We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Scuol
Post
Inbox
Search

“Delicious”

GuardaVal Gourmet Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Scuol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $91
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The gourmet restaurant at the Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal offers regional gourmet cuisine on the highest level with 14 points Gault Millau. "Paschiun art culinarica alpina", passion for the alpine art of cooking is the philosophy of our chef René Stoye. His culinary creations are reduced to what the region and the Alps offer. The result is a menu with highest gusto. Our gourmet menus are always created according the season and change daily. Enjoy an unforgettable, culinary evening at the GuardaVal. For the appetizer or an after dinner drink, our fireplace bar and our great panorama terrace are the perferct places to start or end a beautiful evening.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good cuisine at a very affordable price. Especially the soup was out of this world. The wine offering is decent, with many regional and international pearls.
The stuff is very attentive and discreet the same time.

Thanks for the nice evening

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Sebastian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 135 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

We mostly enjoyed the panorama which is pretty unique. Food is rather local, which is part of the restaurant’s concept. Being French and used to gastro restaurants we rather have high expectations, which explains our average rating, but we believe that the restaurant rates rather high in Scuol. Service was very slow but is very friendly. Great choice of cheeses and nice amuse bouche.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank murielbekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at GuardaVal Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your visit to our Gourmet restaurant GuardaVal and for your review. We regret not being able to convince you from our alpine cuisine with fresh local foods.

Kind regards

René Stoye
Gastgeber / Direktor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

We've been here a number of times. The quality was super. But diversity was limited especially with main courses. Meat meat meat. Only after checking we learned of a fish option.

Window tables in middle level was a bit dark. Missed better lighting.

But overall nice dining.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MikionVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at GuardaVal Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thank you for your visit to the Gourmetrestaurant GuardaVal and for your feedback. We gladly take your criticism on board and will discuss it in the next executive board meeting. We would be pleased to welcome you again and send you best wishes from the Engadine.

René Stoye
Host / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We were a family with one person non-carnivore. We took the daily menu, everything was well cooked with interesting and fresh flavors.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Dominique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at GuardaVal Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Thank you very much for your visit to our restaurant and your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our dishes and its flavouring. We look forward to welcome you again and send you best wishes from the Engadine.

René Stoye
Host / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

Nice restaurant and facilities, with friendly staff and good service. Good start with a very good appetizer and good wine. Then we had to be very patient while waiting for both starter and main course. My starter was good (marinated cured meat). The main course (veal and risotto) was ok, but not very tasteful. By the time we had finished our main course, we were too tired to wait for dessert. At these prices, we had expected better.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 189ingvildh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at GuardaVal Gourmet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Thank you very much for your visit to our gourmet restaurant. We apologize that you dinner has not been to your full satisfaction. As our food is freshly cooked it may takes a while to prepare, nevertheless the waiting time shouldn’t be too long. We will take your feedback on board and will try to find a solution to avoid waiting times. It would be great to welcome you again in our restaurant to convince you from our quality. Meanwhile we send you best wishes from the Engadine.

Jürgen Walch
Gastgeber / Direktor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GuardaVal Gourmet Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to GuardaVal Gourmet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing