We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merligen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Splendid location right on Lake Thun.. Choose a balcony room to get the best views over the lake. Go half board as food was excellent with a four course evening meal and buffet breakfast each day. The lake steamer stops right outside the hotel. We used to get the first boat each day inti Interlaken which the gives you connections into them mountains and main cities. The capital Bern is worth a day trip. Staff were very attentive. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crawford516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you very much for your kind review on your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Beatus so much and especially appreciated the gorgeous views, the food in the restaurant and the trips by boat. We would be delighted to welcome you to Merligen again for another visit and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 289 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel & spa in a more beautiful location. As Americans only speaking English, we felt comfortable interacting with staff and other guests. In fact, our language barriers often created funny situations… like trying to order a pot of coffee, and getting a pot of milk instead. No worries though. This top notch staff always overcame our shortcomings of the German language.
We didn’t realize when we booked that there were different “plans”. We changed to the “half board” so we could enjoy the 5 course dinners. This was a recommendation of the hotel manager (Peter)…and looking back, we saved money doing so.
So let’s get to some details…
Brine pool was awesome.
Sauna experience (male & female together, totally nude) was very liberating. I felt so European. Why don’t we do this in the states?
The view of Monch mountain is unbeatable. Enjoyed coffee at daybreak every morning taking that view in. Our room looked out over Lake Thun and Monch too. Just could not get enough.
Breakfast buffet was incredible. Maybe too much so as I am still trying to take off those vacation pounds.
5 star staff was efficient and courteous.
Spa treatment… My classic massage and foot massage was very nice. My wife did not enjoy her appointment as she received a clay application and short massage. She was expecting so much more. We think it was a communication misunderstanding.
Our room was spacious and very comfortable but lacked air conditioning. We cooled the room with an open patio door but occasionally had to put up with cigarette smoke drifting in from the guest next door smoking on his patio.
OK, more about smoking. The culture has changed in the USA. Non-smokers do not have to tolerate unwanted second hand smoke. Europe is nowhere there yet. Not even close. Almost all the other guests, maybe 70%, smoked at dinner. Where the weather was so nice, we all ate on the patio, and had to deal with the second hand smoke. Sigh…
The ferry stopping at the hotel was so convenient. We used it daily as it was free with our Eurail passes.
Flies… bothersome. Another sigh.
Diversity of other guests… intriguing. Many Arabic vacationers as well as Swiss and German people on holiday too. As Americans, we were absolutely in the minority, which suited us just fine. After all, we were visiting Switzerland. It would have been disappointing to find only other Americans there.
Closing with the food. Hats off to the chef who amazed us every night. We finally picked up on a subtle pattern where one of his 5 courses would be buffet style each night… pasta one night, desert the next.

This place is 5 star all the way. Give it a try. You won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose lake view and try to get an air conditioner. Show up on Sunday afternoon so you can attend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Sir
We thank you very much for your kind feedback on your stay at the Beatus and your recommendation. We are thrilled that your wife and you enjoyed your vacation with us so much and will be happy to pass on your many compliments to our staff. We are sorry that you had to endure second hand smoke on the terrace - our smoking guests usually wait until after the meal before they start smoking, courtesy to the non-smoking vacationers. We apologize if this was not the case during your stay. Once again, we thank you for your detailed review and hope to see you at the lake of Thun again soon.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Our room cost the equivalent of £450 per night with half board.

The room was dissapointing with most of what we saw except in very communal areas due for refurbishment. I would value it at about £150 relative to other hotels we stayed at. Problem is they are charging top tier prices and offering below average value.

We have stayed at far better hotels on the same trip for much less and also some at the same price which are 3 x better.

The spa was nice. The view outstanding. The location is great.

We attended dinner to be left waiting at the entrance for 5 mins. When he did talk to us he told us we weren't in the correct restaurant, we were in fact 2 restaurants down as we were on half board. That felt like being a third class citizen but okay so we walk to the end which gets progressively more depressing. Waitress eventually seats us. Waiter comes to the table and tells us how lucky we are to be sat outside and how as we were only staying one night in spec we should be sat inside.

At this point I'm getting annoyed and questioning the authenticity of these reviews.

We're given a menu with 3 options. All of which are cheap slop when compared to the food in every other place weve eaten. E.g. chicken curry and rice (we are in luxury europe here paying top buck).

We ask if we can get the a la carte menu instead (expecting to pay a suplement). After 10 minutes a 3rd waiter arrives with an enormous attitude.

He gives us the menu and informs us they can reduce the bill by 20 francs each. So the feeding rate of half board is only £14 on a £450 per night stay.

We left without food and went to reception. We asked for half board to be removed from our bill. The efforts to repair it were poor by management.

My advice - stay somewhere else.

Management - you've lost a grip on luxury hospitality. Your feeding rate is too low to be classed as Swiss food. Go back to the drawing board and be as good as your location.


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manxtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are very sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations concerning your stay at the Beatus. We would like to take the opportunity to comment on a few of your mentioned points. In the past 20 years, we invested over CHF 30 million into renovation and refurbishment of the hotel. With the exception of a handful of rooms, all our rooms have been completely renovated in the past 3 years. As you arrived at the Beatus as a walk-in in the evening, it was unfortunately not possible to allocate our best room as we were already very well booked.
Concerning the matter of the restaurant, we sincerely apologize for having kept you waiting so long. The time you arrived in the restaurant was the busiest of the evening. This should however not be an excuse for the attitude of the waiter. We will of course address this matter with the respective person. In our half-board restaurant, we serve 3 different 5-course meals, which guests are free to chose from, with the possibility to switch individual courses suiting their mood. We are sorry that you could not find anything to your liking on the menu. Again, given the late time of day, it was not possible any more to prepare a table on the terrace of one of our à la carte restaurants, as these were fully booked.
As last remark, we would like to emphasize that all the reviews on any rating plattform are absolutely genuine. We would not gain anything from forging reviews, not to mention that it is forbidden.
Once again, we apologize for not meeting your expectations and thank you again for your honest feedback.
Kind regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stunning position and great to sit and have dinner on the terrace just admiring the lake.
Being high season it seemed the staff were quite stretched as service was down on last year. There seems to be fewer long-term staff. Rooms over the lake are great with a view to match. The outdoor heated pool is spotless. The lake is quite cold at 21 degrees but exhilarating.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vic_levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear vic_levy,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you had a great stay at our place and that you enjoyed the terrace and our wellness area. We would be very happy to accomodate you again in the future and wish you a great weekend.

Kind regards,
Constanze Zietz
Assistant Head of Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Prior to our visit the weather forecast wasn't too impressive but as usual not only the weather didn't let us down-neither did the Beatus. Dinner on the terrace followed by a beautiful sunset takes some beating. To start the day the breakfast buffet offers a wide range of hot and cold food but I do agree with the previous comment that on occasions the scrambled egg may be not as hot as it should be. However, there is always the option of the chef preparing eggs, whichever way you want them in front of your eyes. The rooms are very comfortable but go for a lake view with balcony to get the best of the mountains as well as lake. Rooms are spotlessly clean which is a credit to the hard work the maids put in. Towels are regularly changed and sheets are changed if you spend more than a couple of nights at the hotel. The client base is made up of a number of nationalities, many being Swiss which is a recommendation in itself. We would recommend this hotel and have done so on many occasions and much of the success of the Beatus is due to the Management who take great care to ensure clients never leave feeling dissatisfied. Make the journey if you get the chance - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view room to get the best from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Sir, dear Madam
We thank you very much for your kind feedback on your renewed stay with us. We are delighted to have you as regular guests of the Beatus and thank you warmly for your recommendation. We assure you that we will look into the matter of the scrambled eggs.
We are looking forward to welcoming you to Merligen again for another stay and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Wonderful location. Spa large and superb especially external naturally heated pool and recreation room for hotel guests only. Busy at times in spa/pool at weekends but seldom overcrowded. Clientele largely Swiss natives which suited older English couple just fine! Food very good but not outstanding for price. Breakfast very good but again hot food not always hot especially scrambled eggs. Would definitely go again but website will not let me book for February next year despite showing availability. Strength of Swiss Franc makes it pricey for non Swiss but still a peaceful relaxing break

Room Tip: Have a lakeside room. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank English_oldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir.
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Beatus. We are delighted that you enjoyed our spa facilities so much. We will certainly look into the matter of the hot food on the breakfast buffet. We thank you for your great compliments and will be sure to pass them along to our staff members. We would be delighted to welcome you again to Merligen in February. We do have availability and apologize if our web booking engine is telling you differently. Please contact us by phone or email and we will be happy to send you an offer.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin,
Head of E-Commerce & Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We often go to the restaurant but unfortunately we never sleep at the hotel.
The main reason for not sleeping there is that the hotel is too close to home; I will definitely have to try it out one day.

The restaurant offers a superb shaded terrace with a splendid view to the Lake of Thun, the mountain Niesen and the Bernese Alps. The cruise ships of the Lake Thun stops just in front of the hotel and, with a bit of luck, you might even see one of the steamers. It is actually a nice trip to do, take the steamer from Thun, stop at Merligen, have a meal at the restaurant Beatus and carry on after lunch.

As you come into the wellness and Spa hotel, you pass the reception where you get greeted in a friendly manner, then immediately someone takes care of you, accompanies you to the table and gets you seated. You will not find cheap paper serviettes but real cotton cloth, the chairs are very comfortable and the dishes as well as the cutlery are very nice. The food is very well done with a lot of attention to details and served in warmed plates without a single finger print.
We have never found anything to criticize or to complain about and will definitely be back.
A big BRAVO to management and their team!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WatchFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir.
Thank you very much for your feedback on your renewed visit at the Beatus. We are delighted that you enjoy your meals in our restaurant so much and thank you for your great compliments. We will be sure to pass them along to our staff members. We look forward to welcoming you to the Beatus again soon (maybe as a hotel guest sometime) and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merligen
2.7 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#2 of 5 in Spiez
276 reviews
2 mi away
Parkhotel Gunten
Parkhotel Gunten
#1 of 1 in Gunten
106 reviews
2.4 mi away
Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
867 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
2.2 mi away
Strandhotel Seeblick
Strandhotel Seeblick
#1 of 2 in Faulensee
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel

Address: Seestrasse 300, Merligen 3658, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Merligen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merligen
Price Range: $357 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter from which direction you approach our hotel, you will always feel the reassuring effect of this truly special place right from the very first moment. If you arrive by boat and walk across the landing jetty, you will be welcomed by our hotel park with its southern flair. If you come through the main entrance, you will have already been impressed by the magical effect of the lake-view from our Panorama Hall. You will instantly be certain of one thing: “Here I will find peace and be able to recharge my batteries.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness And Spa Hotel Beatus
Wellness Hotel Merligen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing