We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate resting place (during the Tour de Monta Rosa)”
Review of Hotel La Collina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Collina
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have walked the Tour de Monta Rosa, a though mountain hike that really challenges your body's physical condition. Looking back, La Collina was a garden of Eden to arrive: friendly, supporting, excellent rooms, luxury fresh breakfast, but most of all: the wellness space that allowed our muscles to recuperate, and were we could dream againof the heights and views we experienced. And this for a price you can't imagine, a bit 'non Switserland' alike, since it was the same as the other hotels we booked during our tour, but with so much more to offer. I predict this young enthousiastic hotel couple a great future in their business, they apply 'hospitality' in its real sense.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, Manager at Hotel La Collina, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review. Seeing that you have enjoyed your stay and pleased with our wellness and breakfast buffet spread, overwhelmed us with joy. We hope to see all of you again in the near future. Best wishes to you.

Regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Collina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 70 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very charming and beautiful view. Must be the best value for money in Saas Fee. Peter and other straff was super friendly. Highly recomended! Breakfast was very good and the fireplace in the bar Madeleine the atmosphere fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arne-Petter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have just been in this hotel for two days
I chose it because of the good comments, but I wouldn't recommend it
Location: is really far from the ski lifts......just opposite, at least 15' walking
It is not in the centre of the village and as it doesn't have restaurant, yo have to walk in the cold during the nigths to have something to eat
Peter, in the reception, seems to be polite......but take into account that we asked him for three different things and the answer was alwas "NO"
It is and old fashioned building.....needs renovation inmediately.....red carpets that looked like pink ones....old furniture.....plastic flowers everywhere.....it is not possible to go to your room, directly with the lift, you have to use stairs as well.....not prepared for handycapped
I felt really dissapointed

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a340sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, General Manager at Hotel La Collina, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to read that you were not satisfied with your stay. Our hotel is indeed not located in the city center but it is located just by the outdoor parking and many of our guests enjoy the quiet and calm ambiance due to the situation of the hotel. To get to the ski lifts, shuttle buses are available every 15 minutes and the stop is just behind the hotel (about 1-2 minutes walk) and it takes you directly to the ski lifts. Ski storage is also provided right at the slopes for the convenience of all our in-house guests. Upon reservation, it is clearly stated that Saas-Fee is a car-free town and that we offer only bed & breakfast service. Our hotel has at least 95% plants and flowers that are real, including those in all the rooms EXCEPT in the wellness area due to hygienic reasons. We apologised if we were not able to meet your expectations and that you do not like the chalet-design of the hotel. We hope you would let us know precisely what are the things which we said 'No' to as we always do our utmost best to satisfy all our guests' needs and wants, whenever possible. It is a shame that you did not let us know the issues that you were facing when being asked, otherwise we would have found a solution to points that were unsatisfactory. Nevertheless, we urge all readers to read all other reviews to get a good balanced idea of the hotel. Thank you once again for taking the time to write the review. Best wishes to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We found this hotel through an internet trawl as we were visiting our son who was working in the area. The hotel is a small concern run by newly weds Pieter and Jeanette. The rooms are both spacious, clean and tidy. Our bathroom, boasted both bath and shower (and one of those strange devices for washing your feet in!). The bedroom had a balcony around two sides that gave great mountain views. Breakfast is the normal fare for the area (cheese, pork product, bread in various forms, various breads and cake varieties, fresh fruit salad, three types of yoghurt, various fruit juices, eggs to order and delicious fresh coffee in many forms!). The owners and their housekeeper are very friendly and very attentive to their guests' needs. My wife ventured into the fitness facilities and found a swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. These were quiet, clean and as good as any she had encountered. On the final day the housekeeper even presented my wife with a rose as it was Valentines' Day. Nice touch. The town is also vehicle free and the hotel is situated near to the external car park and coach station which is another great plus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuoVadisWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, General Manager at Hotel La Collina, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We also hope the storm situation has settled with you back at home. Nevertheless, we truly hope to have the chance of welcoming you and your wife back again in Hotel La Collina and thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked this hotel for our ski weekend. We all agreed it was an excellent choice.... Why? .... The hotel's rooms are very comfortable, with comfortable beds and clean, well laid out en suites - an important consideration when needing that hot decent shower to start the day or warm up at the end of it...! If that doesn't do the trick though then the excellent spa will - ot massive but with swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna there is something for all and it is the first time I have stayed at a hotel at this price point and found this quality and variety of services.

Breakfast was similarly impressive on both days we stayed there with good variety, uniformly good quality and a selection of locally made products which helped differentiate what can otherwise be a fairly standard "skier's breakfast". Add into this the thoughtful management and help of Peter and Jeanette who run this hotel and it is clear to see why it enjoys such popularity among the skier market... A winning formula!

Location is a short walk from the bus terminal across the car park. Reaching the ski lifts is a little longer and no doubt this is reflected in La Collina's price point. However, I would recommend hiring a locker down by the main gondola station to leave boots and skis at the end of the day and enjoying a slow walk through the town back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Brian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, General Manager at Hotel La Collina, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and in depth review. We are glad that you and your friends have found your stay to be pleasant with us. We were really delighted to have you as our guests and appreciate your review very much. Regarding ski lockers, we would like to inform you that our hotel has a 'ski depot' (storage room for ski & ski boots) by the ski lifts itself. We apologized that this information did not reach you. Nevertheless, we hope to have you again at our hotel in the near future. Once again, thank you and best wishes to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We just spent a wonderful long ski weekend at La Collina and couldn't have wished for a better experience. Our room was large and clean and had a wonderful view off the deck. Peter, the manager, was a gracious host and all of the staff was friendly and helpful. Peter met us at the bus station and brought our oversize luggage to the hotel. He provided us with a map and directions for getting and storing our skis. Then he made excellent dinner recommendations and even made our reservations for us. But the best parts of the stay were the homemade breads and pastries for breakfast, and the apres-ski drinks and company. Watch out if Peter offers you the apricot liquor that is made locally!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I just spent three nights at Hotel La Collina on a ski trip with my parents. The hotel itself is nice and charming. The view from our room was spectacular, as were the breakfasts. But the best part was definitely Peter, the manager, as well as the rest of the staff. I've never had a more friendly, helpful and positive experience. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. As one example, we really wanted to eat at a certain restaurant in town, but couldn't get reservations because the place was all booked up. Peter found out and, without telling us, made a phone call and got us a table. It was awesome!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F, General Manager at Hotel La Collina, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and it was a delight to have you as our guest. We hope to have the chance of treating you our homemade apple strudel and gluhwein again in the near future. Once again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#23 of 48 in Saas-Fee
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#7 of 48 in Saas-Fee
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#13 of 48 in Saas-Fee
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#8 of 48 in Saas-Fee
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Family Hotel Alphubel
Swiss Family Hotel Alphubel
#24 of 48 in Saas-Fee
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Collina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Collina

Address: Huegelweg 1, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#13 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range: $87 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Collina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garni La Collina is a charming hotel in Saas-Fee that is known for its stylish and historic ambiance. The hotel, built in 1945, offers a combination of traditional and modern characteristics. This chalet Hotel is located right at the parking, 2 minutes from the Bus Terminal and 10 minutes from the Alpine Ski station. The quiet location is ideal for travellers who would like to have a relaxing holiday. Most of the fully-equipped rooms offer an unforgettable view of the mountain peaks. The hotel has a bar with a fireplace right in the middle of the room and this radiates a cozy atmosphere. Our breakfast buffet is made up of local products, freshly baked breads and homemade jams.The hotel also provides a wellness area called "La Mer" with a jacuzzi, heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and a refreshment buffet. The "La Mer" is where the mountain meets the sea.All in all, this is definitely what you have been looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Collina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Collina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing