We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Scuol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Belvedere Scuol is a very nice hotel, directly linked to “Bogn Engiadina” the Alpine Thermal baths Center. You can access the baths in your bathrobe though a bridge directly from hotel.
Belvedere hotel have a very good restaurant and an excellent bar. You can also enjoy a dinner in different restaurants linked to other hotels owned/managed together (access through a tunnel if weather is not good).
The service is good, nothing above average, but acceptable. If you don’t ask for something, don’t expect anyone to be proactive.
I visited this hotel in July, with exceptionally hot temperature. Even at this altitude, night temperatures were high (20°C and up). As this is a mountain hotel, there is no Air Conditioning (this is comprehensible as the AC would be used 2 to 3 weeks per year). Due to the temperature, I slept with the window open. As my room was at the corner of the building (one side village main street, other side a supermarket) I was awake and disturbed every morning. I’m somehow disappointed with my stay, but the same stay in September would be perfect.
Rooms are small, but comfortable.
I will certainly stay in this hotel again, but not in July-August.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yamatthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelvedereHotels S, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you very much for your valuation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Belvédère. Unfortunately not everything was to your full satisfaction. We are working constantly to enhance our quality and we thank you for your important review. This summer we were overrun by an untypical heat wave, an AC would have been useful in those nights. As the hotel is situated in the centre of Scuol, some noise is unavoidable. We can assure you, that our rooms to the south side are very quiet and we would consider that for a future stay in our hotel. We will also take on board to school our staff to be more proactive. Nevertheless we would be pleased to welcome you again in our house and send you best wishes from the Engadine.

Anne Mengus and Sandy Stöckenius
Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 258 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Escaping the summer heat of the city, we spent a long weekend in the wonderfully fresh alpine air of Scuol. A key attraction of Scoul is the Bogn Engiadina - the termal baths - and the various parts of the Hotel Belvedere all have direct access to the baths through tunnels so you can go to the baths in your bathrobe and then go back to your own room to shower and change. So convenient!

The package at the Belvedere includes unlimited visits to the main offering at the Bogn Engiadina, transport on the local buses and trains as well as the Kulinarik deal with breakfast and dinner. Our room, in the new Chasa Nova building opposite the hotel, was spacious, stylish and very comfortable. Congratulations to the architects and the hotel team for striking a great balance between style and comfort.

The hotel offers a great level of service with friendly and helpful staff. The breakfasts and dinners are also delicious and the team is very willing to cater for any intolerances or preferances. There is a spa on site as well as a pleasant garden in which to relax.

A super place to serve as a base for hiking or winter sports pursuits. We've already booked for winter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nettie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive and detailed valuation. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Belvédère and that you were satisfied with our service and infrastructure. We are even more pleased that you return to our hotel next winter-season. Meanwhile we wish you a nice summer and send you best wishes from the Engadine.

Anne Mengus and Sandy Stöckenius
Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Although we had a hard start at the front desk (impossible to get anything clear), the stay was perfect. Food is really good, staff from the restaurant and specially from the bar are really friendly. The bar, with its panoramic and breath-taking view was one of my favorite spots. Cozy, warm, with a fireplace, nice decoration and many options. Highlights to the non-alcoholic drinks, since I was with a friend who doesn't drink.
The spa, great! It's winter time, you are on the warm water, looking to the amazing alps landscape, just amazing. Make sure to stop by the thai restaurant on the way back from the spa to the hotel. Absolutely nice, delicious food too.
If you also go on winter time, make sure to make a sleigh trip (with horses).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aschnider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt B, Inhaber at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre positive und ausführliche Bewertung. Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns in allen Zügen genossen haben. Leider wissen wir nicht genau, was an der Réception zu einem harten Start geführt hat, möchten Ihnen aber versichern, dass wir im Rahmen unserer ISO-Zertifizierung kontinuierlich an der Verbesserung unserer Qualität und der Optimierung der Abläufe arbeiten. Dass Ihnen der Aufenthalt im Hotel Belvédère so toll in Erinnerung bleibt, freut uns natürlich sehr und wir würden uns freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns willkommen zu heissen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located, with direct access to the thermal bath. The food is between good and excellent, depending on the menu.
The family room we were in was nice and spacious. The only downside is that you can't close the shower area.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank west1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before, we will again. It is the best choice in Scuol for a number of reasons: It has direct (really direct) access to the Bogn Engiadina spa, it also has its own small spa if one prefers that. The food is good, the hotel bar/lounge is the only one worth mentioning in Scuol, AND the skiing tickets were included (and will be next year, we were assured). There is a hotel bus that will bring and collect you to and from the gondola station, and, more importantly, from Sent, where the 'Traumpiste' (dream slope) ends. You can either take your skis to and from the gondola every day and leave them at the hotel, or you can get the key to a ski deposit, where you can not only leave your skis at the end of the day (instead of shlepping them back to the hotel), but also your skiing boots. The boxes for the boots are heated, so every morning you step into warm boots, very nice... We always take the boxes and then walk to the station in the morning and back (approx. 10 minutes warm-up from the hotel).

Some downsides: The water supply in the main house tends to react to flushings in neighboring rooms (cold/warm/cold). The decor in the old house is quite dated, but the rooms are in the process of being re-decorated in more modern tones. The Ala Nova rooms are more modern and have great views, ask for a corner room facing south-west, if available. Also, if you book half-board, make sure you ask for a dinner table in the 'Allegra' restaurant. It is by far the nicest. Single rooms tend to be on the small side, double rooms for single occupancy are very expensive, as Swiss hotels tend to charge per person (not per room) and the Belvedere will charge the full fee (at least at high season). No free WLAN in the rooms, that was my biggest disappointment.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zurich67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Allegra! Fantastic old hotel with everything you need for nice skiing hollidays. Ski, bus and SPA included...everything so great conected with "pasarela", personal tuch, great Bar Lounge, Cigar room..(allowed to smoke too), everything is working..it´s a Swiss. And I musn´t forget to tell you about hotel kitchen. Wauu...cusine novele...5 courses dinner..everything so tasty with amazing decorations. Really good looking and tasty food...modern way of tradicional cousine.
Small but simply beautifull Village in Romanic style is just so impresive with tradicional swiss arhitecture. You can find houses of 400 and more years old.Special doors, windows, fasade...impresive.
Skiing area Motta Naluns (up to 3.000 m) offers you a planty of natural snow, restaurants, walking & skiing areas, snowboard and kids park, great snow-sleds on 3.3 km long distance drives you in to next Village Ftan.
With a few min bus driveing you can reach fabulus Vulpera or proceed to Tarasp to see a Icepalace or play ice hokey or something similar to curling.
Termal water is amazing and staff is just awsome.
You can meet owner of hotels him self on dinner (he regards all guests) or on reception. Everything is so clean, pacefull, relaxing...You can´t be there not to enjoy...Winter and sommer break is a pure Swiss Adventure. I can´t tell you everything...go there and be simply surprised!
But read all introductions of activitis carefully...Swizerland has openning hours durring the day simmilar as Italy.

Room Tip: Every room is a bit different but nice and funcional. For Pet-Dog lovers I advice to reserve limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MojcaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I spent few days with my wife and our 5 years old doughter in this very nice hotel. Everything was perfect: any question was promptly answered and any problem was immediately solved. The children are welcome and a very organized playing room is available for them at any time.The staff was great. The hotel is located in a wonderful position linked with the thermal bads which are fantastic. A great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marpfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scuol hotels
0.1 mi away
Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal
0.1 mi away
Badehotel Belvair
Badehotel Belvair
#7 of 15 in Scuol
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Engiadina
Hotel Engiadina
#9 of 15 in Scuol
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astras
Hotel Astras
#1 of 15 in Scuol
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conrad Scuol
Hotel Conrad Scuol
#5 of 15 in Scuol
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Altana
Hotel Altana
#8 of 15 in Scuol
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Stradun 330, Scuol 7550, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Scuol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Scuol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scuol
Price Range: $239 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hotel Belvédère Scuol, the traditional but innovative 4 star superior hotel in the Lower Engadine that delights its guests since 1876. The generosity from the turn-of-the-century blends with modern design and comfort. Completed with the extension Ala Nova with 15 large rooms and the newly built Chasa Nova with 9 suites, the in-house spa, a wine shop and our wine a bar lounge with stunning views on the mountains. Experience the four lovely seasons in Scuol, the great alpine landscape, the romansch culture, authenticity and hospitality. Enjoy sport activities and bathing rituals at the Engadin Bad Scuol and end the day with culinary delights in our restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Scuol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing