We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aparthotel Monte Rosa
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good hotel. Great accommodations for the price. We stayed two nights in a 2-bedroom apartment with kitchen. Our German family friends had taken another set. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The owner was very warm and nice. was very friendly and gave good advice on the likely weather in town as well as in the higher altitudes and when to and when not to go to Zermatt and Gornergrat to see Mt Matterhorn. Was concerned when I said I was feeling down. Offered to take to a doctor (far away) if any emergency cropped. Thanks to gis offer. No need was there but it ure was nice to know helpful hotel people in a new country.
Had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnoopJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 62 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel was an unpleasant surprise. We arrived around noon, so we went to the hotel's restaurant, and sat down at a table. An employee was at the bar, but never said a word to us. After sitting at the table for quite a while, my husband got up, walked to the bar, and asked about a menu. At that time, the employee said that the restaurant wasn't open as this was off-season. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because it also had a restaurant. The hotel's website did not state that they would not be open, the very large sign outside of the hotel/restaurant did not say it was not open, nothing was posted at the restaurant saying they were not open, and neither did the reservation confirmation.

Things didn't improve when we arrived at our room, which was in the bottom "floor", that is the room was halfway in the ground. The room itself was VERY outdated, had very poor lighting, and is in dire need of an update. The room had a terrible odor (probably stale cigarette smoke over the years), but not as bad as the hallway which smelled worse.

WiFi was another unwelcome surprise. It was free - in the lobby only - as stated on the website and reservation confirmation. What was not stated was that the "lobby" was in another building which required us to walk outside into the rain.

Other than the first employee, the two others we met were very personable, and tried to be helpful. Breakfast was fine and plentiful. Pricing was in line for off season. Parking was free in an underground garage, but we had to move the car outside (no problem) as the parking garage was
being cleaned.

We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Superb hotel. Great accommodations for the price. We stayed two nights in a 2-bedroom apartment with kitchen, which would have been comfortable for six people. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
It would have been better if their restaurant was open during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is in a fabulous location for anyone wanting to travel to Zermatt without the expense of staying there. Walking distance to the station in Tasch and a ten minute trip to Zermatt. Too easy. Good free, secure parking, a reasonable indoor pool, gym and guest laundry - all good. Breakfast was also pretty good. But the rooms are extremely old and in bad need of rescuing. Was ok for a couple of nights but I couldn't have stayed much longer. And the thing that really put me off was coming home to find the next door neighbors sitting on our couch chatting to the housekeeping staff amongst all of our things. Fantastically poor form. Never again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mezzy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights in August. We liked the secure free car parking. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Our room was on ground level overlooking fields. It was clean but basic. We enjoyed the breakfast which had a good selection of cereal, bread, cheese and meat. The hotel is well located for the train trip to Zermatt, easy to walk to station. Supermarkets near by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidayauditors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Aparthotel in Monte Rosa. This is a great place to stay and not break the bank as you would if you stayed in Zermatt. The location is about a 10-15 minute walk from the train station that is located in the centre of the very small town of Tasch. We had a studio that included a very small kitchen. There is an extra fee if you use the stove which we opted not to do. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was adequate and it was nice to have a small fridge. On both nights we ate in the restaurant that is part of the hotel and found the meals were very good. They have a breakfast room and the breakfast provided is above average.
We used the Laundry facilities and had some difficulties with the washer and dryer. The hotel is equipped with motion activated lights in the hallways however if you are in an area that is not covered by the activator and the lights go out it can be very dark and confusing. We enjoyed the use of the pool. The WiFi was not in the area of the Hotel that we stayed and had to go to another building. Maybe in the future this will be upgraded to cover the whole of the complex.
There is nothing in Tasch but this is a great place to stay and take the train to Zermatt.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We loved our stay at the Aparthotel Monte Rosa in Tasch! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a terrific suite of rooms (apartment style accommodations). We had a separate bedroom, a living room with a couch and a coffee table, and a kitchen with a table and chairs and a refrigerator. The highlight was the huge balcony replete with a table and chairs and a view of the Kleine Matterhorn and the surrounding mountains.

There are lots of fun amenities at this hotel, including an outdoor Ping Pong table, tennis courts, and a large indoor swimming pool.

We ate at the restaurant one night for dinner. It was delicious, and the service was great. There is both indoor and outdoor seating, and we chose to eat outside and had a view of the mountains.

We also enjoyed the tasty breakfast with a good variety of items.

This hotel is a ten minute walk to the train station for the train to Zermatt. There is free parking in the hotel's underground parking lot.

The wireless internet is only available in the lobby and restaurant areas.

We would certainly stay at this wonderful hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelNY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tasch hotels
0 mi away
Typically Swiss Hotel Taescherhof
0 mi away
Swiss Budget Alpenhotel Tasch
0 mi away
Hotel City
Hotel City
#4 of 8 in Tasch
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Walliserhof
Hotel Walliserhof
#5 of 8 in Tasch
40 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#3 of 8 in Tasch
73 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Haus Morgenrot
#1 of 2 in Tasch
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Monte Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Monte Rosa

Address: Tasch CH-3929, Switzerland (Formerly Neue Kantonsstrasse )
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Tasch
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tasch
Price Range: $82 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Aparthotel Monte Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Monte Rosa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing