We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, close to the slopes”
Review of The Dom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dom Hotel
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is one of the oldest buildings in town but the rooms and restaurants are renovated to a very high standard. Rooms are super comfortable and luxurious with the latest technology at your finger tips. You control everything from the iPad which is also provided in the room. Our room had fantastic views of the slopes and a balcony which was really fabulous! Breakfast each morning was a treat with so many different cheeses you almost thought you were in Switzerland ;-)

The location is right in the middle of the town but because it is such a cozy town, the walk to the slopes is about 5 minutes. The hotel offers free electric taxis to and from the slopes.

This was our first ski trip and I would totally recommend it as it has superb facilities for starters. As it was only my husband and I we found the facilities to be just perfect for us, with just enough charm to make it a truly special holiday.

I also recommend you hire your ski gear from the Hotel's ski shop as they were competitively priced and you get a discount as a hotel guest.

Our favourite part of the day was doing the last run before the slopes close and then ski right into town and enjoying the lively atmosphere of the bars having a drink at each one of them on our way to the hotel before taking a well deserved shower and tucking into delicous cheese fondue.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony and views over the main ski slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinStyle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 289 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel has been under a huge retrofit. The decor resembles some danish design. It is modern, clean and based on wood. The room is not big but confortable. The bathroom is divided in two parts and is not so confortable. The IPad for room controls is a distraction. It means that simple things as turning off a light gets more complex than needs to be. The restaurant deserves a visit.

The staff is friendly but as a new hotel needs improvements in order to develop its own personality and soul.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augusto53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived the place in the afternoon. The manager himself, Mr. Philip Raber came to pick us from the parling lot, as the hotel wasn't fully booked. The hotel was lately fantastically renovated. It looks great! The rooms are big, comfortable, very well equipped.The technology is superb. The view is outstanding. The staff -all of them, are very helpfull, welcoming, smiling. The breakfast was excellent - rich, fresh, tasty. Only good words about this hotel. We are looking forward to be there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meir F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Dom is one of the oldest buildings in town, but has been completely gutted internally and the decor is now a great combination of traditional alpine pine and with an ultra-modern look. My wife and I decided to push the boat out and went for a deluxe room, which is pretty large, and has a free-standing bathtub in the corner of the room (sounds a bit decadent, but check out the hotel pics to get an idea). There's also a great en-suite shower and a separate toilet (with a door!).

The room is terrific, with a large flat-screen TV, loads of channels including UK channels in HD, lots of downlighters individually controlled by a wall-mounted touch pad, and also an iPad to control the telly (although this sounds cool, it was a bit of a faff to use the iPad to adjust the volume or change channels - I'd have preferred the telly remote!). However, the iPad was great for accessing the (free) internet.

We were there the week after the Easter holiday fortnight, and the Dom was shutting for 6 weeks at the end of our week (last week of skiing as well), so there only seemed to be 3 or so rooms occupied, based on who we could see at breakfast (which was excellent, taking in a beautiful breakfast room). You can take up the half-board option on a day-by-day basis, and the set menu is 40 francs (about £26) per head for an excellent 4-course meal. The restaurant was fairly quiet, but the food was superb on the set menu, considering some of the a la carte main courses weren't far off 40 francs on their own. An earlier post criticised the food, which I can't understand.

As for skiing, the boot room is the best I've ever used, and the hotel will drop you off and pick you up from the lift station.

There's also a bar which has a direct door to the outside, and is fairly popular with non-guests (although the resort was pretty quiet). My only negative is that this is the only place in the hotel where you can go if you don't want to sit in your room - there's no real lounge area, as such (but the bar only opens from 5pm, and not on a Sunday or Monday).

However, that's a minor point when the rooms are so nice. The staff were uniformly excellent and friendly, and it must be the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in - absolutely spotless. If I were to return to Saas Fee, I'd definitely go back to the Dom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lots of upsides to this hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The decor is uber modern with gleaming wooden floors, big sumptuous beds, plenty of storage NB the ski storage in the basement is excellent - heated lockers, so no grim shoving of feet into cold unwelcoming ski boots in the morning. We visited over the Easter break and alongside the daily replenishment of water bottles and apples, we were also given a basket of Easter eggs and a white chocolate rabbit. Nice touch. Fabulous restaurant, I'm still missing the food. Breakfast also utterly divine. Fabulous breads, pastries, egg options and most excellent coffee.
The downsides, no bath. Unless you book a premium room. I need a hot bath after a day of sliding around on the snow and a shower simply didn't cut it. I was Ill on the trip - nothing to do with the hotel and having to shower whilst ill was not easy. But those are my only criticisms, it was all mostly excellent. Would not hesitate in going back.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if you need a lie in as the church bells chime from 7 am through to 11pm. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RozB339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came here over easter with 2 small kids and all had a great time. First, the hotel is beautifully renovated combining modern and traditional. The architect did a great job. The rooms were beautiful and modern. We wanted to go out but ended up staying in all 4 nights eating at the hotel. The first night my husband ordered meat and I had fish and both of us felt that the meal was way too salty but the other evenings after that was fine. The kitchen was o.k. but nothing special. I thought it was actually reasonably priced for Saas Fee. The dining area for hotel guests, though nice lacked atmosphere. It would be nicer if they made it warmer. One of the evenings I had ordered a chocolate cake for my sons birthday and they didn't end up charging us for it, we were pleasantly surprised! Breakfast was also o.k. but nothing special.
I was a bit worried about being in the middle of Saas Fee and though 2 evenings I heard some young kids screaming and singing in the middle of the night for a few minutes, it is actually very quiet and we all slept very well. What I loved was that they have the electric buggy that brought us to and from the lift every day...loved not walking.
The only thing missing is a spa and as someone else mentioned, if you ski on the day of departure, there is no where for you to shower and change. For some reason they forgot to bring our bags down and left them in our room. When we came back from skiing we were able to use our room again for showering. We didnt leave until 5pm and they didnt charge us extra which was nice. I can imagine though during high season that would not be possible.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fam4luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were there over easter and had an awesome room on the second floor with a beautiful tub in the room. There was a private shower and separate toilet. The hotel is newly furbished and it feels fresh, clean and elegant. We couldn't help admiring the rustic floorboards. There were bottles of water in the room which were replenished daily and on the night the clocks changed to summer-time, we got a note. We didn't try the 'halb-pension' but dined once in the restaurant for dinner and the food was good. We got the small (snack) menu that is on before 5pm and there the burger and fish & chips are recommended. It's just that we were the only couple in the whole restaurant. I guess if the weather was good, we could've sat outside. Breakfast was always a treat with an extensive buffet and also a selection of cooked-egg offerings.

It also helped that the bar was one of the places to be in Saas Fee and over easter there was a nice, dutch jazz band playing. It was great atmosphere and extra bonus of being just a lift down.

The staff were friendly and the atmosphere in this hotel was nice and laid-back. A very easy walk to the ski-lifts and aprés-ski places although you can also catch the ride provided by the hotel. The location was very central and the church-bell nearby added a nice, european-village touch to the experience.

I wouldn't hesitate to go return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#13 of 47 in Saas-Fee
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 47 in Saas-Fee
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#4 of 47 in Saas-Fee
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#8 of 47 in Saas-Fee
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#22 of 47 in Saas-Fee
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dom Hotel

Address: Dorfplatz 2, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saas-Fee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#9 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range: $176 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dom Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Dom - Where tradition and today meet Our hotel is situated in the center of Saas-Fee, a location with the best-possible guarantee of snow in Europe, and embedded in the typical architecture of the 19th century, when tourism was dominated by the English. In 2011 we restored this historical building, the oldest hotel in the village, at great effort and, at the same time, with great care. The interior captivates with its modern elegance paired with antique elements. Our lovingly furnished 28 rooms also offer you technological comfort of the highest standard. During your stay in our hotel you have access to a diverse and individually tailored information and entertainment offering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unique Hotel Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing