We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great welcome In the Bernese Oberland”
Review of Hotel Alpenrose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alpenrose
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great welcome In the Bernese Oberland”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Guiding a group of 14 is always nerve wracking, but I can honestly say that everyone(some quite elderly) was seriously happy with the wonderful service and incredibly cheery staff, in spite of the bombardent of questions they received every day.
The food was excellent, but do ask for options if you are a coeliac.They are only too happy to oblige though I did take my own cereal.

Room Tip: There is a reason for the difference in price form North and South facing rooms(north face the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judithbyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Millburn, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Location is charming and the views can be lovely but everything else about this hotel is tired and needs refreshing. The carpet in our room was faded, thin and worn. Sheets and towels were not of the quality one would expect for over 600cHF per night. Breakfast was nice, yes, but service was slow and desultory. Bathroom was the old-fashioned European affair where you stand in the tub and get water all over the floor. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WeLovSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

first of all, we wonder why this wonderful hotel is listed at Tripadvisor in the ranking for B&B???
We think after our stay we would rank it in all hotels for Gstaad und around at the top
five, this for sure, because we did visit a lot of other hotels at Gstaad and around!

Our room was phantastic, very nice decoration, even with a cheminee, but as we did
stay in June there was no chance to use it as we had average 33 degrees outside
temperature.
Our room had a great balcony, so every morning after waked up we could enjoy the views to the mountains around. we loved it!

Is there anything we didn't like so much?
Yes. the service has to improve!
We know it's not easy to find qualified, and most important, engaged staff, want to live the service. But this is not only a problem at "Alpenrose", we found it everywhere during our trip in Switzerland, even in Zuerich.
Most of staff we met came from former East-Germany, at "Alpenrose" it has been a family from Portugal, nice people, except their son who has been responsible most of the time of our stay for breakfast-service.
He really made a bad job, and what did touch us in a bad manner was that at the day of our departure he was really baggering for some tip, talking with us more than 30 minutes, after all we made a mistake and gave him CHF 30,--, he should get nothing!

The front-desk was working well, we got good advices for where to go, arranged everything we needed.

Overall "Alpenrose" was a place where we did enjoy to stay, we can highly recommend this hotel to everybody wants to stay in a very comfortable and quiet place.

At the end: we did look for the nearby hotel "Ermitage Golf", even we would get an invitation to stay there free of charge, we wouldn't like to move from "Alpenrose".

Will we come back next year from the crowdy and noisy China to enjoy this very nice place again? We are seriously thinking about it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richter0571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

I took my boyfriend who had never visited Switzerland before here. The hotel is picture perfect, and our room had a large sled bed and private terrace overlooking the alps. Of course, being Switzerland, it was immaculate.

Dinner was included in the fee and didn't disappoint, with excellent service and wonderful food. It is expensive, but not when you consider that you could easily spend £50-60 on dinner which is included.

It was just very relaxing and everything I had hoped to show my boyfriend. 10/10.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel set on a hillside overlooking Gstaad in a quiet location. Whilst feeling homely it is elegantly furnished and immaculate throughout.

We had a south facing room overlooking the mountains. It was beautifully furnished and had a Swiss chalet feel with an abundance of wood panelling and wood furnishings. We had a ground floor room with a big balcony and our own garden and garden furniture which we were lucky enough to use as the weather was good.

We ate both evenings in the main restaurant, Azalee. The decor was elegant and romantic and the food was very good. Service was excellent and the experience was enjoyable. Breakfast was buffet style with a good choice and attentive service, taken either in the room next to the main hotel's balcony or on the balcony itself which had stunning views.

The staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful or more friendly - from check in to check out. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

This is Swiss hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

My 7 year-old son and I stayed at the Alpenrose this past June for two nights only (wish it had been a longer stay). We loved it here!

We arrived by train and chose to walk to the hotel, pulling one suitcase on wheels. It was a nice day and an easy walk. On the return to the train station 2 days later, we were driven there in the hotel's van (very nice!).

We got a warm greeting upon arrival. Our room was exactly as requested. It had a balcony overlooking the countryside. The room was charmingly decorated, chalet-style and the bathroom modern and spotless.

Meals were delicious, especially the breakfasts. Fellow guests were friendly and gave us tips on local walks. Two ladies from Holland, who stay a week each summer, were especially lovely to us. They love the Alpenrose.

When I chose this hotel and Schonried, the town, I had really wanted to be in Gstaad. However, I'm SO happy we stayed in this town and in this hotel. We went to Gstaad (by train, but it's also walkable). It's a fine town, but Schonried has my heart! This hotel was a large part as to why, but the town itself has great walks. We took the Horneggli chairlift, had a lovely walk looking at wildflowers and lunch.

It was a great stay and we'd happily return (and stay longer).

  • Liked — warm, competent staff, great food, cleanliness, great balcony
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveliseducational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

I was staying at a number of 'relais et chateaux' properties in France and Switzerland during summer 2007. When I first arrived I was slightly underwhelmed after a number of very swish places. But very quickly the Alpenrose came to be a top favourite of all those places I stayed and excellent value at the prices I then paid.

I was given a very spacious ground floor room with extremely comfortable 'sleigh' bed, a very pleasant sitting area with large settee and chairs, desk, table etc which opened onto a truly delightful private terrace with wild flowers and stunning views of mountains and glacier. I did not dine in the 'fine dining' restaurant but thoroughly enjoyed the more informal restaurant downstairs, gorging myself on excellent raclette, boiled potatoes and trimmings - as much as you could eat. Staff were very friendly and the whole experience left me feeling very relaxed. A return is a definite, when I get the opportunity;

  • Liked — very comfortable, relaxing and stunning location/views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomaso38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schonried
0.2 mi away
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
1.0 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#6 of 21 in Gstaad
91 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
374 reviews
1.7 mi away
Golfhotel les Hauts de Gstaad
1.2 mi away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenrose

Property: Hotel Alpenrose
Address: Dorfstrasse 14, Schonried, Saanen 3778, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Schonried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Alpenrose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose is a family affair-since 3 generations. From the very first moment you feel welcome and home in this small hotel. 20 lovely rooms with wooden pannels - the South facing rooms with large balconies and breathtaking views over the mountains - the North facing rooms are unexpensiv and cosy. Two restaurants, terrasse and lounge as well as a piano Lounge bar - everywhere you are served with a smile from very friendly waiters. skiing and hiking very close by- cablecars 200m from the hotel, Gstaad is 5 km, lovely walk through the fields to Gataad (1h), railwaystation Montreux-Oberland-Bahn (700m), Schonried is on a sunny hight 1200m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alpenrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Alpenrose Schönried

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing