We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, nice rooms, reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Phenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Phenix
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice rooms, reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

I stayed in this hotel alone in July for about a week to visit the Verbier Festival.
This is an absolutely nice recommendable hotel, in terms of a perfect location, friendly staffs, a comfortable nice room, and an incredibly reasonable price.
It is located within 1-10 minutes walk to almost every venue concerning the Festival, but at the same time at nicely discreet distant from the very centre of the busy spot.
But it takes only 1 minute to the centre, though.
The guy at the reception is very nice and friendly.
The room I stayed is a double room, which is pretty large, and has 2 closets and a clean bath room, with a huge balcony, from which you can see the Alps mountains.
There is a free comfortable Wi-Fi.
Even though they don't have a restaurant, they have good wine selections at the Cozy bar.
The price is absolutely reasonable. I guess this is one of the most costless in Verbier. But I saw no shortcoming. I definitely recommend this hotel, and am sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alainyumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
11
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

Stayed here with two friends for a long ski weekend. Hotel is in the middle of the town, which is a great location. To get to the ski lift, it is best to take a short bus ride, otherwise you face a 10-15 min walk up a slight hill in ski boots. There are two bus stops in front of the hotel. The buses are about every 5 minutes which is no problem. Coming back from the ski lift however, you usually wait a bit longer in order to catch the right bus.

The hotel has a convenient ski room and garage on the ground floor with elevator to the room. Breakfast was good. You are max five min walk from the restaurants, Farm Club, etc. Beds are a little too soft, and the mattresses seemed a bit old. Bathroom was basic, great water pressure, and the room was a decent size, even for three people. The service was prompt and friendly. Free WIFI.

In terms of nightlife, recommend the Farinet lounge bar after dinner and then the Farm club. La Rouge has a fun after ski as well as the bar in the Farinet with the live band and roof that opens periodically to aerate the smell of sweaty apres skiers. We had a great Raclette at the place across from the Farinet, but it is best to make a reservation as it books up on the weekend. Be sure to bring a lot of cash, as the bartender once said after charging 15 francs for a sparkling water, "welcome to Verbier"!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTFBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

This is a very nice and cosy hotel (15 rooms) right in the center of Verbier within 5-7 min walk to cables. Very helpful and welcoming personnel! Bar downstairs called 'Cosy Bar' which is absolute true. I will definitely recommend everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackflash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

There was 5 of us travelling including 2 children under 5 and we had the best time at the Phenix. Switzerland always has good service but it comes at a high price. At the Phenix we found a great location, friendly staff, excellent service and a great room.
As we were 5 we took a suit i.e 2 rooms with one bathroom communicating. It was perfect and we still had plenty of room for the kids to play.
The style of the hotel is not modern, you can see that it is "rustic" but when you come to be outdoor and ski all day its perfectly adequate. The breakfast is lovely, there is plenty and the staff are the best. They are SO helpful with children and nothing seems to anoy them. The internet is wireless in the room and in the bar it was a great feature (free !!!)
We were out of the main season but I can imagine the same service during high season as the staff are well trained and have beautiful manners . Also there is a parking (covered) underground which is great when it snows..and you don't have to clean the frozen car when you go.....
The cosy bar accepts children and they are very warm. Its a great place to relax after a whole day skiing. To get to the main chair lift is abut 10 minutes (with a small hill). We decided after the first climb with the kids to leave our skis and shoes in a "consign" near the slopes everynight. Its well worth the 5 CH a day but there is a place in the chalet to leave your ski daily as well.
I would recomend the hotel anytime as we had a beautiful stay and it was great value for money

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bambasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

Large room, very clean, not super modern but smart anyway.
Breakfast - buffet style with a croissant and fresh coffee or tea - very good.
Location - excellent - very central, about 10 minute walk to the main ski lift
Close to lots of restaurants
Friendly and helpful staff.
'Cozy Bar' downstairs - good selection of drinks including yummy hot chocolate, internet access and delicious cakes - comfy seating.
We had a great time

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigglesNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

Lovely family run hotel. Would totally recommend!
We booked our room last minute, the hotel did not take any deposit...and the price was great, CHF440 per night for a suite that can fit in up to 5 people and was perfect for 2 couples. The rooms are a bit dated but very clean and the breakfast though simple, is nourishing and service was great.
The hotel is right in the center. 7 min walk to the lift and 2 min walk to most restaurant and bars.
The Bus station that takes you to the train station to go back to Geneva is right next to the hotel; there is also a simple sauna & massage place in the building next door.
We took the shuttle service from Geneva airport to Verbier and they dropped us off 3 min from the hotel (alpine express).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana8988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

Ive just returned from a week staying at the Hotel Phenix in Verbier. Although Ive spent a lot of time in Verbier I hadn't been there for 8 years and I wasn't familiar with the Hotel Phenix. I was looking for somewhere central but quiet and the Phenix fitted the bill perfectly. I booked directly with the hotel via email.
The hotel is right in the center of town about 50m from the Place Central but set back a little from the main street. Medran lift station is a 10 min walk away or the free shuttle bus stop (every 10 mins ) is about 50m away.
I stayed in a single room - double bed, bathroom with bath, cable tv, phone etc.
The Hotels bar is called the Cosy Bar, decorated in traditional style with lots of old wood it lives up to its name.
Breakfast is included in the price and was excellent. Tea/coffee, selections of cereals/breads/croissants, ham and cheese, fruit juices, fruit and also some hot food (cant be more specific I'm afraid as I didn't try any)
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. As the decoration of rooms is traditional some my find this 'old fashioned', I would use the word 'charming'
I would definitely recommend this hotel. The location couldn't be better. If you are looking for a modern chain type hotel this isn't for you but if you want somewhere comfortable, quiet and friendly with a wonderful location this is the spot.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing springs to mind
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Neiltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verbier hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montpelier
Hotel Montpelier
#2 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
W Verbier
W Verbier
#1 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nevai
Nevai
#8 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Rotonde
Hotel La Rotonde
#9 of 23 in Verbier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#6 of 23 in Verbier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phenix

Property: Hotel Phenix
Address: Poste, rue de la 4, Verbier, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Verbier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Verbier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phenix 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Phenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing