We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Les Chamois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Les Chamois
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Arzier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I went on a long weekend ski trip with my brother to Verbier. Bit last minute, so hard to find a hotel. Les Chamois still had room and according to the map, in the center! So we took the gamble. And it paid off!
The hotel is 100-150 meters away from the main Verbier lift (Medran) and the Rue de Medran is actually the boiling heart of the apres ski! So all very convenient.
It's a very basic hotel, but has in fact all you need. Very friendly and helpful staff, good ski room, plenty of parking, nice breakfast. Just the actual room....very very basic. Spacious enough, but just plain. The bed was hard (but you might like that) and really too short. O.k. I am 1.88 and my brother even a bit longer, but this was the first in a long time I did not fit in the bed. With foot board, so no way to even let my feet hang out.
The bathroom was very simple as well, but functional.
The hotel has a very cozy restaurant. To my surprise I learned it actually does not belong to the hotel! Great meat (we had a 1Kg! cote de boeuf straight of the grill), nice fireplace, fresh cheese dishes....All in all super mountain food and very busy for a reason!
Wish I could give it 3 1/2 star....4 is just too much.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 904 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We just spent five nights over Christmas here. Marine, who runs the front desk, is a joy! The airline lost our bag and she was SO HELPFUL in getting them back for us. She knows a lot about the mountain and the restaurants.

The location is excellent. It's just a few steps off the main street with all of the restaurants and shops. It is a five minute walk to the main Gondola (Medran) for skiing. The location couldn't be better. They have free parking, too.

My daughter and I stayed in one of the small fourth floor rooms without much of a view. If you want discount lodging in a great location, this is a wonderful choice. 95 CHF per person, even during the busiest time of the year. If you want a more traditional room, they have many of them, usually with balconies with great views. We did look at one, but we didn't need that much space and/or luxury. Marine can send your photos of both types of rooms so you can decide which is the best choice for you. All the choices are super clean.

Other things we liked - the breakfast was great. Several types of bread, meats and cheeses. The hostess would make eggs for you. Juices, cereals, coffee, etc. Great before a huge day of skiing. The wifi worked well for us. The ski room on the first floor was convenient.

We ate dinner one night at the hotel's restaurant. It was excellent food. The prices seemed to be in line with the other choices on the main street.

Overall, excellent choice. I hope I get to come to Verbier again and I'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: There are four small rooms on the 4th floor that are 40-70% less expensive than the bigger rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lwelshCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have just returned fro Verbier, this was our first visit at Hôtel "Les Chamois" The location is ideal. The management were wonderful,
Marine was delightful and a great asset to the hotel.
The rooms are large and the beds are very comfortable we slept like logs!
We hope to return again Winter time to see the snow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hector98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I have just spent a night at les Chamois, which is not a lot to make a detailed review, but what we found was friendly staff, a great location and a clean, comfortable room at the top of the hotel. We will certainly be back - free wi-fi is a bonus, as was seeing a picture of the owners as children with legend Eddy Merckx on the wall - if it was good enough for the Cannibal, it is good enough for me.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the valley make waking up on a sunny day an absoloute joy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Three seasoned skiers shared a triple room and booked the Hotel Chamois based on Trip Advisor reviews at the last minute. The hotel is very convenient, close to the Medran lifts and near ski rental shops, restaurants and bars.
Our room was comfortable, warm (a little too warm as times) but this was appreciated as it was -12 in the resort. The decoration a little faded but no real issues. Bathroom clean and everything worked perfectly.
The staff on the front desk were excellent: friendly, helpful and proactive. We had an email in advance welcoming us and finding out what time we expected to arrive. We had a late flight booked on a Sunday and would have liked to have access to a shower after a morning’s skiing and unfortunately this wasn’t possible. A few other hotels we have stayed at have managed to sort that out for us, but the hotel was busy.
Breakfast was good and comprised: bread, cheese, cereal, fresh coffee, fruit, yoghurt and a boiled egg. Everything was fresh and the person refilling the buffet was attentive so no shortages. No croissants or pastries. We didn’t eat at the hotel in the evening, but the restaurant looked fine and was busy at the weekend.
All in all, I would recommend the Chamois if you are after a comfortable mid-priced hotel that is very convenient. It isn’t luxury, but is friendly, clean and well-run.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shacklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel-Oreiller, Gérant at Hotel Les Chamois, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for your comments and are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Normally, if you ask, it's possible to take a shower after your morning skiing. But, I'll check that with my receptionist and I am sorry for the inconvenience.

Hoping to see you again, we send you our best regards.

Muriel Oreiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at Les Chamois most winter holidays throughout my childhood - and we loved it! This also means that my review is VERY dated :-), I have no idea about the current conditions of the rooms and the service. I see that it is still run by the same family and this vouches for quality.

So, we enjoyed it back then, friendly, welcoming to families and very swiss. And in those days the food (we were on half board) was perfect. Used to have balconies facing the valley, sunny and with great views. You may want to check that no buildings have since been erected in front of the hotel to disturb this.

The location (which has not changed) is still quite good and central - a short walk uphill from the central square (Place Centrale) and relatively close to Medran. Medran is the main lift taking you to the top of Les Attelas from where you have acces to most of the ski area including the most challenging parts. You can walk to Medran, it is a bit uphill, if you are in good form you will hardly notice . Otherwise Verbier runs a frequent free bus service. There is no ski in/ski out as the hotel is located in town - but if you know the backroads through the gardens you can ski to points quite close to the hotel.

Tip: The Savoleyres section of the ski area is smaller, peaceful (i.e. less crowded) and easier for children and less confident skiiers. Take the bus there from the nearest stop, Place Centrale or Medran.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Croydon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very friendly family run hotel which is very close to main gondola and good value for money co paired to other Verbier hotels. The only complaint was that the only pillow in the room was like a rock!
The hotel was very clean and reception staff very friendly the ski & boot room was a good space.
Free WiFi was a bonus as was the recharging facility in the room.
Just a shame about that pillow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timkazhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muriel-Oreiller, Gérant at Hotel Les Chamois, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,

D'une part, nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et sommes enchantés de lire que votre séjour vous a plu.
D'autre part, nous prenons également votre remarque en considération et nous ferons le nécessaire pour y remédier.

Dans l'espoir de vous revoir, nous vous transmettons nos sincères salutations.

Muriel Oreiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verbier hotels
0.1 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Montpelier
Hotel Montpelier
#3 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nevai
Nevai
#7 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Rotonde
Hotel La Rotonde
#9 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#16 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Chamois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Chamois

Property: Hotel Les Chamois
Address: Rue de Medran, Verbier 1936, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Verbier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Chamois 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Les Chamois" is a family 3* hotel situated at heart of the Swiss Alps in the famous Swiss resort of Verbier at an altitude of 1500 meters. The building has all the qualities of a traditional mountain chalet. The owner of the place, Muriel and her team greet you in a cosy and welcoming atmosphere. Located 170 kilometre from Geneva Airport, 60 kilometres from Chamonix (FR) and 75 kilometres from Aosta (IT), Verbier can be reached by train, car or thanks to shuttle services from the Geneva airport. Located in the centre of the resort, the hotel is a 2 minutes walk from the Médran ski lifts and from the village centre with shops, banks, the post office and the tourists office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Les Chamois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing