We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merligen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stunning position and great to sit and have dinner on the terrace just admiring the lake.
Being high season it seemed the staff were quite stretched as service was down on last year. There seems to be fewer long-term staff. Rooms over the lake are great with a view to match. The outdoor heated pool is spotless. The lake is quite cold at 21 degrees but exhilarating.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vic_levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear vic_levy,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you had a great stay at our place and that you enjoyed the terrace and our wellness area. We would be very happy to accomodate you again in the future and wish you a great weekend.

Kind regards,
Constanze Zietz
Assistant Head of Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    55
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
34
154
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Prior to our visit the weather forecast wasn't too impressive but as usual not only the weather didn't let us down-neither did the Beatus. Dinner on the terrace followed by a beautiful sunset takes some beating. To start the day the breakfast buffet offers a wide range of hot and cold food but I do agree with the previous comment that on occasions the scrambled egg may be not as hot as it should be. However, there is always the option of the chef preparing eggs, whichever way you want them in front of your eyes. The rooms are very comfortable but go for a lake view with balcony to get the best of the mountains as well as lake. Rooms are spotlessly clean which is a credit to the hard work the maids put in. Towels are regularly changed and sheets are changed if you spend more than a couple of nights at the hotel. The client base is made up of a number of nationalities, many being Swiss which is a recommendation in itself. We would recommend this hotel and have done so on many occasions and much of the success of the Beatus is due to the Management who take great care to ensure clients never leave feeling dissatisfied. Make the journey if you get the chance - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view room to get the best from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Sir, dear Madam
We thank you very much for your kind feedback on your renewed stay with us. We are delighted to have you as regular guests of the Beatus and thank you warmly for your recommendation. We assure you that we will look into the matter of the scrambled eggs.
We are looking forward to welcoming you to Merligen again for another stay and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Wonderful location. Spa large and superb especially external naturally heated pool and recreation room for hotel guests only. Busy at times in spa/pool at weekends but seldom overcrowded. Clientele largely Swiss natives which suited older English couple just fine! Food very good but not outstanding for price. Breakfast very good but again hot food not always hot especially scrambled eggs. Would definitely go again but website will not let me book for February next year despite showing availability. Strength of Swiss Franc makes it pricey for non Swiss but still a peaceful relaxing break

Room Tip: Have a lakeside room. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank English_oldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir.
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Beatus. We are delighted that you enjoyed our spa facilities so much. We will certainly look into the matter of the hot food on the breakfast buffet. We thank you for your great compliments and will be sure to pass them along to our staff members. We would be delighted to welcome you again to Merligen in February. We do have availability and apologize if our web booking engine is telling you differently. Please contact us by phone or email and we will be happy to send you an offer.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin,
Head of E-Commerce & Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
448 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We often go to the restaurant but unfortunately we never sleep at the hotel.
The main reason for not sleeping there is that the hotel is too close to home; I will definitely have to try it out one day.

The restaurant offers a superb shaded terrace with a splendid view to the Lake of Thun, the mountain Niesen and the Bernese Alps. The cruise ships of the Lake Thun stops just in front of the hotel and, with a bit of luck, you might even see one of the steamers. It is actually a nice trip to do, take the steamer from Thun, stop at Merligen, have a meal at the restaurant Beatus and carry on after lunch.

As you come into the wellness and Spa hotel, you pass the reception where you get greeted in a friendly manner, then immediately someone takes care of you, accompanies you to the table and gets you seated. You will not find cheap paper serviettes but real cotton cloth, the chairs are very comfortable and the dishes as well as the cutlery are very nice. The food is very well done with a lot of attention to details and served in warmed plates without a single finger print.
We have never found anything to criticize or to complain about and will definitely be back.
A big BRAVO to management and their team!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WatchFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir.
Thank you very much for your feedback on your renewed visit at the Beatus. We are delighted that you enjoy your meals in our restaurant so much and thank you for your great compliments. We will be sure to pass them along to our staff members. We look forward to welcoming you to the Beatus again soon (maybe as a hotel guest sometime) and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went for a nice afternoon in the solbad (spa area) a few weeks ago - did not stay at the hotel nor eat there.
Comparing with other public SPA's this one is rather small and expensive. No towels provided, bathrobe costs extra. The indoor swimming pool is not very popular it seems - but in the outdoor pool you find several jacuzzi lounger and flood showers and stuff - and the view over the lake is absolutely stunning. The sauna area (naked) is rather small, especially the changing area is kind of between doors - sauna/steam themes are very nice though, just the relaxation room is a bit shabby. Generally I would rather visit other ones - although one feels quite noble in Beatus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chliinihex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you very much for your feedback on your day trip to the Beatus. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with our spa. Although we are happy to welcome non-resident guests to our spa, the wellness area is primarily for our hotel guests. This is why we do not provide free towels and bathrobes for external guests and why the relaxation room is not as large as the one for in-house guests. The changing area separates the sauna park Bamboo (reserved for hotel guests only) from the area which is open to non-residents, which is why there are two doors at the end (giving you the impression of between doors).
We thank you once again for your comment and are happy that you enjoyed the great view over the lake and the sauna/steam themes.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

From the exterior on the road the Beatus looks like a renovated 1950s hospital - brutalistic and sparse. But inside it is very different - plush and elegant. The staff were excellent, the service always smooth and professional and the interior of the hotel quiet and efficient. Our group were in Merligen for a business meeting (the hotel has good free wifi) and we were facilitated with the most effective service imaginable. In fact in writing this review my memory is of spending a few days in what I imagine a stately home must have been like - staff always present but unobtrusive. Breakfast and dinner were superb and there was always a good choice at breakfast to meet all tastes. We had a set menu in the evening and I can't fault any of it. The rooms were elegant in content and view, but the bed in my single room was peculiar in that it was far too small and not in line with the otherwise opulent surroundings. The leisure facilities were amongst the best I have experienced world-wide, but strangely the fitness suite does not have a treadmill. The Saunapark - an array of different temperatures and settings and types from Turkish bath to hardcore Finnish sauna was superb. Pity it closed at 8pm as after our day's meetings there wasn't as much time as I would have liked to enjoy what it had to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry_Callaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Beatus. We are delighted that you enjoyed your days at the lake of Thun so much and will be happy to pass on your many compliments on our staff, the restaurant and the spa. Regarding the fitness room, the entire equipment will be renewed this spring, and there will then also be a treadmill. The sauna park that closes at 8pm is the sauna park "Bamboo" which is reserved for hotel guests. However, we also have the sauna park "Classic", which is open for hotel guests as well as non-residents and does not close until 9:30pm.
We thank you again for your kind review and would be happy to welcome you to Merligen again for another visit soon.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Once again the Hotel Beatus has not let us down.My wife and I spent New Years Eve enjoying the fabulous "New Year Eve Ball" at the Hotel Beatus.The evening started with drinks & canapes in the beautifully decorated hotel lounge and was followed by a great dining experience in the restaurant accompanied by super music from a very versatile group of musicians.The entertaiment continued with dancing,eating and general enjoyment until Midnight when everyone shook hands,kissed or raised a glass to the new year.At 1 a.m a splendid buffet was arranged with so many fantastic items including lobster,fruit,hot dishes,ice cream,cheese and much more.
There was something for everyone.The music and dancing continued until 2 o'clock and at no time did you feel pressured into calling a halt to the occasion.A truly wonderful way to see in 2013.
The staff were working hard to make everything right and nothing seemed too much trouble,they also joined in the fun which was good although I'm sure they must have been very tired after all their hard work.Only thing we missed was a loud "countdown" to 12 midnight although a massive 2013 firework was set off at this time in the garden outside from the dining room.
All in all it was a really super time and it will stay in the memory until we can once again return to the fantastic Hotel Beatus.

Room Tip: Go for a lakeside room even in winter as the views to the mountains are stunning.These rooms are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Sir
We thank you very much for your kind feedback on your renewed stay at the Beatus. We are very happy to count your wife and yourself to our valued regular guests and are delighted that you enjoyed your last holiday over the festive days again so much. We will be sure to pass on your many compliments to our staff members, thank you very much.
We look forward to welcoming you to Merligen again soon and wish you all the best until then!
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merligen
2.0 mi away
Parkhotel Gunten
Parkhotel Gunten
#1 of 1 in Gunten
91 reviews
10.8 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
587 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Solbad Hotel
Solbad Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sigriswil
112 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 21 in Wengen
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel

Property: BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Address: Seestrasse 300, Merligen 3658, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Merligen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Merligen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter from which direction you approach our hotel, you will always feel the reassuring effect of this truly special place right from the very first moment. If you arrive by boat and walk across the landing jetty, you will be welcomed by our hotel park with its southern flair. If you come through the main entrance, you will have already been impressed by the magical effect of the lake-view from our Panorama Hall. You will instantly be certain of one thing: “Here I will find peace and be able to recharge my batteries.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness And Spa Hotel Beatus
Wellness Hotel Merligen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing