We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and divine food”

Domaine de Chateauvieux
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Satigny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $271
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 17, 2016

We visited the restaurant on a Saturday lunchtime. The location is wonderful and the views are stunning, I can imagine that these are even better in the summer!
Food was delicious, couldn't fault it. Was nice to meet the chef at the end of our meal too. Staff were very attentive and as I am pregnant ensured that each dish was suitable to my needs.
The cheese selection trolley was fab and made my mouth water, thankfully my husband was able to fully enjoy it.
If you can, this is definitely a must visit when in Geneva.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cefks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 383 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2016

Been there for the 3rd time, after a few years break. We booked the guest table in the kitchen, which made for a quite special experience. Do not expect luxury there, the table is rather small and only OK for 6 people and you're *really* IN the kitchen. However the atmosphere was much more quiet than we expected and it was very interesting to see all those white hats moving around while we were enjoying our dinner. It would be too long to summarize the menu here (when booking this table you have to order the large - and surprise - menu), let say that it was at the expected level with a couple of very nice, close to 3 stars dishes. Main strength in the sea products (fantastic lobster, wonderful seabass in salt crust) and main weakness (although the term isn't really appropriate) in the desserts sector... A special mention for an amazing cheese tray. You should remember however that this is a quite traditional table, no molecular gimmicks, no daring tatse associations, just plain ultra high quality classical cuisine. Service is professional but unpretentious, prices are in accordance with the level of the table and that of Switzerland, meaning very high, but on par with similar places.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

We tried this year the 'Fin Bec' menu and actually the best plate was the cheese in my opinion (no picture joined)
The mise en bouche with the quail egg was tasty but a bit too much salty.
The langouste in a bisque cream was interesting but too much salty.
The dear carps I was nice but the combination with an oyster sauce not really the best choice.
Very nice scallop but sauce was too salty.
The fish was excellent but the raw cauliflower was not appropriate and the oursin sauce too salty.
The veal plate was nice, unfortunately not hot and the rice of the Alba truffle risotto more raw that al dente.
The William pear was tasty with it's nuts ice cream but over sugared.
The last dessert was actually strange and a bad ending of this menu. A pity.
Summarized, price/value was this time not at the right level.
Compared to last year level was lower in food and service quality with some equipments which need to be improved (dirty or defect chairs ...) owner confirmed this will be fixed next year.
Let us see the result in 2016 as compared to many places this remain a quality dining place.

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank David_F1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 10, 2015

We were taken by our friends in Geneva to this restaurant during our holidays. It was a wonderful and memorable night to dine at this restaurant with good friends. Our reviews:

1) Location - over looking vineyards and the river Rhone. An old castle with lovely gardens and typical Swiss basket flowers hanging off windows. It also had guest rooms. A romantic spot for special occasions.

2) L'Epicerie de Châteauvieux - had a lot of interesting and delicious looking food. We had aperitif and delicious amuse bouche here prior to the restaurant. The price of wine bottles was reasonable for restaurant standard.

3) The main restaurant - setting was very formal and elegantly furnished with lots of character.

4) Food - two Michelin star restaurant. We had the 30 anniversary 3 course fixed menu and everything was just devine. However, after amuse bouche and a couple of freebies from the chef, it would have been 5-6 courses all up. It was a memorable meal. It was comparable with Joel Robuchon restaurant in Las Vegas.

5) Service - professional and polished. We were being looked after very well. The chef came out and talked to us which made it extra special. Mr Philippe Chevrier was very friendly.

The experience was certainly the highlight of our stay in Geneva!

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sydney2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

This is a gastronomic restaurant. We highly enjoyed our meal (menu). Service was 5 stars. Food was delicious. Menus are varied and beautifully composed. Can highly recommend for a special occasion!

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Ilovetotravel155
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Domaine de Chateauvieux also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Domaine de Chateauvieux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.