We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but unpleasant surprised”
Review of Elite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elite Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tasch
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Everything is fine until the last minute check out.
When I was ready to check out the owner Johann Imesch did not want to accept credit card payment. He required me to pay cash or extra 5% for the credit card payment. Nothing about that is written in booking.com contract. I had not enough cash with me and was forced to pay extra 15 Swiss francs. Thus if you don't want to have that unpleasant surprise at check out, avoid that hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Elite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 118 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2011

There are a lot of rooms towards the road and railway, it is very noisy at the night even the car pass, and the room start shaking. I never sleep in the night! It is terrible! The price is not so competitive because it exclude the breakfast and no sauna, no swimming pool ...nothing...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaryzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Was one of our only options for a one-night stay in late December before traveling on to Zermatt as Zermatt was over-booked. We would have been better off (and cheaper) staying in Visp and traveling up to Zermatt the next morning. Cleanliness not so good, only one bar of soap in the bathroom, nothing else. Towels were WELL used and close to tatters....and I looked in the linen closet on the floor and that was the state of all the towels. Over-priced for the quality of a youth hostel, not a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TcarlGren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This Hotel is sure enough very expensive since its just a three star rating that is because Zermatt itself is very expensive due to its popularity. We booked anyway because we have no choice, and this is the only available in Booking.com. Only to our surprise when we came, the hotel features barely meet 2 star rating. According to European Hotelstars Union a 3 star would have 24 hour reception, telephone at room and many more that is not present inside the room. Based on what I see the hotel could only meet the 2 Star criteria of the EHU, the hotel may also fail the 2 Star since it doesn't accept credit card without additional 5% increase in rate if you use credit card. You will also find out that this hotel is family run. I only seen four staff, the father who do the breakfast, and welcoming of guest at the breakfast table, the mother who do the management, preparation of table and sometime reception as well. I seen a son who cleans up the table and dishes, and the a daugther maybe whom I met at the reception when we came but could not decide and called the mother. If you are going to this hotel on non peak season, try to find another hotels. But if you don't mind the hotel and your are just in Zermat to enjoy the adventure, It's not bad just sleeping in this hotel. But the 5% increase when your paying credit card were not mentioned in Booking.com so I want to raise it to Booking.com.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemmorcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Close to train station which is handy but you hear the trains. The room was adequate but the cheapest we cold find in the area. There is little in Täsch but it is cheaper than Zermatt.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeGarcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Fabulous location for the budget minded visiting Zermatt, which is just 10 minutes by train. Be very careful with your calculations as the shuttle train is very expensive. Having said that, it was the only availability for a booking less than a week at that time of year. Breakfast was more than adequate with a wide selection. So close to the train station, only about 200 metres and it's flat walking. The woman at the front desk was highly efficient in the typical Swiss manner, however, the old man I suspect was a little dodgy (perhaps just old and not efficient & I'm still not sure which).

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy-Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

What was that smell? Vicks Salve? Mildew? Friendly husband & wife (who we assume are the proprietors) double as cook, waitress, front desk reception, shuttle driver,etc. By the way, the shuttle is NOT free, but cheaper than the train which is a quick jaunt down the road. The room was a shocker. Bare minimum. One table with a 13" TV. Two wooden chairs. A wardrobe. A sink with two thin, old hand towels. No wash cloths. A mirror...yea! There was a hair dryer. A small WC with a tiny shower stall which offered cold, medium and scalding water all within the same minute. Two thin, old bath towels like "grandma" has in her rag bag. No phone. Buffet is extra charge.The price of the room was the only redeeming factor. Probably around 400 CHF plus less than Zermatt.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tasch
0.3 mi away
Typically Swiss Hotel Taescherhof
3.7 mi away
Hotel Elite Garni
Hotel Elite Garni
#70 of 111 in Zermatt
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#3 of 7 in Tasch
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Matterhorn Golf Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#4 of 7 in Tasch
77 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel

Address: Hauptstrasse, Tasch 3929, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Tasch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Tasch
Price Range: $116 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Elite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel täsch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing