We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated hotel (lobby a.s.o., not rooms), impressive facilities, friendly employees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Together with friends (two couples in total) we spent one night at his hotel, and this in context with the Menuhin-Festival Gstaad where we visited a concert (the Ermitage is the official partner of this festival). The correspondent offer included among other things dinner at the hotel, transfer to and from the concert and entrance to the Ermitage lounge during the break where Champagne and amuse bouches were served. Everything was immaculately organized and to our satisfaction. The hotel itself is situated on the main road going to Gstaad (I would therefore recommend the rooms going to the park) and had been recently renovated expensively (at least the lobby, bar, restaurant and a part of the garden). The result of this renovation is impressive and I would have liked our room to have undergone a renovation as well because we weren’t satisfied with it. It was a double room to the park at the eastern part of the hotel. It was big enough but very narrow and dated. The bathroom was small and not even had a shower, only a bathtub. There was a nice, spacious balcony to the garden but this feature couldn’t compensate the poor general impression of the room, what a shame for a five star hotel. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Dinner was good, employees were friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was of a high quality, especially the bread selection is impressive. Pity that the orange juice wasn’t freshly squeezed although there was juice station besides the breakfast buffet and the choice of sweets (pastries) wasn’t better (there was only one cake available). There are three pools with different waters and a spa but we can’t comment on them as we didn’t have the time to use the infrastructure. In summary, the Ermitage is a recommended hotel for a stay in the Gstaad area. The facilities are up to date, staff is eager to please and food is good. Unfortunately, certain rooms don’t correspond to expectations you probably have with regard to five star hotels.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the park (the main road is on the other side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisstraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Ermitage. We are happy that you enjoyed your days with us and that we were able to convice you with our organisation around the Menuhin concert you visited, the restaurant experience and our staff. We are sorry to hear the room did not meet your expectations. In our three chalets, the rooms are quite individual with the furnishings/baths etc. However, the "oldest" room in the Ermitage is only 5 years old, and all the rooms to the parkside in the Chalet Simme have been refurbished and the wood has been sandblasted last year. It is correct that the standard rooms to the park side are with bathtub only, however all our junior suites have a separate shower and their baths have been completely renovated in 2011. We are always anxious to fulfill all our guests wishes and will be happy to reserve you a room in one of the other chalets or a junior suite for another stay. We thank you again for your sincere feedback and will be happy to pass on your compliments to our staff.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 336 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a truly amazing experience unfortunately only for two nights but we will be back for longer! The staff is extremely friendly and well trained. The Hotel management was always present making contact with all guests so everybody could feel special. The facilities are stunning. We had not enough time to enjoy the incredible Wellness area where you could get lost in except for two great treatments! From outside the Hotel looks the typical regional Chalet style but insight it's hip and trendy and an interiors designers dream! The different restaurants look amazing and the food is highly recommendable.We are wine lovers and appreciated the well stocked wine cellar and the very knowledgable and caring maitre d'hotel Holger Rauwolf and his lovely team. The breakfast buffet is of the best quality and very, very generous. Book a room on the backside with a view of the mayestic mountains and the gardens below.The newly renovated suites are pure luxury and we loved the bathroom amenties escpecially the cream which we later just had to buy.
The shop had a great selection of too many very nice things and I enjoyed a lovely chat with the owner. Everybody seemed personable and helpful.
The region is stunning and we had the most wonderful summer weather - hence didnt to justice to the fantastic hotel amenities. Gstaad is only 10 minutes away and there are many walking treks.
We will definitevely be back for a longer stay to discover more of this wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Invest in the new suites on the back if you stay longer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saperavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Public Relations Manager at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir
Many thanks for your feedback on your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short break so much and thank you for your kind compliments, we will be sure to pass them on to our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you to the Ermitage again soon and are sure that you will be able discover the rest of the hotel and make more use of our new wellness area during a longer stay.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

my wife and myself have stayed at the Ermitage Hotel in Schoenried 14 times in the last 10 years. whenever we needed to relax and rejuvinate in a quiet nice and elegant atmosphere-we went to this hotel.
the staff is always very friendly, hospitable and efficient. breakfast is excellent and offers a huge selection.dinner is very good and offers a wide selection and variety served in a very elegant style. the rooms are nice, airy and clean.
the area around the hotel is majestic with Alp views all around the hotel. excellent hiking tracks in the area. 2 large heated pools (one warm salted water and one heated water) and the SPA treatments are very good and professional.
the hotel management really takes interest in every guest and they offer free of charge a lot of trips , tours , bike tours in the area.
this july, we came for the first time after the renovations. the new rooms are even nicer and the whole renovated hotel received a new modern and very updated look. the staff and management as well as all other hotel advantages, remained as in the good old days before the rennovations.
we recommend this SPA Hotel very highly to all our friends.

Room Tip: rooms facing the garden are quieter. rooms in the new building are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Sir
We thank you for your feedback on your holiday at the Ermitage. We are very happy to count your wife and you to our most regular guests for so many years and we thank you very much for your nice compliments. We are delighted that you found the changes after the renovation so much to your liking and that you have been able to totally relax and enjoy your stay with us once again.
We hope to be able to continue pampering you at the Ermitage for many years to come!
Sincerely
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this wonderful hotel. The spa is amazing: you need at least 3 days to explore all the opportunity it offers. The weather was awful but who cared! It was so nice and cosy to stay in the warm pools or relaxing on the waterbeds listening to your favourite music.
The food is excellent and we appreciated the afternoon choice of cakes accompanied with music from the piano bar. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, too.
The double bedroom towards the park (Ried Type), though small, is very quiet: at night you don't hear a sound, which is so nice, because we like sleeping with open windows.
All the staff is fantastic and very helpful and always smiling, so thank you to everybody for the great time we had at Ermitage.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side, overlooking the park are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LidiaRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir
Many thanks for your kind feedback on your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short holiday at the Ermitage so much, even despite the bad weather. We will be sure to pass along your nice compliments to our teams!
We hope to be able to pamper you again at the Ermitage during another visit and wish you a beautiful summer.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for the second time. The first time before renovation and now after. They did a great job with the renovaton. Good balance between modern and tradition. Especially the million star bar is amazing and the cocktails delicious. Barkeeper is very friendly and helpful to adjust the drinks. The rooms are clean but some things are missing which I would expect from a hotel like that. There is no plug near the table to charge your laptop and the bathroom amenities are simple like no conditioner. The dining room is well done with the different seating areas and the food is delicious. Omly the service is poor and not attentive at all. Mixed up the orders, dont refill wine and our waiter showed us that he was not happy with our special request to change menu items. Breakfast service was terrible, plates and glasses were pilling up on the table and the waitress was only interested in room number. After the 3rd coffee she still kept asking if we want cream even though we didnt take it from beginning. Only when the director and chef de service showed up the service improved, both very professional and charming team member. Front desk team was helpful and efficient. I would come again but F&b service needs to improve with more efficient and friendly staff

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir
We thank you very much for your feedback on your holiday the Ermitage. We are thrilled that you appreciate the renovations and found the One Million Stars bar, the different seating areas in the dining room and the food to your liking. We really did our best to keep the balance between modern and the traditional Chalet style, as this is exactly what our house is known for. We sincerely apologize that the F&B service did not meet your expectations and our usual standards and will of course look into the matter. We would be delighted if you favoured us with another visit in order for us to eliminate the poor impression you gained on our f&b service. We thank you again for your honest feedback and wish you all the best.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and myself came for the 2nd time to Wellness & Spa Hotel Ermitage in Schonried. We spent there the week end from 16-17th of June 2012. Before to come back, we decided to wait until the huge renovation process of the Hotel would be fully completed. We booked a Senior Suite type "Saanen" which was located on the 4th floor (Number 414) in the totally new building (the previous building was completely destroyed and rebuilt and 1 more new building was added next to this one).
We were fully satisfied with our Senior Suite, all was new, modern, elegant, with a great balcony, quiet and with very nice view outside. The staff are incredibly friendly, nice and helpful. At no occasion we had to complain about staff attitude or reaction, all was really of high class and very professionnal. The Wellness area, which as also been somehow renovated is really of top class ! There are a huge number of saunas, turkish baths, indoor/outdoor pools, which are just excellent and exceptionnal. This place is really the must to be in order to get relaxation, quiet and peaceful times. Only too much guests around could be disturbing you. This would be my only negative remark, as far as the Management decided to build one more building, increasing then their numbers of rooms/Suites available, it means more clients, more noise, more movements around and a decrease in the peace/quiet/relaxation process that you expect to get when coming in this awesome Hotel, So, my advice will be, avoid high season and week end if possible and try to enjoy more than 1 night (as it is fairly not enough...).

Please also note that minibar is empty, but on request, Hotel will fill it up as per your request.

Also note that most of the saunas/turkish baths rooms are only accessible if being fully nude. In case you are in couples, expect that some other people will be around...

So, to resume the different points that are very good and the ones that could be improved, I will say that :

Positive points :
--------------------

1) Staff attitude and performance are excellent and of high professionalism.
2) Wellness and Spa area are exceptional and should be the main goal of your stay.
3) A wet towel and cup of champain are offered upon check in.
4) Balcony of Senior Suite is large and very comfortable.
5) Senior Suite are beautiful, clean, confortable, modern and quiet, it really worths the high price !
6) Automatic in-room lighting system in the night, for instance if you wake up in the middle of the night to go to bathroom, a small light will automatically light up to show you the way !
7) Food was very good, however you can not choose in which part of the restaurant you will eat (there are many different rooms, with different styles).

Points to be improved by Hotel Management :
---------------------------------------------------------

1) Restaurant : tables inside l'Orangerie restaurant are much too close to each others ! You can hardly sit without having to push the person chair located behind you ! Specially if seated next to the windows. It is really missing some privacy, as you are really either disturbing or being disturbed by such proximity of other clients...
2) Check in starts officially at 16:00, it is much too late ! Check out is officially ends at 11:00, it is much too early !!! It should be 14:00 for check in and 12:00 for check out...
3) Restaurant l'Orangerie : no salt, no pepper, no sugar can be found on tables ! You need to ask waiter and to wait for it... Meanwhile your food is cooling down and you may loose patience...
4) There were still a few works in process for the renovation process, so we were facing a not fully terminated phase of renovation...
5) Saunas and turkish baths should not be closed until 12:00, meanining that in the morning it is not possible for guests leaving the Hotel on the same day to enjoy the Spa area !

Well, that's it ! We are really fully satisfied with our stay, weather was just exceptional and we are now just waiting to be back for the 3rd time. Please have a look to the pictures that I will soon add to my review.

Enjoy your stay as much as we did and see you there one day, maybe ;-)

Room Tip: If you can afford, take a Junior or Senior Suite, south side. The top of the top being the Wellness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank otterboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Madam, dear Sir

We thank you very much for your review of your stay with us at the Ermitage. We are delighted that you where so thrilled with your stay and appreciate very much for your many kind compliments, we will be sure to pass these on to our teams. We apologize that your experience of our restaurant Orangerie has been less than expected. It is certainly not our goal to overfill any of our restaurants and we are very sorry that you received the impression of it being too crowded. We will of course look into the matter.

Check in and check out times were defined in order to achieve the best possible result in cleaning the rooms to meet the standard our guests have earned and have come to expect. This would not be possible with 96 rooms in only two hours. It is correct that all our saunas, steam rooms and Turkish baths open at 12:00 o’clock. However, the indoor- and outdoor pools as well as the relaxation areas open at 08:00 o’clock. Furthermore, all our guests have free access to the entire spa also after check out, so that one can benefit from the saunas after giving back the room. You can then of course keep your bathrobe and towels and change and shower in our locker room. Also, if you arrive early on check in day and your room should not be ready yet, you have the possibility to use all the spa facilities. We are always happy to make a note of an early arrival and will then do our best to have the room ready before 16:00 o'clock.

Once again, we thank you for your earnest feedback, we appreciate it very much and will do our best to improve on the mentioned points where possible. We look forward to welcoming you to the Ermitage again soon and wish you all the best until then.

Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Superb hotel, great staff, fantastic spa facilities. We only stayed one night, unfortunately, but had a wonderful time. Only 'bad point', and I use the term lightly, were a couple of communication issues over dinner and in the spa, even though we both speak several languages. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and hope very much to go back in the not too distant future! You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Dear Mrs Laura
We thank you very much for your feedback on your stay. We are thrilled that you had such a good time with us. Concerning the communication issues, we will certainly do our best to ameliorate this point, so that this does not occur again in the future. We would be delighted to welcome you to Schönried again for another stay.
Best regards
Nathalie Hanslin, Head of E-Commerce & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schonried
2.6 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#13 of 21 in Gstaad
23 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
171 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
164 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golfhotel les Hauts de Gstaad
2.1 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 46, Schonried, Saanen 3778, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Schonried
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schonried
Price Range: $329 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel is a typical Swiss Hotel in chalet style just above Gstaad in Schonried. It was re-opened in december 2011 after 9 months of extensive renovations. It offers several new highlights, such as the new piano-bar "One Million Stars" with one million sparkling Swarovski-stones, the two-storied panorama hall "Bargblick" which offers a grand view of the mountains and invites you to linger. In our new library "Lasi-Stube" you can take your time to browse our books. The hotel also offers 96 non-smoking rooms, accompanied walks and excursions in the mountains (Mountain biking / river rafting / excursions, downhill and cross-country skiing during winter with our sports staff), and In- and out¬door salt water pool (35°C), outdoor-sportpool 17x10m (28-32°C), a Sauna centre (Finnish sauna "Schnapsbrennerei", precious stone grotto "Amethyst", Turkish steam bath "Tropicana", herbal sauna and “Solegrotte”, tepidarium, biosauna) and a Ladies spa and whirlpool. Please note, the saunas (except Ladies spa) are a mixed naked area. “Vitalita" with hayseed bath, Cleopatra bath, herbal bathes, oriental Rasul, "Golden Nostalgica". Beauty salon. Cardio-controlled running / fitness training. Own fully equipped sports shop for ski rental and ski service. The nearest ski lift is the Rellerli lift, which is just opposite the hotel about 150 m away, the second nearest is the Horneggli only a three minute walk away. Both lifts belong to the Gstaad Mountain Rides area with a total of 62 lifts and 250 km of skiing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellness- And Spa-Hotel Ermitage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing