We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Service/Food, Poor Drinks information”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Scuol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a very enjoyable welcoming 4 days at the hotel, of particular note was the quality of service especially in the Restaurant with excellent breakfasts and which serves superb creative food. For example on returning from the breakfast buffet with several items a waitress noticed I didn’t have a knife for the croissant and before even I noticed this she had quietly put one on my table for me. In the evenings the owner Mrs Dietrich went to every table to check everyone was happy while simultaneously serving, filling glasses etc ie with purpose not just inquiry. Staff cannot complain about what they are asked to do if the owner is herself doing it.
The one major negative: Many people don’t want to drink alcohol all evening; some have medical, religious reasons not to, perhaps are pregnant etc. There was no listing of any non-alcoholic drinks / virgin cocktails etc on the drinks menu, and when asked only children’s fizzy drinks or orange juice were mentioned which obviously overwhelms the taste of good food. Good quality, non-alcoholic drinks suitable t consume with quality food actually were available but I had to spend some time investigating at the bar later to find them. Solution: simply have a page in the menu which lists these, easy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 177 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

Had a nice visit at Guardaval end of summer 2011. The region is fantastic as always, the hotel was nice but not as great as it is made out to be on this site.

Upon arrival after a 4 hour tiring car ride, we requested to get into the room as soon as possible to refresh and relax. We were then asked to take a seat in their arrival lounge where they served two glasses of sparkling wine, while supposedly preparing the room. After that we were literally 'forgotten'. Being Swiss but not being used to sloppy Swiss service, I assumed it was a special room preparation that took so much time, but luckily after 15 minutes my wife insisted that I checked with the reception when our room would be ready. Of course it was ready right then, and they simply waited for us to empty the glass of wine (my wife had no intention to do that anyway...).

Not a nice start but off to the room...We booked their medium class rooms but once we arrived it turned out that our room was the very last one at the end of a dark corridor, one of their smallest (we compared) and - while it had a balcony - overlooking a sizable construction site. After confirming that we would have construction noise from 7am onwards, we asked for another room. Alternatives were shown to us only very reluctantly, which was not a nice experience again.
Our final room was very nice (Engadiner room) though of course they insisted on us paying the higher price of that room.

The rest of the hotel stay was ok. Nothing special, good breakfast (though we got the stares of the staff when we went over the time limit...), no other special service nor special issues, except my the restaurant bookings.
I deliberately called ahead to make the evening restaurant bookings. The hotel restaurant was not available during our stay, so I asked for recommendations for top restaurants in the vicinity of Scuol: reservations were made for the Crush Alba in S-charl and for the Schlossrestaurant Chaste in Tarasp for one evening each. Upon the first night, the reception could first not find our reservation, and then sent us to the Crush Alba Restaurant in Scuol instead of S-charl. We found it in the end on our own and I can highly recommend it. The second night we were on our way to Chaste at the Castle in Tarasp only to find that it was the evening of the week when their restaurant is closed. Did Guardaval make a reservation at all as confirmed to us? Doesn't look likely but I was too annoyed to ever check back with them.

Generally I sensed a lack of management oversight at the Guardaval which standards slightly but surely slipping without anybody noticing. It is a nice hotel with many good things going for them, but don't believe ALL the hype on this site.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habeliraucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had the luxury of staying a night at this stunning place. We booked one of the best rooms in the hotel, that was huge, had a luxury bathtub, awesome shower and very cosy feel to the room. We were able to use the wellness part of the hotel as well, there is a classy sauna, steam room and relaxing room. We then had dinner at the hotel which is also on the Michelin guide - the food was lovely and very well priced compared to other parts of Switzerland. Breakfast was great - a wide selection of cereals, yoghurt, muesli, salmon, selection of cheeses, eggs, desserts etc. Was truly an amazing stay and would definitely go back. It's a bit pricey but oh so worth it!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetset2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We spent a week at the Guardaval during August 2011 and found this to be one of the best hotels we have visited in Switzerland. Although it is a little more expensive than other hotels, it is definitely a cut above and lived up to the Trip Advisor reviews.

All staff members were very helpful and prepared to go out of their way to provide exceptional service. Nothing was too much bother - for example they ensured that the newspaper delivered to our room each day was an English paper, and even made sure we had Euros when they knew we were doing a hike that crossed into Italy.

Our room was at the top of the hotel and had floor to ceiling windows with spectacular views of the mountains. The room was decorated in modern style with excellent quality bedding - especially the feather pillows. The bathroom was newly rennovated and we had a very useable balcony on which to enjoy the mountain views. The hotel also has a lovely terrace, bar and cosy spa.

The highlight of the hotel however was the dinners included in our half board package. These were made with the highest quality ingredients and were a true work of art.

Scuol itself is a hidden gem to which we plan to return. There is excellent hiking for all levels and the opportunity to access Italy and Austria. We also recommend the Roman Irish spa experience at the Engadina Spa. It my be expensive, but this will leave you feeling truly relaxed and pampered.

Room Tip: We had room 71 at the top of the hotel. It had glorious views, but does require you to climb 3 stori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sashenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Guardaval hotel was recommended to me by a work colleague. I was looking for somewhere new to show my parents when they were over in Switzerland, so I took a chance on the Guardaval and Scuol.

Wow! I'm amazed Scuol itself isn't better known. It was only three hours by car from Zurich, and I think it would also have been a fairly straightforward journey by train too.

But for us the highlight was the hotel itself. Absolutely top quality management and staff, terrific meals (both breakfast and evening) and really atmospheric rooms. Somehow they've managed a relaxing and stylish blend of the very old (show me two walls that meet at 90 degrees) with the modern, such as their trendy bar area.

And waking up in the morning and seeing the breathtaking view across the valley is simply stunning.

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 20 is on three floors! You enter a small lounge, head down for the bathroom and up for the bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mcnally64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Now called a Boutique-Hotel, the Hotel GuardaVal in Scuol is a very romantic place to stay. We walked from the station and stumbled upon this charming boutique hotel quite by chance. The receptionist was very welcoming and immediately offered us a glass of bubbly. We were then led through a rambling wooden converted barn to our room. The room was tastefully decorated in a minimalistic country style with modern amenities. It was perfectly clean. If the weather had been better we would have had a fantastic view of the swiss national park. It was,however, not very soundproof, of course, being made out of wood.
The hotel has a small wellness area which is very plush and clean and modern.It features some zen like wood lounging chairs on which you recline after the sauna. They have been sculptured out of solid tree trunks and balance by themselves. There is not enough room for many people however, and most guests make use of the free entrance to the main spa in Scuol which is a short walk away. Ask the receptionist for an entrance pass.
The lobby and lounge are very cozy with a library of coffee table books to browse through, an open fire and a warm and welcoming bar. The main attraction, however is the food. The hotel boasts a gourmet restaurant with an award winning chef.They also have an impressive wine collection. We certainly did not regret booking a table for dinner; and needless to say, the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

This is my favourite place to stay in Switzerland. It's not cheap, but worth every penny - and they have some good deals every now and again. The hotel offers great service and staff is helpful and friendly, nothing is too much. From the rooms, you have a great view over the town and it's the perfect place to relax because everything is so comfortable and quiet. The best thing is that you don't have to leave the hotel to get a decent meal: their restaurant is excellent. Also the bar area is cosy with a fireplace and a nice terrace. As said by another reviewer, the rooms are a little dull, but that's the only criticism one could have.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dingdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scuol hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 15 in Scuol
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Badehotel Belvair
Badehotel Belvair
#7 of 15 in Scuol
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Engiadina
Hotel Engiadina
#9 of 15 in Scuol
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Filli
Hotel Filli
#10 of 15 in Scuol
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conrad Scuol
Hotel Conrad Scuol
#5 of 15 in Scuol
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astras
Hotel Astras
#1 of 15 in Scuol
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal

Address: Vi 383, Scuol 7550, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Scuol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scuol
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Scuol
#3 Spa Hotel in Scuol
Price Range: $257 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the firt Romantik & Boutique-Hotel in the lower Engadine, tradition and alpine modernity, authentic cuisine and warm hospitality. 36 individually designed, romantic rooms, an Engadin gourmet restaurant, the cozy fireplace bar and an in-house spa area were designed and furnished with great attention to detail. Plus the fantastic view to the lower Engadine mountains and the unique atmosphere of the 400-year-old Engadine house in the upper village of Scuol. Enjoy a fantastic holiday in one of Switzerland's sunniest regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Scuol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing