We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class In Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First class In Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel should have a million and a half stars, just like the beautiful crystals surrounding the bar! We were greeted with a glass of champagne and a warm towel amidst the lovely reception area. We were the only Americans in the hotel, and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and we were most comfortable. In particular, our server interpreted the menu, and she did her utmost to make our meals most enjoyable. All means were superb. The view from our room was spectacular. We enjoyed the thermal pool, massages, relaxation areas, the piano bar, dessert in the afternoon, our comfortable room, excellent service at the bar and cigar area and the library. We were most impressed with the staff, who were friendly, professional and efficient. We hope to make this a yearly trip.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Ermitage and your great compliment! We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us so much that you would like to make it a yearly trip and will be most happy to pass on your compliments to our crew.
We look forward to welcoming you to Schönried again soon and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    46
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
56
157
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Swiss luxury hotel at its best. It's not cheap, but the rooms are wonderful and on the park side you have great views of the mountains. However, what impressed me the most was the service. There were continually staff on-hand and more often than not, they seemed to know you were after something before you realized it yourself. Don't get me wrong - it wasn't intrusive at all - more like having a private butler, or a collection of them!
We had a junior suite, which others have said has a long corridor, off which there was a walk-in closet and large bathroom (with steam shower), before you get to the bed and lounge area. It is all beautifully decorated, with best quality materials and great attention to details. The balcony has a great view over the park and mountains.
We were on half-board and were very impressed with the restaurants. You have an assigned table in one of the 8 small "Stübli" which make up the dining area. This is a great innovation as you are seated with only a small number of other tables and don't have the impression of a large dining room. Each of the "Stübli" has its own character and they are all decorated differently. As you would expect, the food was of outstanding quality. A huge breakfast buffet, with juice presses, cook to order and a great selection of breads. The evening meal was presented with great care and staff emphasized we could have as much as we wanted (multiple starters, main courses or whatever we wanted).

Room Tip: The park rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you very much for your kind feedback on your stay at the Ermitage. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you found our new restaurant dining rooms and the food to your liking. We try our utmost to offer a personal, dedicated and attentive service to our guests wherever possible and are of course delighted that you appreciated this. We thank you for your great compliments and will be happy to pass them on to our members of staff. We hope to welcome you to the Saanenland for another visit soon and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is one of the best hotels that I have used. I last stayed four years ago - t'was brilliant then! However the renovations have only imporved it.
I stayed in a single-room over-looking the road; in theory the worst room. However the new rooms are well air-conditioned, large for single rooms, great shower facilities and very comfortable. The noise reduction in the windows is excellent - no idea that i was facing the road! Equally the balcony was welcome.
The food on the half-board menu is excellent and very reasonable. Five or more courses for CHF20 is a bargain!
The spa is amazing. The range of facilities are to be beholden.
And as for the staff, quite the most welcoming, polite and best that I have ever enjoyed staying with.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those not facing the road; however even the road views are great and the views beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotinLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam
Many thanks for your feedback on your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 2nd holiday at the Ermitage so much and thank you for your many compliments, which are highly appreciated. We are especially happy that you enjoyed your room so much, as the noise reduction in the newly built rooms to the street side was indeed one of our main goals. We would be happy to welcome you to the Ermitage for another visit soon and wish you all the best until then.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Together with friends (two couples in total) we spent one night at his hotel, and this in context with the Menuhin-Festival Gstaad where we visited a concert (the Ermitage is the official partner of this festival). The correspondent offer included among other things dinner at the hotel, transfer to and from the concert and entrance to the Ermitage lounge during the break where Champagne and amuse bouches were served. Everything was immaculately organized and to our satisfaction. The hotel itself is situated on the main road going to Gstaad (I would therefore recommend the rooms going to the park) and had been recently renovated expensively (at least the lobby, bar, restaurant and a part of the garden). The result of this renovation is impressive and I would have liked our room to have undergone a renovation as well because we weren’t satisfied with it. It was a double room to the park at the eastern part of the hotel. It was big enough but very narrow and dated. The bathroom was small and not even had a shower, only a bathtub. There was a nice, spacious balcony to the garden but this feature couldn’t compensate the poor general impression of the room, what a shame for a five star hotel. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Dinner was good, employees were friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was of a high quality, especially the bread selection is impressive. Pity that the orange juice wasn’t freshly squeezed although there was juice station besides the breakfast buffet and the choice of sweets (pastries) wasn’t better (there was only one cake available). There are three pools with different waters and a spa but we can’t comment on them as we didn’t have the time to use the infrastructure. In summary, the Ermitage is a recommended hotel for a stay in the Gstaad area. The facilities are up to date, staff is eager to please and food is good. Unfortunately, certain rooms don’t correspond to expectations you probably have with regard to five star hotels.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the park (the main road is on the other side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisstraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Ermitage. We are happy that you enjoyed your days with us and that we were able to convice you with our organisation around the Menuhin concert you visited, the restaurant experience and our staff. We are sorry to hear the room did not meet your expectations. In our three chalets, the rooms are quite individual with the furnishings/baths etc. However, the "oldest" room in the Ermitage is only 5 years old, and all the rooms to the parkside in the Chalet Simme have been refurbished and the wood has been sandblasted last year. It is correct that the standard rooms to the park side are with bathtub only, however all our junior suites have a separate shower and their baths have been completely renovated in 2011. We are always anxious to fulfill all our guests wishes and will be happy to reserve you a room in one of the other chalets or a junior suite for another stay. We thank you again for your sincere feedback and will be happy to pass on your compliments to our staff.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a truly amazing experience unfortunately only for two nights but we will be back for longer! The staff is extremely friendly and well trained. The Hotel management was always present making contact with all guests so everybody could feel special. The facilities are stunning. We had not enough time to enjoy the incredible Wellness area where you could get lost in except for two great treatments! From outside the Hotel looks the typical regional Chalet style but insight it's hip and trendy and an interiors designers dream! The different restaurants look amazing and the food is highly recommendable.We are wine lovers and appreciated the well stocked wine cellar and the very knowledgable and caring maitre d'hotel Holger Rauwolf and his lovely team. The breakfast buffet is of the best quality and very, very generous. Book a room on the backside with a view of the mayestic mountains and the gardens below.The newly renovated suites are pure luxury and we loved the bathroom amenties escpecially the cream which we later just had to buy.
The shop had a great selection of too many very nice things and I enjoyed a lovely chat with the owner. Everybody seemed personable and helpful.
The region is stunning and we had the most wonderful summer weather - hence didnt to justice to the fantastic hotel amenities. Gstaad is only 10 minutes away and there are many walking treks.
We will definitevely be back for a longer stay to discover more of this wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Invest in the new suites on the back if you stay longer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saperavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir
Many thanks for your feedback on your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short break so much and thank you for your kind compliments, we will be sure to pass them on to our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you to the Ermitage again soon and are sure that you will be able discover the rest of the hotel and make more use of our new wellness area during a longer stay.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

my wife and myself have stayed at the Ermitage Hotel in Schoenried 14 times in the last 10 years. whenever we needed to relax and rejuvinate in a quiet nice and elegant atmosphere-we went to this hotel.
the staff is always very friendly, hospitable and efficient. breakfast is excellent and offers a huge selection.dinner is very good and offers a wide selection and variety served in a very elegant style. the rooms are nice, airy and clean.
the area around the hotel is majestic with Alp views all around the hotel. excellent hiking tracks in the area. 2 large heated pools (one warm salted water and one heated water) and the SPA treatments are very good and professional.
the hotel management really takes interest in every guest and they offer free of charge a lot of trips , tours , bike tours in the area.
this july, we came for the first time after the renovations. the new rooms are even nicer and the whole renovated hotel received a new modern and very updated look. the staff and management as well as all other hotel advantages, remained as in the good old days before the rennovations.
we recommend this SPA Hotel very highly to all our friends.

Room Tip: rooms facing the garden are quieter. rooms in the new building are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Sir
We thank you for your feedback on your holiday at the Ermitage. We are very happy to count your wife and you to our most regular guests for so many years and we thank you very much for your nice compliments. We are delighted that you found the changes after the renovation so much to your liking and that you have been able to totally relax and enjoy your stay with us once again.
We hope to be able to continue pampering you at the Ermitage for many years to come!
Sincerely
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this wonderful hotel. The spa is amazing: you need at least 3 days to explore all the opportunity it offers. The weather was awful but who cared! It was so nice and cosy to stay in the warm pools or relaxing on the waterbeds listening to your favourite music.
The food is excellent and we appreciated the afternoon choice of cakes accompanied with music from the piano bar. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, too.
The double bedroom towards the park (Ried Type), though small, is very quiet: at night you don't hear a sound, which is so nice, because we like sleeping with open windows.
All the staff is fantastic and very helpful and always smiling, so thank you to everybody for the great time we had at Ermitage.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side, overlooking the park are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LidiaRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir
Many thanks for your kind feedback on your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short holiday at the Ermitage so much, even despite the bad weather. We will be sure to pass along your nice compliments to our teams!
We hope to be able to pamper you again at the Ermitage during another visit and wish you a beautiful summer.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schonried
1.9 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golfhotel les Hauts de Gstaad
2.6 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#18 of 21 in Gstaad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#2 of 3 in Schonried
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.2 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel

Property: ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 46, Schonried, Saanen 3778, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Schonried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel is a typical Swiss Hotel in chalet style just above Gstaad in Schonried. It was re-opened in december 2011 after 9 months of extensive renovations. It offers several new highlights, such as the new piano-bar "One Million Stars" with one million sparkling Swarovski-stones, the two-storied panorama hall "Bargblick" which offers a grand view of the mountains and invites you to linger. In our new library "Lasi-Stube" you can take your time to browse our books. The hotel also offers 96 non-smoking rooms, accompanied walks and excursions in the mountains (Mountain biking / river rafting / excursions, downhill and cross-country skiing during winter with our sports staff), and In- and out¬door salt water pool (35°C), outdoor-sportpool 17x10m (28-32°C), a Sauna centre (Finnish sauna "Schnapsbrennerei", precious stone grotto "Amethyst", Turkish steam bath "Tropicana", herbal sauna and “Solegrotte”, tepidarium, biosauna) and a Ladies spa and whirlpool. Please note, the saunas (except Ladies spa) are a mixed naked area. “Vitalita" with hayseed bath, Cleopatra bath, herbal bathes, oriental Rasul, "Golden Nostalgica". Beauty salon. Cardio-controlled running / fitness training. Own fully equipped sports shop for ski rental and ski service. The nearest ski lift is the Rellerli lift, which is just opposite the hotel about 150 m away, the second nearest is the Horneggli only a three minute walk away. Both lifts belong to the Gstaad Mountain Rides area with a total of 62 lifts and 250 km of skiing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness- And Spa-Hotel Ermitage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing