We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Saas-Fee”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Allalin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Allalin
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Saas-Fee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed three nights in the hotel Allalin on a half board basis. From our arrival at Saas-Fee car park to our departure, we got excellent service from the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and professional, both at reception and at the restaurant. 6 course dinner was really nice ( for half-board) food is refined, tasty and well-presented. Breakfast is also nice.
Bedroom was comfortable, very clean and offered everything which was expected. If there was one suggestion I could make would be either to change the pillows or to have a few more available in a cupboard in the room as I found them quite thin.
Hotel is well located in Saas-Fee, within reasonable distance of everything yet away from the main square where it can be noisy.
Wifi and even a laptop are at disposal of guests if needed. Cakes are served for free everyday from 4 pm in the main hall.
For the future, as another suggestion, a swimming pool could be nice as an additional asset for this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, it was nice with a great view over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    44
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
134
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Borgo San Lorenzo, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent a "magical" white ski week at the Allalin: beautful and spacious room at the top floor with a nice terrace. Gorgious bathroom (shower + bathtub with mountain view through the room). We had no problem sleeping: what a silence!
Impeccable cuisine: great breakfat and fulfilling dinner. Friendly but very professional staff.
Very nice ski room next to the hotel and perfect skirrom conveniently located next to the cable car.
We thank all the family and the staff for the warm welcome and the pleasant stay. During the week Sabrina gave birth to little Lino: a happy event for the growing family. We wish you the best!!!
Hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: The room we had was at the 4th floor (top) so under the roof: it was spacious, comfortable in every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Allalin during New Year. We had a gorgeous room. We had asked beforehand and got exactly what was promised. The service is perfect. The hotel staff very friendly and hard working. Making sure the guests are comfortable. Food is very good as well. Staying at this hotel made our week in Saas Fee very memorable.
Highly recommended ! We go back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our family's Christmas week at the Hotel Allalin was perfect thanks to the helpful and friendly staff.
The rooms have been superbly refurbished and were very comfortable.
The quality of the food and service in the restaurant was first class.
Most skiing holidays require a walk to the slopes carrying skis etc, the hotel offer a ride to the lifts in their little electric "bus". This is a great service and much appreciated by all that used it.
Saas Fee does not allow cars into the village, this makes it the whole holiday far more relaxing and tranquil.
We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We've visited Saas Fee, Switzerland 9 out of the last 11 years and we wouldn't stay anywhere else but the Allalin.

As I was getting ready to book another stay in Saas Fee next year and had pulled up the Allalin site on Trip Advisor, for no reason I just thought I'd glance at some of the reviews concerning the Allalin. Almost all are 5 Star but I came across one that was a 2 star from someone who had stayed at the Allalin with a large group in January of 2011. After reading their most idiotic spewing of trivia, I decided I MUST give an updated review about the Allalin and the Zurbriggen family that has run this hotel since the 1800's.

My wife and I have been in 20+ countries and have taken numerous cruises as well. We've stayed in the Ritz Carlton on Maui to other 5 star hotels in Vegas, New York, London, etc. We eat in 5 star restaurants whenever we can on vacation. So we're familiar with good service.

When we first visited Saas Fee in January 2000 we chose the Allalin from the internet. I read a few reviews and thought "we'll give it a try". While in Saas Fee we did a minor amount of skiing, we were mainly there just to relax for 10 days, practice our German, walk the town, toboggan, and take a few short day trips out to Bern, Visp, Zermatt, etc. We loved every single minute of it, and my wife and I commented on how lucky we were that we'd chosen the Allalin merely by chance off the internet.

First of all we fell in love with Saas Fee and decided while we were there that we would definitely return the next January. SECONDLY, and this is what's important here, we determined that we'd also return to the Allalin, and that if we couldn't get a booking, we wouldn't return. The Allalin had proven perfect for every need and desire we had, and the Zurbriggens already felt like close friends. Now, after having returned to the Allalin a total of 9 years, they feel like family.

The Zurbriggens treat you like family. They leave nothing to chance. Everything has to be just as perfect as they can possibly make it. No question goes unanswered, no request goes unfilled. NEVER in our 10 years has any of the staff EVER been "short" with a guest, said anything inappropriate, or even acted like they weren't anything but happy to be of help. I have always bought our room with "halb-pension", and you will not find a more complete or delicious breakfast buffet. Their evening meals are 5 star meals with variations in international cuisine to rival any 5 star restaurant anywhere. And their dessert buffet is unequaled anywhere we've ever been. Mr. Zurbriggen makes it a point to visit each table each evening and talk to everyone. He speaks 6-7 languages very fluently and on any given evening he is usually using 4-5 of the languages. He has a truly international group of guests at all times. I have seen the Zurbriggens deal with very large groups that are booked into the hotel as well as deal with large groups that have merely shown up late at the outside door entrance and ready to party. Even though those groups aren't necessarily as quiet as those of us seated in the areas where the 2 and 4 guest tables are, NEVER have I seen a waiter, or any of the Zurbriggen family ever do anything except show the greatest concern for the comfort and satisfaction of their guests...even those maybe being less than polite.

I'm a former marine and a college fraternity partier from years past whose partying would rival that of any group of skiers. So I know that large groups can get out of hand, and be less than respectful of people who are waiting on them. I'm retired now though, and mine and my wife's idea of great times, are much more on the relaxing side of things. The Allalin and the Zurbriggens in particular have made the atmosphere at the Allalin PERFECT for someone wanting to relax and just enjoy a peaceful hotel, yet I have seen numerous large groups just having a blast of fun at the Allalin. But somehow the partiers, and those of us who now just like relaxing have always had great times at the Allalin.

You can't go wrong at the Allalin no matter whether you're in Saas Fee to revel or relax. And the person who complained about not being able to get a cup of coffee without paying for it is in my opinion an idiot, and quite frankly, his review doesn't deserve the space it takes up.

Rick Johnson
USA

Room Tip: We always ask for the 3rd floor and we sit on the balcony watching the parade of people walking down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have just returned from 10 days holiday at this great hotel. We booked with inghams on a half board package which also included a packed lunch.
We simply could not fault this amazing hotel. Travelling with a 2 and half year old and 3 month old we were slightly nervous about how we would manage but we need not have worried. We stayed in family suit whic was perfect. The roomwas on 2 floors with lounge and separate sleeping area fir our toddler so we could relax in the evening.
All the staff were friendly and helpful from the taxi driver to the cleaner but we would like to say a special thanks to Marco and Daniel our waiters who were extremely thoughtful and attentive with our family. The staff were very accommodating especially at meals times which were sometimes quite challenging with 2 small children.
The meals were superb some of the best we have had and beautifully presented. We would definitely return to this wonderfully run hotel in Saas fee a great mountain resort.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a great stay here. The food was excellent, the service great. I would recommend this hotel to everybody wo wants to enjoy a long weekend in the alps. Don't forget to go to Spielboden and look for the marmots in the wild :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henricodolfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.0 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 48 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Glacier - The Dom Collection
0.3 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#8 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Artemis
Hotel Artemis
#15 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allalin

Property: Hotel Allalin
Address: Lomattenstrasse 7, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#3 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allalin 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our newly renovated and modern superior rooms and suites equipped with first class materials and amazing panoramic views! The Hotel Allalin is family owned and managed in 4th generation, it offers a cozy restaurant with high standard cuisine located in a beautiful car free mountain resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Allalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allalin Hotel Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing