We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely locally sourced food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Namaste

Le Namaste
| Les Planards n°1, Verbier 1936, Switzerland
+41 27 771 57 73
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 74 Restaurants in Verbier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely locally sourced food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We are here at the end of a ski run on a recent trip. Food fabulous. My friends shared a fondue while I had an excellent salad. Surrounded by locals who walk up in the snow and brag about it. Try the maple syrup tart for dessert which they claim is a speciality.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Thank you.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Namasté means thank you in Sanskrit. And we are thankfull for heaving a great lunch in Verbier. We had croute namasté, plate valaisan, fondue. We sitt on the terras and n-joyed our food, drinks and the great view. We will go there again, next february. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CeReSuisse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best fondue in Verbier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We walk up to the Namaste Restaurant, with the pleasure of knowing that we are going to have a feast, we ask all of us different drinks like a hot chocolate with a liquor, mmmmm delicious, beer, le petit ervigne a wonderful local red wine, fresh salads, with different nuts and veggies glorious colors and flavors, this was just the entrance to open the apetite, then we decide for the fondue of boletus, with a delicious fresh bread, a delicacy, to finish we had an apple tart, a maple tart crusty light and tasty, only at the Namaste restaurant in Verbier, the service is very friendly, the owners are charming, the decor is fascinating, wooden furniture, the room has a lot of caracter, with the metal sculptures of various birds designed and made by the owner, when you leave the place in the late afternoon walking back, you find the Bhudist prayer flags,
flying with the wind over the white snow, great memories of a very pleasant afternoon

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurvois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesson, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful lunch outside in the sunshine overlooking the snowtopped mountains. It was simple but beautiful food, cheese fondue for three with spices and mushrooms. It was a fantastic lunch. Very impressed by the sculptures, friendly service and endless walks around the place. Will definitely go back!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss Alps
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to walk, ski, or drive to when in Verbier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Perfectly situated above Verbier, accessible for all, and open nearly year round, I have never been less than delighted with the food and service of this wonderful homespun cabin in the heart of the Valaisan alps. It's a favorite stop for my friends and I when we go walking on the many trails that surround it, and during the winter we often ski to it when on the Savoleyres area for a long lunch or a quick slice of maple syrup pie. The menu is traditional, excellent ingredients freshly prepared simply, and with many interesting twists that make their menu special. The Fondue Amoureuse is one, excellently aged local Bagnes cheese lightly spiced with cayenne, and for variety, they serve a Fondue 'Triolisme' in a special divided caquelon so three or more people can share the natural, Amoureuse, and wild mushroom fondues in one sitting. It's a 'threesome' you can bring your mom to.

Their salads and quiches/savory pies are excellent and original, and their Croutes au Fromages are probably the best in the region. Wines are uniformly excellently chosen and priced reasonably, and this is one of the few restaurants in Switzerland that will actually bring you your coffee WITH dessert if you ask for it, something that expats and many foreigners will probably appreciate.

The situation is also excellent, as you can walk the lovely Vieux Bisse in both directions from it, and there are many more ambitious walks in the area. It's an easy drive up if you are unable to walk, and in the winter it's easy to ski to and from.

As a resident of Verbier I am happy Annick and Jean-Louis are so dedicated to making everyone feel welcome and making stopping there such a pleasant experience- unfortunately many other restaurants in Verbier, especially on the mountain, can learn from them when it come to service and the small things that mean a lot to customers. They are not the only good restaurant at altitude in the area, but in this price bracket there are no competitors. I would like to mention that the price bracket stated above is way over the actual cost, a full lunch with wine and dessert won't exceed 50-60chf.

If simple local and well prepared food is your thing, you will not be disappointed. An hour or so on the terrace, looking at the cows grazing in the summer or the snow-covered mountains in the winter, and you will be enjoying the very best Verbier has to offer, without spending a fortune.

Please be aware I have no affiliation with this or any other restaurants I review- I only review restaurants I like, and I am especially grateful when I can find a great place to eat in my own backyard!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adamr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Namaste also viewed

Verbier, Canton of Valais
Verbier, Canton of Valais
 
Verbier, Canton of Valais
Verbier, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Le Namaste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing