We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Rotonde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Rotonde
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

In the centre of verbier, nice rooms, friendly staff, adequate but uninspiring breakfast. Free parking, wifi and free nespresso coffee. Good price for location. Downside to central location is of course the noisy passing drunks which kept my partner awake but I slept thru. Also rubbish shower but nice bath. Perhaps other rooms had proper showers.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjh4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Have just spent a long weekend in Verbier, staying at this excellent hotel. The views from the spacious rooms were excellent, staff were very welcoming and friendly and the facilities were useful (in house ski and boot lockers).

Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for an alternative to staying in a chalet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianjclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

The hotel is only a five minute walk from the main ski elevator in Verbier, and we have spent weekends here both this year and last year. It's one of the few hotels which accept reservations for weekends, not only whole weeks. The hotel is small, cosy, the rooms clean and charming, the breakfast is not abundant but very sufficient, and the staff extremely helpful and friendly (not a given in Switzerland!), and speaks both French and English. They respond quickly to reservations online and e-mails. There are lockers for ski gear downstairs by the entrance which can be locked, and there is a computer by the reception with internet which can be used for guests. There is also a wi-fi, but I did not try this. There is also coffee/hot water machine at the reception for tea, and chocolate, and a room with sofas and TV for leisure.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a ski trip to Verbier.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Just returned from a long weekend skiing in Verbier.It's an expensive place but the Rotonde is reasonable all things considered.Central, clean, friendly and has all the facilities a skiier could require;boot/ski room, close to lifts etc.The owner and staff were particularly helpful and pleasant.Breakfast more than adequate.On site parking.All in all a good experience.Would stay there next time without hesitation.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LordOddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
183 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We decided to go to Verbier in Switzerland at the last minute and it turned out to be quite a challenge to find a hotel in this little town. When we checked on Verbier.com and hotels directly it seemed like every hotel was fully occupied but when we checked on booking.com we were able to get a room at Hotel La Rotonde for 270 Swiss Franc per day (300 USD) – quite expensive if you ask me.

We arranged for transfer from the Geneva airport and we arrived quite late at night in Verbier. We were assigned to room 38 and the room resembled me of a Norwegian cabin – lots of wood :-). The room was not that big but it did contain what seemed to be a big bed (actually just two beds pushed together), a small night table on each side of the bed, a small desk and a couple of chairs and a wardrobe. The TV must be the tiniest TV I have seen in a hotel room in a long time but hey; you are not in Verbier to watch TV right? Talking about the TV…at least it did have some international channels so that we could keep up to date what was happening in the world. The bed was actually not bad – it was on the softer side and that’s how I like it. The temperature seemed to go a bit up and down and it was not that easy to control the large radiator on the wall that was heating the room.

The bathroom was quite tiny but it looked nice with decent tiling and with a corner shower, a sink and a toilet. There were no amenities in the bathroom apart from a liquid soap dispenser at the sink and a similar one in the shower. The water was excellent for drinking – good taste and very cold. When taking a shower the temperature did vary a bit but the greatest danger was turning around in the shower as it was easy to knock into the handle the controlled both pressure and temperature.

When we woke up the first morning it was great fun looking out the window…the view can take your breath away. From our window we were looking out at the roundabout in “downtown Verbier” and we could see the valley below and majestic snow-clad mountains in the background. But as we were facing the street it also means a bit of party noise at night – but there was also a shutter in front of the window and door so it was not a problem. There was a balcony with a small table and two chairs.

The breakfast was served on the lobby level and it was a simple breakfast was you had option of some eggs, bread/toast, cereal, a bit of fruit etc. Nothing fancy in others words but enough to get you started before skiing. There was also a free Wi-Fi in the hotel and it worked pretty well in the lobby area but the signal was quite weak in the rooms. In the breakfast area there was a large Nespresso machine with a small selection of coffee varieties. The hotel also had a small “lounge” or living room with a larger TV and a couple of sofas were you could relax in the lobby area and also this contained a Nespresso machine that we could use free of charge.

There was a handy storage room for skis and equipment by the entrance were each room also had a locker in order to put away the skis – very clever.

Location of the hotel is great – only a couple of hundred meters away from the Medran gondola lift station. From here you could take the gondola up to wonderful ski areas. The hotel was also located in the middle of where it was happening so it was easy to find bars and restaurants within a minute walk from the hotel entrance. There are also places to rent skis and snowboards right around the corner so to speak.

Conclusion
The hotel is quite expensive compared to what I’m normally used to and you certainly don’t get that much for the money. As background info I should mention that I travel a bit for business and I go to Asia quite a lot so I have use nice hotels in KL, Bangkok, Hong Kong etc as reference hotels when I travel around the world. But as I say, Hotel La Rotonde is expensive but this is Switzerland and I guess this is what you have to pay during the high season here. The room was basic but the bed was comfy enough and the breakfast had what is needed to get some energy before you hit the slopes. But the best is maybe the location of the hotel – located near the ski lift and located near bars and restaurants it has an ideal location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gardkarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Stayed at La Rotonde for a week whilst on a ski course in Verbier. Chose the hotel mainly on price as the other hotels I looked at in Verbier were astronomically expensive. Was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. Location is good being a short walk down the main street from the Medran lift and close to the centre of the resort. Staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout. No bar or evening restaurant but lots of options for food and drink within a stone's throw. Room was basic but clean and reasonably spacious. Constant hot water. Comfortable bed. Best to ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the rooms at the front would be noisy at night. Breakfast buffet simple but fine. Each guest gets a ski and boot locker in a room by the front door. Free wifi. Free internet PC and coffee machine in reception. A lot of guests while I was there had stayed there before, some visiting regularly for years - which tells its own story. I'm not sure I'll go back to Verbier as the resort is very expensive generally, the pistes are limited and the off piste is pretty hard core, but if I did go back I'd have no hesitation to book again into this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

My husband and I are from Boston and stayed here on our trip to Verbier. We loved it! We have traveled many places and this was one of the most accommodating hotels. The staff was friendly and VERY helpful. Lost/left my purse somewhere and they called all over the village for me to help find it! Our room was quaint with a million dollar view of the mountain! We loved the accessiblity to the village and especially to the ski lift. Would definitely go back and STAY there!! Not to mention the skiing was wonderful!!
**Families were there as well and I would recommend for a family.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salzsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verbier hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montpelier
Hotel Montpelier
#2 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nevai
Nevai
#8 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Hotel Verbier
Central Hotel Verbier
#15 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#6 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rotonde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rotonde

Property: Hotel La Rotonde
Address: Barmete, chemin de la 2, Verbier 1936, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Verbier
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rotonde 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Rotonde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing