We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, rooms & service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Christiania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Christiania
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location, rooms & service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Wife, I & kids (12&10) stayed 5 nights in family room. Nice clean, with large bathroom, separate bedroom w/bunkbeds and 2 large balconies with mtn views. Hotel is a family run - the Burgeners are exceptionally friendly and very helpful. Good breakfast with cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, and boiled eggs - always fresh. Hotel dinner is reasonably priced compared to local restaurants with good basic food. Location is ideal - quick walk to ski lifts, close to bars and restaurants, and walking distance to center and shops. Skiing was very good - range of pistes for all levels and lines not long (even during Xmas break). We loved to 5.5km sledging run as well. Local restaurants are very pricy even by Swiss standards, but you can order half portions and kids meals at most restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher floors (above 2) will avoid noise from attached bar below which can get quite loud (open unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    62
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
45
89
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

A very lovely family owned hotel, centrally located. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice and clean rooms, even a sauna and a steam bath in the basement to use free of charge. My single room was spacious with a big balcony and a great view over to the mountains. I really felt comfortable in this hotel. Pick-up and drop off was provided by the hotel on time. Great value for the price!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Very well run family hotel, located near the ski-lifts. Our apartment was very big, consisting in one huge adults room and one kids room with bunk beds. Owners are very friendly and efficient. Saas Fee is a very beautiful ski village with excellent slopes for intermediates who intend to improve and also for beginners. It is a snow guaranteed resort, as you can ski up to 3,500 meters on glacier. Owners offer free pick up from parking or bus station, as Saas Fee is car free town. Dinner is very good and local wine better than expected. Would definitely return, if budget permits, as Switzerland is quite expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Since Saas Fee is a car free village, we were picked up by the hotel owner with electric car at the parking house. Other option is to walk (not good with luggage) or take a taxi. Fortunately this hotel offers free pick up. The rooms were nice and clean, some with a very nice view over the mountains. Bed and pillows were not the best, but I've seen worse. Surprisingly there are many TV channels (German, English, French etc) available in the rooms.
Breakfast could have been with a better variety, though on third day omelet was replaced by boiled eggs.
The best things about the hotel are it's location and the sauna. It takes about 5 minutes to walk to the ski lifts, also convenient proximity to all the restaurants and other activities. They have steam sauna and a regular one, I highly recommend.
Be aware that Saas Fee is quite expensive, especially the prices at the restaurants, but I suppose they try to keep the Swiss standard up and running.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2008

We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Hotel Christiania. My girlfriend and I are both in our 20s and found the staff both helpful and welcoming. We were at the Christinia for New Year and were touched by the amount of effort the family who run the hotel had put into making New Year's Eve memorable, with a gala dinner, and walk up the mountain with flaming torches to watch the midnight fireworks.
It is the first time I had been to an alpine ski resort and would definitely recommend the hotel for people who want to use the ski school as it is pretty close to the nursery slopes.
The hotel itself was classic, rustic Swiss style - cosy and welcoming, and although our room was not huge it was comfortable and the view from our balcony was stunning. The food was good, with four or five courses every night, although the breakfast buffet could have been more extensive.
All in all excellent value for money!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — We didn't stay long enough!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2007

Had a great holiday staying at The Christiana, the owners were friendly, helpful and the food was great. Herr Brugener and his wife made us feel very welcome even though we were the only English guests staying at the time. We too experienced the walk through the woods, and a few gluweins afterwards! The Spa is compact but attractive and modern. Our room was large and very pleasant. The hotel is handy for Nesti's bar too!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortsmouthStephie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2006

Having just read a review of the hotel, feel I must readdress the balance. We found all the staff polite, informative and efficent. The room and bathroom, in particular were of an excellent standard for such an economically priced hotel. Food adequate, with a large buffet breakfast and 5 course meal in the evening with both traditional fare and european dishes. Would definitely recommend for a ski holiday.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#9 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#7 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 48 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Artemis
Hotel Artemis
#15 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 48 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christiania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christiania

Property: Hotel Christiania
Address: Dorfstrasse 19, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#6 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saas-Fee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Christiania 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3* hotel Christiania and Saas-Fee offer you perfect conditions for a recreative and active holiday in our beautiful Valais Alps. You can expect a unique mountain and glacier world with a stunning panorama in the car-free and pleasant village Saas-Fee. In our hotel Christiania you can relax and feel good in a family atmosphere. Our attractive offers make it easy for you to choose your holiday in Saas-Fee and to fulfill your holiday dreams. Our hotel offers 27 non-smoking rooms* with bathtub and showerhead or shower, toilet, hairdryer, safe, mini-fridge, cable-tv with radio (all with flat screen), alarm clock and info channel, direct dial telephone and free Wi-Fi internet access. 98% Of our rooms have a balcony with magnificent view to the mountain world of the Saas Valley The hotel has a elevator and is partly wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Christiania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiania Hotel Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing