We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel as transit stop”
Review of Hotel City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel City
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tasch
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel as transit stop”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the basis that if the weather was clear when we arrived we could go up to Zermatt, if not maybe the next morning. If neither was good we would just drive on. As it turned out the afternoon was cloudy but the morning was clear and sunny. Tasch is just a transit stop for the Matterhorn. Small village with lots of parking spots for cars and buses. The shuttle train is very convenient just across the road.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ROSS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    31
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
32
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
271 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

When I planned for staying at Zermatt, I was worried as I found it would be too much for me due to high rate. Then suddenly I found this one in Trip Advisor and found reasonable in price, so I booked although was worried how far it will be and how would be the location.
We took Glacier express from St Moritz on 19th April 2014 and surprised to found that the Glacier express stopped at Tasch, which is just before Zermatt. We took this opportunity and got down.
We came out of the station and found Hotel City just in front, 30 seconds walk from the Tasch rail station.

The time we checked in, at about 5-30pm, probably due to Easter period, the receptionist was on leave and one lady gave us the key for room number 401.
By hotel lift we reached top Floor and found this room is in the attic. It was a big room with full windows at one side. Last night there was heavy snow fall and what a view! We were amazed to see mountain covered with snow.
The room was full with furnitures like 3 wooden stools, cabinets, mirrors etc.
We had some initial issues in toilet as the flash was not working, however once reported it was rectified within 1 hr.
The hotel location is so fantastic you can easily access all the important areas easily. A small outlet of Cooperative(Coop) is at just besides the hotel to meet any urgent requirement.
Lighting of the room was fantastic and there were many lights for sufficient lighting in the room.In the morning we enjoyed a nice sunrise(please see the attached photo) from the window.

Going to Zermatt was very easy and comfortable. Just cross the road, take the shuttle train to Zermatt from Tasch Matterhorn terminal.(opposite to hotel, see photo) This train is at 20 mins interval till 8pm, then 30 mins and at midnight at every hour( more in summer). That means the train runs for 24 hrs and takes 10 mins to reach Zermatt. For your information, the Gornergrat terminal for going to Gornergrat is just opposite to Zermatt Matterhorn terminal, where this shuttle arrives.
The breakfast was not fancy but meets the requirement. It has breads, eggs, meats, fruits, cereal.We had some fantastic milk in the breakfast,enjoyed.
Now come to the staffs- I must appreciate that they were very helpful and friendly. The lady is reception, who came back on 21st April went out of her way to help us and gave us all the maps, directions and guided us in all respects. The lady in the breakfast room was also excellent in explaining the menu and the facilities.Thanks for the same; it eased our tour like we were at home.

While coming back, we took our train to Visp from Tasch station only(did not require to go to Zermatt). That train is at every 20 and 50 mins every hour( please see the latest time table)
Since we had Swiss pass, we did not have to pay for using shuttle train as Swiss pass is ok for using this shuttle too.

This time we stayed for 2 nights only before going to Montreux, however, we are very happy that we stayed here and will stay again if opportunity arises.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DPMALLIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjerkreim
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were two families that stayed with this hotel for three nights in July 2013. We were both give accomodation in Gasthaus St Martin B, which is approximately 200 meters from the main building of the hotel. Everything was what we expected - but no extraordinary luxury. In fact - the room was much like it would be at home, but with hotel service (although I would guess that room service is out of the question).
For our needs and budget, this was just what we wanted. It is very close to the railway to Zermatt, which of course was the destination of our visit. Breakfast was great, bvw.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnutVassbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was the 17th visit to Europe for my wife and my 5th so we have stayed at many hotels rated from 3 to 5 Stars. Hotel City has to be in the top of our list of favorites. The hotel is typical Swiss architecture on the outside, but the inside is exceptionally beautiful with lots of wood paneling, a cozy bar in the lobby, and a fantastic breakfast room. The room we had was on the top floor and had plenty of space (huge by European standards) and a nice view of the mountains, though you could not see the Matterhorn. One of our key reasons for choosing Hotel City was its location – right across the street from the train to Zermatt and the Matterhorn. We really didn’t want to drag our luggage (we were traveling for 21 days, so our suitcases were quite large) on and off the train and through Zermatt to get to a hotel. We could not have been happier with any other hotel.
CONS: None.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBrandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had low expectations about this hotel but it turned out really good:

-We arrived at 11am and, even though the checkin was at 2pm, they gave us the rooms right away.
-Food in the restaurant is really good, big portions and well priced.
-Breakfast was really good: a lot of bread, meats, cheeses and cereals.
-Atention was really good
-Its right next to the zermatt railway so the location is really conventient

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rua17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
194 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is perfectly positioned in Taesch near to the railway station with the shuttle to Zermatt. All aspects of service have been considered by the owners, we had half board and the evening meal is excellent with four courses and a variety of offerings. The daily salad is fabulous with lovely fresh bread and home made butter. The breakfast buffet is second to none, really.
The service at the hotel is outstanding.
One slight downside are the pillows, which are not substantial, but this is a minor thing, we had a wonderful stay, thank you City Hotel, Taesch!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I booked two rooms (1 for a couple and one for a famiy with 2 kids)...but I got 2 apartments!!!! I was estonished.
Very clean, breakfast wonderful, owner very nice, just in front of the train station.
The apartments are in another building 150m away, but who cares!
I will surely go back on this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni_1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tasch
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taescherhof
Hotel Taescherhof
#1 of 7 in Tasch
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#3 of 7 in Tasch
60 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#26 of 110 in Zermatt
201 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#38 of 110 in Zermatt
321 reviews
1.8 mi away
Matterhorn Golf Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City

Property: Hotel City
Address: Hotel City, Tasch 3929, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Tasch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tasch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing