We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Scuol
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Memorable Experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We spent a week at the Guardaval during August 2011 and found this to be one of the best hotels we have visited in Switzerland. Although it is a little more expensive than other hotels, it is definitely a cut above and lived up to the Trip Advisor reviews.

All staff members were very helpful and prepared to go out of their way to provide exceptional service. Nothing was too much bother - for example they ensured that the newspaper delivered to our room each day was an English paper, and even made sure we had Euros when they knew we were doing a hike that crossed into Italy.

Our room was at the top of the hotel and had floor to ceiling windows with spectacular views of the mountains. The room was decorated in modern style with excellent quality bedding - especially the feather pillows. The bathroom was newly rennovated and we had a very useable balcony on which to enjoy the mountain views. The hotel also has a lovely terrace, bar and cosy spa.

The highlight of the hotel however was the dinners included in our half board package. These were made with the highest quality ingredients and were a true work of art.

Scuol itself is a hidden gem to which we plan to return. There is excellent hiking for all levels and the opportunity to access Italy and Austria. We also recommend the Roman Irish spa experience at the Engadina Spa. It my be expensive, but this will leave you feeling truly relaxed and pampered.

Room Tip: We had room 71 at the top of the hotel. It had glorious views, but does require you to climb 3 stori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sashenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    37
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
132
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Guardaval hotel was recommended to me by a work colleague. I was looking for somewhere new to show my parents when they were over in Switzerland, so I took a chance on the Guardaval and Scuol.

Wow! I'm amazed Scuol itself isn't better known. It was only three hours by car from Zurich, and I think it would also have been a fairly straightforward journey by train too.

But for us the highlight was the hotel itself. Absolutely top quality management and staff, terrific meals (both breakfast and evening) and really atmospheric rooms. Somehow they've managed a relaxing and stylish blend of the very old (show me two walls that meet at 90 degrees) with the modern, such as their trendy bar area.

And waking up in the morning and seeing the breathtaking view across the valley is simply stunning.

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 20 is on three floors! You enter a small lounge, head down for the bathroom and up for the bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcnally64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Now called a Boutique-Hotel, the Hotel GuardaVal in Scuol is a very romantic place to stay. We walked from the station and stumbled upon this charming boutique hotel quite by chance. The receptionist was very welcoming and immediately offered us a glass of bubbly. We were then led through a rambling wooden converted barn to our room. The room was tastefully decorated in a minimalistic country style with modern amenities. It was perfectly clean. If the weather had been better we would have had a fantastic view of the swiss national park. It was,however, not very soundproof, of course, being made out of wood.
The hotel has a small wellness area which is very plush and clean and modern.It features some zen like wood lounging chairs on which you recline after the sauna. They have been sculptured out of solid tree trunks and balance by themselves. There is not enough room for many people however, and most guests make use of the free entrance to the main spa in Scuol which is a short walk away. Ask the receptionist for an entrance pass.
The lobby and lounge are very cozy with a library of coffee table books to browse through, an open fire and a warm and welcoming bar. The main attraction, however is the food. The hotel boasts a gourmet restaurant with an award winning chef.They also have an impressive wine collection. We certainly did not regret booking a table for dinner; and needless to say, the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

This is my favourite place to stay in Switzerland. It's not cheap, but worth every penny - and they have some good deals every now and again. The hotel offers great service and staff is helpful and friendly, nothing is too much. From the rooms, you have a great view over the town and it's the perfect place to relax because everything is so comfortable and quiet. The best thing is that you don't have to leave the hotel to get a decent meal: their restaurant is excellent. Also the bar area is cosy with a fireplace and a nice terrace. As said by another reviewer, the rooms are a little dull, but that's the only criticism one could have.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dingdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Guardaval was a great hotel, with very modern and chic interior, friendly staff, and beautiful views all around. The lounge has a fireplace, for a cozy feeling, the breakfast buffet was superb, and the dinner was delicious. The only (small) thing lacking, was amenities in the bathroom, to really make this a great hotel. Otherwise, I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you like modern, small hotels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetravelbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

After a warm welcome you will be quided to your room personally while someone is carrying ut the luggage. There is no elevatot, but people at the Guardaval are extremely helpful. The room was cosy, traditional and modern at the same time, it had all it needed.

The public rooms (reception, bar) are very attractive, too. Sit next to the fire place and have a drink - simply marvellous. But that's not all. Enjoy, and it's really to be written enJOY, the restaurant. Each course is a lovely surprise of its own. The descriptions on the menu are witty and clever - and when the respective course arrives, you often have to smile. And when you taste, you know that the description was truly fitting and the quality of the food even better. Dinner at the hotel is a must and not to be missed. Especially mentioned must be the director-couple and the employees. Very professionel, very charming, very attentive.

And after a good night sleep, again go to the restaurant, where a sumptuous and tasty breakfast is waiting. Whenever possible local products are offered, which really make the difference.

Go there and see for yourself - and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mortimer1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed in the Junior Suite, which is a somewhat larger room on the top floor with a large balcony overlooking the village and the mountains. The room was clean and modern, if a little dull, especially compared to the nicely decorated lobby/restaurant/reception area. The room comes with a TV, bath robes, a safe and a backpack (our was defective unfortunately) to use during hikes. The breakfast buffet is excellent, with a wide choice of fresh bread, yoghurt, salmon and regional products like the Bündnerfleisch and Nusstorte. The staff is very friendly and helpful, though the reception was not equipped to handle a large number of people checking out on Sundaymorning. What made this hotel extra interesting was a very attractively priced weekend stay including a 4-course dinner in the excellent restaurant and the fact that all bookings include a wide range of additional services such transfers, use of public transport in the region and entry to the local spa.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scuol
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conrad Scuol
Hotel Conrad Scuol
#5 of 16 in Scuol
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astras
Hotel Astras
#1 of 16 in Scuol
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Traube
Hotel Traube
#4 of 16 in Scuol
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Filli
Hotel Filli
#10 of 16 in Scuol
31 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Crusch Alba
Hotel Crusch Alba
#1 of 7 in Zernez
166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#2 of 2 in Vulpera
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal

Property: Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal
Address: Vi 383, Scuol 7550, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Scuol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scuol
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Scuol
#3 Spa Hotel in Scuol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the firt Romantik & Boutique-Hotel in the lower Engadine, tradition and alpine modernity, authentic cuisine and warm hospitality. 36 individually designed, romantic rooms, an Engadin gourmet restaurant, the cozy fireplace bar and an in-house spa area were designed and furnished with great attention to detail. Plus the fantastic view to the lower Engadine mountains and the unique atmosphere of the 400-year-old Engadine house in the upper village of Scuol. Enjoy a fantastic holiday in one of Switzerland's sunniest regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Engadiner Boutique-Hotel GuardaVal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Scuol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing