We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Switzerland”
Review of Hotel Allalin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Allalin
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Switzerland”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

My wife and I have just recently returned from our second say at the Allalin, I do not really have the words to express how wonderful our experience was.

This family run hotel has pleasant staff who make it their business to make you feel most welcome, in an environment that is warm and relaxing. The owners are particularly friendly, warm and utterly professional in the execution of their craft.

The rooms are spotlessly clean with all the facilities, well maintained, extremely quiet with large and very comfortable beds.

Everything about the restaurant is perfect with great atmosphere and wonderful service second to none, most notable the food is absolutely exquisite. It is always a real joy to eat here with quality ingredients, food full of flavour with wonderful and interesting combinations cooked to perfection. The creativity involved in marrying different ingredients is indicative of a superb chef.

The location in Saas Fee is good and the hotel has their own ski store directly opposite the main Alpin Express lift.

The Allalin is always perfect and we have never been disappointed. We would recommend without hesitation to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenzanceMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justeve, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
Dear PenzanceMike,

thanks for your review. It was great having you with us and we hope to see you again soon. Why not in summer for a change? All the best to you and your wife!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    44
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
67
135
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed for a week at this hotel, attending a professional seminar. The rooms are clean and wifi is provided. There was a clear distinction in the service provided for individual guest and our group. On one occasion one member had a cup of coffee from the bar after dinner & was specifically told he had to pay extra for that. On another occasion there were 3 seminar members left after breakfast & a bascet of cakes were put on a table & the members were specifically told not to touch them. The members of this meeting were civilized guest who really did not behave badly. What is a cup of tea when u have a group of 40 guests for a week really?!?
The breakfast and lunch salad bar is the same every single day. Boring if u stay beyond 3 days. Only one computer in the lobby.
Perhaps individuals recommend this hotel, but not recommended for groups!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank felicityoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justeve, Owner at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
What a strange world!?

One day after the tsunami the Japanese suffer from the nuclear disaster and a never seen devastation of their homes and country by a tsunami our guests are sitting in Europe and writing about coffee and cake after a meal and a salad bar with 15 salads, which does not seem to offer enough variety and internet. Apart from the free of charge wireless in all rooms and the seminar track we have an extra office next to reception with 2 computers for guests without lap-top and an extra lap top in the lobby for free use.

Your seminar:
At lunch time the participants ate in about 10-15 minutes and were very much in a hurry to go skiing. You forgot to mention that the atmosphere during the candle light dinner was excellent, that you were offered wine during all dinners and even champagne for the birthday of one member at the gala dinner. The faculty specifically asked the coffee not to be included in your package and all our hotel guests pay extra for their coffee after dinner. The mentioned cake was brought out to be sold in our public restaurant during the day and not for a help your selves deal.

The feed back from the seminar participants was so good, that the medical organisation has booked again for January 2012 in our congress centre. The organisation of seminars and congresses has been our speciality for the last ten years as we therefore built the campus Steinmatte with 5 seminar rooms of 80m2 and a plenum of 250m2 in a fantastic environment just 5-7 minutes walk away from our Hotel Allalin.

A friend from Alaska told me 1970: I cried because I had no shoes until I met a man who had no feet.

Best wishes from one of the most beautiful villages in the Alps.

Tobias Zurbriggen

Owner of Hotel Allalin, the only hotel in Saas Fee run by the 4th generation since 1928.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I have stayed in several hotels and resorts, small as well as big around the World for vacation with my family and young children, but seldom experienced such a dedicated and personal service from both the management as well as the entire staff. We stayed for a week and every day was so pleasant. What ever small request we had, be it privat transport in the hotel electrical car or power adapter or extra champagne glasses to our room, service was always their direct and friendly. Another good example is when we asked Mrs. Zurbriggen to change our standard set dinner to a meat fondue. This was arranged with no additional charges and served in the most excessive way with extra suppliments to the children. Not to mention the overall very tasky, top quality of the food always serviced with finess and pride. The family management was always present, father, mother, daughters and sons, looking at every small detail preventing anything from going wrong. A special dedication to the staff members Daniel and Isabel for superb and professional service in the dinning room. This hotel is simply unique and outstanding and I can really recommend it to anyone seeking personal and carrring top hotel quality.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyElming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justeve, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Dear family Elming and Birke,

It was a pleasure having you and the cute girls with us and we hope you had a safe trip back to Sweden. We always give our best to please our guests and are a true family hotel. In total we are 9 dedicated family members working together with our motivated staff to create an unforgettable experience for you. We are happy that we indeed succeeded to please you and would be happy to welcoming you again! Have a good summer. Hey Då!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My husband ad I have just returned from a weeks skiing holiday at the Hotel Allalin.We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and feel we must report how pleased we were wth our holiday.The hotel is superbly run and we cannot speak highly enough of the service of all of the staff.Everyone was very friendly and helpful.We stayed in room 26 which had been recently renovated and decorated in a boutique style.It was very comfortable,large,and clean.It also had a lovely balcony with views of the mountains.
The restaurant was a traditional Swiss room with timbers and a cosy feel.My sincere compliments to the chef and his staff as the food was fantastic.We had 5 course meals every evening with a choice of main meal.We enjoyed every meal and found the dining room staff excellent showing true fine dining style.
The hotel is a little further out of the village than we realised but the hotel has one of the battery powered buses that was on hand to take us to the ski lift and also pick up if necessary.There were also 3 other Saas Fee buses that picked up at the hotel regularly,so we did not have to carry our skis too far.The hotel also has an arrangement at the main ski lift where you can leave skis etc in a heated boot room.This was extremely useful as we could then change our gear and have a leisurely walk back through the village for a glass of gluhwein!
Overall we enjoyed our holiday and would thoroughly recommend a stay at this 1st class hotel.We would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenmthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justeve, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Dear Mrs. Thomas,

thanks a lot for your thorough review. We are pleased you liked so many aspects about our hotel and that you enjoyed the village of Saas Fee (and the Glühwein ;-)). You and Mr. Thomas are truly a lovely couple and it was a pleasure to accommodate you with us. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2011

For the third year in a row we decided to spend a week in Saas Fee in February 2011. Like last year we choose Hotel Allalin for accommodation. This time we also persuaded a London family to come and spend the week with us.
The hotel lived up to our expectations from last year. Perfectly located, walking distance to everything, quiet, modern and clean. A friendly family runs the place and provides perfect service at your needs without being pushy. The breakfast buffet offers everything you need or wish for and at evenings a five course dinner is served every day, tasteful and elegant without being over-abundant. A nice selection of local vines is available which ads to the pleasure of the meal. Service in the restaurant is efficient and unobtrusive -- perfect.
Hotel Allalin has their own storage room for skies down at the major lift Alpine express which minimises the need for haul of equipment to and from the lift.
A final plus which is appreciated by us Nordic people is the small but hot sauna (90 C) perfect for relaxation of your stiff muscle after a day in the ski slope.

We can recommend this place with all our hearts!
The Laurell family from Lund Swden.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabapula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justeve, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Dear family Laurell,

we are glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to welcome such happy guest with us. Thanks for the note about the local wines, we do promote our wine from sunny canton valais which is very tasty. We hope to see you again next year and wish you a great summer in Sweden!
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2011

The perfect hotel for a holiday in Saas Fee. Excellent rooms, good location, great food, friendly staff and charming hosts

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmowll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justeve, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Dear Family Mowll,
thank you for your friendly review. As usual it was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We had a great time staying at Hotel Allalin, our room was very modern, spacious and welcoming! Not only was our room nice, but the meals and service with the half-board were fantastic. Half-board is relatively new to Americans, but it is really nice to have our meals included, we could really relax after a full day of skiing, then just walk downstairs to the very warm dining area for our dinner (the desserts were to die for)... We would like to say a special thank you to Eva for really making us feel welcome and comfortable at the hotel, she was awesome (stay warm)!

Kyle and Terri

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justeve, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Allalin, responded to this review, January 1, 2011
Dear Terri and Kyle,

thank you for your kind review. It was great having you here! We hope that you've enjoyed the rest of your trip in Zermatt and Zürich and that you've returned home safely. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.0 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 48 in Saas-Fee
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 48 in Saas-Fee
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 48 in Saas-Fee
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#7 of 48 in Saas-Fee
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elite Alpine Lodge
Elite Alpine Lodge
#6 of 48 in Saas-Fee
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allalin

Property: Hotel Allalin
Address: Lomattenstrasse 7, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#3 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allalin 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our newly renovated and modern superior rooms and suites equipped with first class materials and amazing panoramic views! The Hotel Allalin is family owned and managed in 4th generation, it offers a cozy restaurant with high standard cuisine located in a beautiful car free mountain resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Allalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allalin Hotel Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing