We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Allalin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Allalin
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I can't praise the Allalin highly enough. My husband and I have just returned after a trip with our two 12 year old sons. Our room (a standard suite) was spacious and clean with an amazing view of the mountains and slopes. The suite consisted of a good sized living area then upstairs was a mezzanine area with a double bed and a separate twin room for the children. If I was being picky I would say that I was slightly disappointed that there was no kettle/tea and coffee making facilities in the room as it would be standard in UK hotels but it is the only critism I have.
The food as others have said, was excellent. All homemade and perfectly cooked. The deserts were definitely a highlight for me! The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the owners would come round the restaurant in the evening to say hello and check we were OK. We arrived late at around 10.30pm on the first night yet the waiter had stayed to wait for us and had prepared us a lovely supper of cold meats, cheese, olives etc so that we didn't go hungry.
Saas Fee is a beautiful alpine village and we hope to return next year and if we do we will definitely stay in the Allalin again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva Z, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Sam t,

Tank you for your kind feedback. Apologies for the inconvenience with the kettle. We do provide them in the rooms on request. Please simply mention it for your next booking and it will be ready for you on arrival. We hope that your two sons and husband are well. Your whole family brought us a lot of joy to the hotel! It would be more than a pleasure to welcome you and your family back for next winter season and to let you discover more of our chef’s delicious deserts.

All the best,

Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    44
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
67
135
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Difficult to add to the many excellent reviews of this friendly, clean and peaceful hotel except to say that we were staying as a family with our 8 year old son who opted not to have the children's menu but to sample the delicious evening cuisine with us. The staff couldn't have been more obliging, offering him half-portions and putting sauces on the side if he was unsure. The restaurant opens at 6.30pm and we were often the first in. All members of the family owners and the waiting staff were very child-friendly...nothing was too much trouble. We had a west-facing superior suite which was spacious, spotless and very peaceful.
The walk to the nursery slopes took about 20 mins via the locker room in Caesar sports...the last 5 minutes in ski boots was a bit of a push but we could have waited for the electric 'bus' if necessary.
All in all, highly recommended for a quiet skiing break in a beautiful resort.

Room Tip: All peaceful. Suites very spacious. West facing views fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva Z, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Olivia,

It was a pleasure to have you here with your family. We want to thank for the lovely feedback and would be glad to welcome you soon back in Saas-Fee. It is important to us to give our guests, as well as our little guests the best service. Attention to detail and trying to exceed your expectations is our goal in order for you and your family to have a memorable experience.
We are looking forward to see you soon again and who knows, by then your son might already eat full portions of the 6-course menu ;-)

Warm regards,

Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

it's a family run hotel and they know how to do their job! They have big respect for tradition, but also provide everything that a "modern" guest needs, like very fast, free of charge wi fi. The staff was very friendly and professional. The buffet breakfast was very good with great fresh fruit juices and home made jam. You can choose from all kinds of cereals to fried eggs. There is plenty of choice. The 6 course evening meals were excellent with high quality food and they have good selection of wine. You can choose fish or meat as main course. We stayed in a superior room that has been recently refurbished with a balcony, big bathroom and comfortable beds. Rooms are big and you can find space for everything. I can only highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 502petles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva Z, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear 502petles,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the stay in Hotel Allalin. We are proud of our longstanding hotel tradition, which has been passed along for the last 4 generations. Nevertheless, we know how important of modern amenities and fast wifi are to today’s guest. In the name of all the Allalin Team we want to thank you for your positive feedback and hope to welcome you soon back in Saas-Fee for a nice ski-trip and also to let you discover new additions to our wine selection.

Kindst regards,
Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Summary first: both Hotel Allalin and Saas Fee very highly recommended!

We stayed at the Allalin in mid March 2014 having booked with Inghams. We are a couple in our 50's with one very experienced skier and one non-skier (who likes to have picturesque winter walks).
We would recommend the Allalin in every respect but with just one caveat that may be important to others - such as those with small children, which is the location - which we had read about and so booked knowing this and did not regret it at all.

To eplain the location - Saas Fee runs roughly East - West with all the ski slopes and lifts at the West end. The Allalin is at the other end of the village which is much less densely populated and quiet - but a good 5 to 10 mins walk to the main ski lift and longer to the nursery slopes.

Only a small fraction of accommodation in Saas Fee is truly ski in and ski out due to the village being bounded by very steep and wooded hills either side of the village length. There are a few places right next to the slopes but most people have some walking to do. Saas Fee is traffic free but each hotel has a small electric vehicle for ferrying people around and there are small and infrequent electric buses running throughout the village.

To make things much, much better the Allalin has a ski room in a Cesar Sport building right opposite the main gondola - the Alpin Express which is the fastest lift up the main mountain. So the 5 to 10 min walk to and from the hotel to skiing is not in ski boots or carrying skis which would be really tough - especially at the end of the day when it's uphill back to the hotel. The ski room is excellent with heated boot racks and plenty of space. If you are staying here and hiring equipment then the Cesar Sport rental location opposite the Alpin Express gondola is the best location.

However, if you are a beginner and want the nursery slopes the hotel has its own boot room and will provide a free ride too and from the slopes.

For our non skier the Allalin is great because there are some superb tree lined walks starting at this end of the village which is why we liked the location and why we booked Saas Fee in the first place.

So with the caveat of the location we loved the Allalin. The service was first class - extremely friendly and professional. The buffet breakfast was very comprehensive and high quality with great coffee. They provided us with a sandwich and fruit for lunch each day to eat on the slopes. The 6 course evening meals were always excellent with high quality and choice.

The in-room wifi was fast and no extra charge - quite often skiing we found that we had to go to reception to use.

We paid for a superior room upgrade but were delighted to have been given a further upgrade to a suite. We would highly recommend the West facing balcony rooms as the view is stunning - the sun sets over the main resort peaks and our balcony was the place to be at the end of each day to see the sun dip over the mountains.

The room itself was very recently refurbished with very highly quality en suite shower room, superb bath sitting under sky lights with views over the mountain and lovely comfortable beds. The Web site gives very accurate pictures of the rooms so worth checking out.

Having been skiing with young children for many years we always chose true ski in and ski out resorts such as the high purpose built French locations - we went to Val Thorens a number of times . Now that our kids are grown up we prefer villages with more character and charm and Saas Fee fits this description. It is set in a stunning bowl of towering peaks with awesome views everywhere and resort runs in the trees.

We trawled web reviews for resorts with lovely tree lined walks and we found some stunning walks in Saas Fee up in the hills above our hotel. Really stunning through the trees and winding up with a great restaurant overlooking the village.

As a high intermediate skier I would say that the slopes are pretty good and enough for a week. The glaciers are stunning and the blue and red runs at the top of the mountain are superb.

There are too many T bars where there should be chairs but all in all very enjoyable skiing. The lift pass is the most expensive I have ever had at over £340. This does keep the crowds down and the smallest queues and quietest slopes in 25 years of skiing.

We have been skiing in a large number of resorts and Saas Fee is as memorable as anywhere, albeit really expensive. The Allalin is also one of the best and friendliest of hotels we have stayed in - with or without skiing.

Room Tip: West facing balconies give stunning views of the peaks and sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank acs2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva Z, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Weybridge,

We thank you for taking your time to write such a positive and detailed review. Your input is very valuable to us as well as to our future guests. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We always strive to surprise our guests and provide an excellent hospitality experience.
We would be delighted to welcome you soon back in Saas-Fee for another ski-trip or even in summer! As you mentioned, the tree lined walks are stunning during winter, but also in Summer the flourishing nature is just beautiful and worth a trip. We wish you and your family all the best and are looking forward to see you soon again.

Warm regards,
Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

An exceptional family-run hotel offering an incredibly warm welcome. Clean, spacious, and modern rooms with fabulous views of the mountains. A group of us were there for a long weekend skiing break on half-board accommodation and the food was quite fabulous! The Hotel Allalin is a reasonably priced, quality hotel with exceptional customer service. Highly recommended in my opinion. Can't wait to visit again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HayleyBBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva Z, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear HayleyBBrown,

It was a pleasure to serve and chat with you and your colleagues over the weekend. We want to thank you for you feedback. We would be delighted to welcome you and your friends back at the Allalin very soon. Maybe as part of another team event?
Thank you so much and hopefully see you soon.

All the best,
Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chobham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I often read gushing reviews about hotels and they are not always completely credible. However, this hotel is really worth the rating. As a family run hotel, the service is both attentive and very smily. The rooms were very well appointed, perfect for skiing and walking and all the meals were very good quality. The impression is one of attention to detail, in every way. Outstanding!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeremyBryson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva Z, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Jeremy,

We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Allalin. We want to thank you for your positive feedback. The whole team of the Hotel Allalin would be happy serve you again in the near future!
We wish you a beautiful summer and send our best regards,

Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just back from a seven day stay in Saas Fee at this super hotel. Spacious comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff and wonderful food. The owners are very much involved and ensure that everything is just right for you. It made a good skiing holiday great.

Room Tip: Not a noisy area so anywhere should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva Z, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Peter,

It was a pleasure to have you with us. As we are a family-run hotel, we are constantly available for our guests and aim to provide an exceptional holiday experience. We would be glad to welcome you back for another beautiful winter holiday with great snow conditions!

Kind regards,

Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.0 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 48 in Saas-Fee
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 48 in Saas-Fee
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 48 in Saas-Fee
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marmotte
Hotel Marmotte
#13 of 48 in Saas-Fee
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#8 of 48 in Saas-Fee
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allalin

Property: Hotel Allalin
Address: Lomattenstrasse 7, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#3 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allalin 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our newly renovated and modern superior rooms and suites equipped with first class materials and amazing panoramic views! The Hotel Allalin is family owned and managed in 4th generation, it offers a cozy restaurant with high standard cuisine located in a beautiful car free mountain resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Allalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allalin Hotel Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing