the phone call. It would have been nice if they'd have brought those things without asking, and/or come up unsolicited to clear the dishes. The point is that if I'm paying $50/entree I expect those services, and it seems reasonable to expect it. Again, I'm sure they'd have done everything we wanted immediately and with a smile, but if they're going to offer it, I think that they need to improve their room service experience if they want to be considered a luxury hotel.

Conclusion:
My wife and kids want to make this hotel a regular family destination. They loved Verbier and loved Cordee des Alpes. We did some hiking up on the mountain and the hotel made it incredibly easy. Verbier is indeed a beautiful summer spot, and I'd highly recommend this hotel to other families considering a summer trip to Verbier.

My own view is that US families can get similar experiences in Colorado (places like Vail, Aspen, Crested Butte, Copper Mountain, etc) or Utah (Alta, Snowbird, Sundance, etc etc) for a similar/better price with a much shorter/cheaper flight. But if you're headed to Europe and are looking for a great resort town with amazing views and Swiss culture, Verbier is amazing. And La Cordee des Alpes is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billexgordler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon L, Directeur général at La Cordee des Alpes, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We are proud to be as you mentioned "your regular family destination" ! And you are now a part of our family too ! Thanks for the good comments and of course I take good note of the bad ones ! This is the best way to improve our quality...

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Simon Le Cossec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    36
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
51
77
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very nice Swiss Challet,very clean ,with all amenities possible,friendly staff,fine spa,excellent breakfast,in the center of the town and with free coach available for short distances,as the town is uphill.I recommend it.(should only have longer time for breakfast than 10.30!!)

Room Tip: Allways ask for east- to -west beds!(basic rule of feng shui!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJV V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon L, Directeur général at La Cordee des Alpes, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this comment. We really appreciate. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. All the team and i hope to welcome you again in Verbier !

Simon Le Cossec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

If I start with the swimming pool, it is because I have never been in an Alpine resort where the temperatures were so high - 25C at 9pm. We were there for the Verbier music festival where the heat in crowded venues must have made life extremely hard for the players - we after all just had to sit there. So coming back into the hotel during the day after a morning Master Class and being able to swim in a very reasonably sized pool was a godsend, although reappearing at 1pm did not fit well with the routine of the room cleaning team. We worked something out with them - as we did with Simon the general manager whein the wifi was not working. He gave us temporary access to the staff network while he got the guest network - free for a week - fixed even if it was Saturday. Simon was also a very visible presence helping a hard pressed breakfast crew. All staff seemed eager to please and this was evident from the start when after 10 minutes warning of our arrival, we were picked up by the hotel shuttle from the bus station. The hotel shuttle was also very handy for getting to the more far-flung and uphill music venues. The hotel is nearest to the main concert hall - about a 10 minute walk - the main Verbier shuttle service is available as well. The only time we were disappointed by the hotel service was late at night when we were going to a show at 11pm - no more shuttle. The after dinner walk did us good I am sure. Our room was on the ground floor lurking behind the roof of the swimming pool near the street but quiet and secure - we rolled down the blind and kept the door open on the hot nights - there was no air con in our room. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was almost as large as the room albeit with the fiddly switches other reviewers have mentioned. We did not really mean to stay here but left it a bit late to book a room during Music Festival time and the hotel's relative newness worked in our favour since it was the only central hotel with vacancies. We got a B&B rate of 650chf per night and a dinner one night in the hotel restaurant was 160chf for two courses with 3dl of wine. The chef took his time although we had said we needed to be out in time for a 8pm start but served an amazing starter of courgettes done was in 13? different ways - see photo. The mains were less spectacular but delicious. Put this place on your list if your budget permits and put it near the top.

Room Tip: Get higher up and not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themacrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon L, Directeur général at La Cordee des Alpes, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guest,

I remember the problem you had with the wifi... We always have a solution ! That's the way we do ! I hope to see you soon !

Thanks again.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Cordee des Alpes for three nights in July 2013. It was right at the start of the summer season in Verbier, so the hotel was pretty quiet. It was also apparently the hotel's first summer season as it had only opened the previous winter (which I assume is also why it has so relatively few reviews at the time that I write this).

The hotel is located only a couple of minutes walk from what can be considered the centre of Verbier, so there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. It's also only a few minutes walk from the main cablecars up to Les Ruinettes and down to Le Chable. Note that there are only a few free parking spaces out front of the hotel, maybe 8 or 9, and that the hotel makes a fairly hefty daily charge for the use of its underground car park, so that's possibly something to check before you travel.

As Verbier is a pretty expensive place in general and it was already going to cost us a packet to even stay in a regular room, we decided to push the boat out a bit and booked a suite. This turned out to be spacious and beautifully presented, with two south-facing balconies, fridge, safe, lots of wardrobe space, etc. Basically all of the things you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. Lovely bathroom too, with a great shower (which is something I always look for when I'm on a walking holiday) and separate bath. My only gripe would be the weird light switches (you'll see what I mean if/when you go).

The staff we met were, without exception, super friendly and helpful. The swimming pool, hot tub and spa were excellent, particularly so during our visit because they were so quiet most of the time due to the apparent lack of people in the hotel. The buffet breakfast was also pretty good considering that there weren't many people about.

Overall, this is an excellent, comfortable hotel with great staff and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly59CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon L, Directeur général at La Cordee des Alpes, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,
Merci ! En effet, lors de votre passage, nous commencions notre première saison estivale. Saison qui s'est excellemment bien déroulée...
Le parking est en effet un problème sur la station de Verbier, surtout en hiver. Vous avez raison de le mentionner pour les futurs visiteurs de la commune. Nous proposons pour palier à ce manque de stationnement un forfait à la journée dans notre parking souterrain... Pour le reste, nous sommes tous heureux que vous ayez apprécié le Spa, la chambre et la restauration ! Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau parmi nous!
Simon Le Cossec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week-end with friends visiting us in Switzerland. Verbier is very expensive ski resort so the hotel is definetly not cheap. Our stay was very comfortable, the rooms were lovely and in very elegant "chalet chic" style (especially the suite), beds very comfortable. The spa area was nice too - saunas, jacuzzi and pool. The hotel has a very nice free shuttle servie - our dinner reservation was up the hill near the Medran ski lift - it is around 1 km walk up the hill so a shuttle up there was much appreciated. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon L, Directeur général at La Cordee des Alpes, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot ! Very happy you enjoyed your stay. The hotel, Restaurant & Spa had a great success due to every detail you mentioned. We are proud of you wrote because it is reality ! Thanks once more !
Simon Le Cossec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed in Verbier at Cordee des Alpes for one night and then two nights at the nearby Nevai Hotel. They share a common owner, I believe. The Cordee des Alpes is brand new. The property combines rustic appeal with ultra modern amenities. The rooms are very good. The restaurant has a wonderful atmosphere, and the service and food are excellent. Overall all the staff are well presented and very helpful. There is also a great pool and spa area for warming up after a day on the slopes. I certainly preferred Cordea des Alpes over the Nevai, the latter being an ultra modern property like what one may find with a Schraeger Hotel in New York City.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LondonBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon L, Directeur général at La Cordee des Alpes, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear guest,
What a pleasure to read this kind of comment ! We are really happy you enjoyed your holidays with us. I hope to see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I spent three days at this hotel a couple of weeks ago and came away extremely impressed. For such a new property only recently opened we were amazed by the polished service. Ordinarily you only see this after a resort has been open for much longer. Whatever bumps in service that may have exisited previously have certainly been sorted out long before we arrived. The staff is very attentive to your every wish and they seem eager to please. We wil definetely be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to take advantage of the complimentary hotel shuttle that drops you off and picks you up thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon L, Directeur général at La Cordee des Alpes, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Always a great pleasure for me and my team to read such a comment !
See you soon !

Simon Le Cossec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verbier hotels
0.6 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Chalet d'Adrien
Le Chalet d'Adrien
#3 of 23 in Verbier
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montpelier
Hotel Montpelier
#2 of 23 in Verbier
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nevai
Nevai
#8 of 23 in Verbier
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol Verbier
Hotel Bristol Verbier
#7 of 23 in Verbier
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Chalet de Flore
Le Chalet de Flore
#9 of 23 in Verbier
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cordee des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cordee des Alpes

Property: La Cordee des Alpes
Address: rue du Centre Sportif 24, Verbier 1936, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Verbier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Cordee des Alpes 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to the Swiss resort of Verbier this December is Hotel Cordée des Alpes - a luxurious hotel with innovative interiors mixing the best of old-school ski and the latest in Swiss chic. Comprising 34 suites and guest rooms and 14 exclusive residences for ownership, Cordée des Alpes marks the latest offering from local hotel and restaurant entrepreneur Marcus Bratter, responsible for launching Nevaï -Verbier’s first contemporary design hotel, the all-suite King’s Parc Hotel and après-ski hotspot The Farm Club. Cordée des Alpes will ensure a service that reflects a passion for excellence that has been honed by Marcus’s years of local knowledge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your La Cordee des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing