We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to relax.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swiss Family Hotel Alphubel
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to relax.”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I have just returned from an amazing week in the Alphubel Hotel in Saas-Fee. As many reviews have said, the service and hospitality is excellent and I have not found a friendlier place to stay. The resort and hotel is very good for children, as we were in the minority being a couple. This time of year the village is very quiet and unlike some areas of the Swiss Alps, you can manage to get away from other people and have a corner of the mountain to yourself. The hotel has recently won awards for its food, which is of a very high standard and on a par to a 5star Swiss hotel that we stayed in last year. We went B and B as this was the only option offered through our tour operator, but opted to eat in most nights as the resort is so expensive to eat in and the hotel was such good value, and had an interesting menu, including Italian theme nights and fondue. This summer there is also a free travel pass included at this hotel which allows access to all cable cars and buses in the valley, which really saves money and allows for changes of plan when the clouds come down. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to families and couples who like a bit of adventure in a quiet area of the Alps.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Had a great week at this family run hotel (boy 14yrs, girl 9yrs). 5 minutes from Saas Fee shops, bars, restaurants and bus station. The owners are incredibly friendly and there was entertainment on 4 nights. The dinner in the evening was varied and traditional. The rooms were clean with balconies overlooking the mountains and Saas Fee town. There is so much to do in Saas Fee during the Summer and would thoroughly recommend for couples or families.
The buses and trains are reliable and we used them frequently to travel to Thun, Spielz and Zermatt. The children had a snowboarding lesson in Zermatt (beginners slope open during the Summer months) which was great (and it was snowing up the mountain, and sunny in Zermatt town!). You can ski 365 days a year in Zermatt and Saas Fee. Tried zip wire adventure park which was well worth the money. The scooter ride down from Hannig was fun, even though it took us 2 hours. There is a leisure centre in town and on the only day it rained all day we went swimming.
There is an abundance of expensive restaurants and bars, so be prepared to spend money. everything is expensive! But well worth it. We normally have a family holiday by a pool and this break was definately value for money and far more enjoyable.

Room Tip: overlooking the mountains and town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabric40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We have just returned from a week's stay and having never written a review before, feel compelled to do so!
We have a little boy (just 4) and could not have wished (or expected) such a warm and welcoming family hotel. The kid's club was wonderful (staffed by Heather - the owners' daughter-in-law and Andrea). I had not skied before and was prepared to forego time on the slopes to entertain our little one, but on the 2nd day he announced "I love Heather" and any parent could not have wanted more reassurance than that to leave their child in someone else's care. It made it very easy for us to be able to spend more time as a couple. The best of all worlds!
The hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms and amazing cuisine (with option for children to eat earlier). With a sister hotel close to the beginner slopes and lifts - we were given a ski locker there - so no trawling back and forwards in heavy ski boots and lugging kit about! And whilst the walk to and from the hotel is a pleasant one and allows you to soak in the lovely atmosphere of Saas Fee, the hotel also offers a scheduled "Elektro" bus for those who want to preserve their energy for the slopes! No motor cars - another plus - just little electric vehicles!
The hotel very kindly also collected our little boy after his Ski Kindergarten at just after 11am so we could happily wave him off back to the Play Club and we could ski. The first day Heather came in the Elektro to collect him, but I was concerned that he may not want to go alone in the coming days - what was I worried about? The Hotel's driver - Andre - was so good with kids there was absolutely no problem and our boy happily waved goodbye as he was "chauffeured" back to the Play Club.
The hotel is set back from the main skiing area, but that should not trouble anyone (elektro as mentioned above) and has amazing views from the main terrace. It also means that it offers quiet accommodation with the only external noise being the birdsong - no rowdy bars/roads etc.
The food is far beyond what one would expect from a small family-run hotel. A lot of thought is clearly put into the menus for the evening meals and the choice offered at breakfast is lovely.
All the staff were friendly and welcoming and the owners are very hands-on so you just feel like you belong right from the outset.
My husband has been on countless ski holidays and says he has no reservation in praising the hotel ( as I do here) and also the skiing/set up in Saas Fee. There is little surprise then in closing by saying that we will be returning for another stay next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alijkirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Just had a fantastic week at The Alphubel, The supersaxos are quite exceptional, offering a real friendly service, nothing seemed too much trouble and the in-house entertainment added greatly to our enjoyment. The views are superb, yet only a few minutes walk from the center. The free taxi to ski area and storage of gear at their sister hotel made skiing trouble-free.
We can also highly commend Optimum Snow Sports, an English Ski School company, where we had some of our best ski lessons ever.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollyhols88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brakel, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We have twins of 3,5 years old and stayed for the first time in Hotel Alphubel. The staff is very friendly and they will do anything for you and your children. Great choice for breakfast and superb food at dinner.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippe_timmermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich area
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Located near to the 'entrance' of Saas Fee (cars are not allowed in the village and must be parked in the large underground car park - you can call the hotel from there and they will send a small electric vehicle to collect you) this hotel has great views over the surrounding mountain range (13 peaks > 4000m!). There is a kids play room, games room, garden with games in it, outside play area and even bigger playground just over the back of the small on hill on which the hotel perches. A 'creche' service operates in the week. The Supersaxo family who run the establishment are very friendly and welcoming and speak English, German and French. The food is ok - typical of other 3* Swiss hotels I have stayed in, but really you're there for the family atmosphere, you can totally relax. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good 'Kinderhotel'

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We have stayed at Alphubel twice before and we are going for the third time this December. There are too many positives and I will try to cover them all: a wonderful family of two generations (even three, if we count the grandchildren who are usually around) that runs the hotel and takes the quality of service to the guests personally; environment which is relaxed and friendly, but at the same time high quality; high quality of dining; wonderful creche for children run by the Supersaxos' English daughter in law, whom children absolutely love; activities for children, including cooking, sledging, skiing with GoSuLino; games room for kids in the hotel (Fussball, table tennis, children's pool, Xbox etc.); transfers to and from the ski lifts in the mornings and afternoons, as well as transfers to and from the central parking (Saas-Fee is car free) and finally, fellow guests, who mostly are repeat customers and have been coming to Alphubel for years.
Downsides: the hotel, although kept extremely clean and in excellent working order, is a bit dated; lifts are on the other end of the town so if not taking the hotel electric car, it is about 10-minute walk away; children will be picked up from the ski school in the afternoon and taken to the hotel, but a parent must be present for the handover, which is a bit of a hassle as means skiing down to the base of the mountain just for that.
Overall, if you are considering an alpine holiday with young children, this is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zorsw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.2 mi away
Erlebnishotel Etoile
Erlebnishotel Etoile
#3 of 48 in Saas-Fee
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#24 of 48 in Saas-Fee
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marmotte
Hotel Marmotte
#12 of 48 in Saas-Fee
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Popcorn Hotel
Popcorn Hotel
#23 of 48 in Saas-Fee
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#7 of 48 in Saas-Fee
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Family Hotel Alphubel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Family Hotel Alphubel

Property: Swiss Family Hotel Alphubel
Address: Huegelweg 3, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland (Formerly Panorama Hotel Alphubel)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
#13 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Family Hotel Alphubel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Swiss Family Hotel Alphubel! Located on a small hill, with imposing panoramic views over the glacier village of Saas Fee and looking out onto the array of glacial mountains, our hotel is the perfect starting point for both summer and winter holidays. Thanks to the exclusive location, it is just as easy for those seeking a little relaxation to find their peaceful retreat as it is for children to enjoy some fun and games in a safe and open environment. And all of this within a stone’s throw of the centre of town, the Hannigalp ski-lift, the long-distance bus station and car-parking spaces! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Swiss Family Hotel Alphubel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alphubel Hotel Saas-Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing