We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apart from the food, this was an excellent hotel with exceptional spa facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ferienart Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Apart from the food, this was an excellent hotel with exceptional spa facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a difficult review to write because there are two extremes. From the exceptionally large pool and spa facilities which are by far the best I have experienced along with the beautifully decorated room and balcony to the restaurant and our evening meal, which was a real let-down. As dinner was included we had the choice from the set menu, which in itself was acceptable. The problem was the size of the portions. They were tiny. Nouvelle cuisine has no place in mountain resorts, where guests are active either skiing or following other mountain pursuits and require adequate portions of food. On the evening we were there, the bread choice was a white thick baguette with just a few slices of brown bread hidden at the back of the servers basket - both looked and tasted old! The meal was a real disappointment. This is a beautiful hotel which needs to take a serious look at the food their restaurant provides to customers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    116
    49
    34
    11
See reviews for
108
209
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We only ate our dinner at this hotel as part of half board stay at partner hotel du glacier. The food was a set menu consisting of meat or fish main choice. Vegetarians had to choose from their main restaurant menu which consisted of pizza, one pasta dish and one gonichi dish which over the course of the week became very tedious. The waitresses were very abrupt and did not like you asking for extras and they didn't even understand when we asked for tomato ketchup. As someone stated before the manager and waitresses fussed round some and ignored others and made it totally obvious who they liked and who they didn't sometimes making you feel very uncomfortable. The place was clean but there were always lots of flies around. Drinks were expensive as you would expect in Switzerland. I'm glad we only ate here for a week as couldn't have stomached any longer!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanillaskyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Over the passed decennia, I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times, especially because of the swimming pool and excellent and well-quiped fitness space that is efficiently complimentary to ski training during sommer and fall. It is pleasantly located in Saas Fee with a 5 min walk to the ski lift. The hotel however did not evolve over time, outdated (not modernized) interior decoration and lavishly exposed but rather poor and over-priced art(-tefacts). The personnel is very friendly. Check-in is inefficient, as I don't need a welcome drink and blabla, just my room. The rooms (also previous stays) are very spacious with exuberantly available cupboard space. Though it may seem semi-modernized, the open bathroom is not very ergonomically designed and does not allow for privacy or a sense of Zen. Quite easy to stumble over the bathtub. Unfortunately, a camping bed of very dubious quality was provided for our son, whereas reservation was accepted and payed for 3 people to stay in the room. Given the annoying bed spiral to have kept my son from decent undisturbed sleep, we requested for a second mattress to be put on the bed. Given the notion that a reservation for 3 people was accepted, I consider it dishonest to provide two normal beds and one of non-comparable, very inferior quality (I guess just assure selling at least one room). Breakfast is very good and the personnel very efficient and welcoming. This time we did not dine at the internal restaurants, because the hot weather did invite us to go to a competing restaurant with a more pleasant terrace as compared to the miniature terrace of the FerienArt hotel on the street. I shall return for the very simple reason of the excellent fitness facilities to compliment ski-training in summer and fall, and it slocation in Saas Fee, but not for any other reason.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights the end of June on our "twin centre" trip to Switzerland. We were unfortunately quite disappointed with some aspects of the hotel. The location is very good, right near the main street. The Spa area really was quite superb and very welcome on a rainy day and nice to go to when returning from our couple of days out, it has excellent facilities.
Our room was nice, we chose to upgrade to one of the "Rainbow" rooms with an open area bathroom which was fine but we didn't like the idea of the separate toilet having no handbasin. The cleanliness of the room was fine but not the best we have had, but the room itself was quite comfortable but not really worth the price of the upgrade. We did partake in the offer of the packed lunch which was included with Inghams and to be fair that was excellent. The food overall was of good quality but not a great choice especially in the evenings for the main course, the salad buffet was "very green" Breakfast was good with a good choice. We didn't particularly like the attitude of some of the staff and there seemed quite a lack of communication at times. Ingrid at breakfast was very welcoming, thank goodness, and a couple of the waitresses in the evening were pleasant but it was not relaxed and they seemed quite on edge most of the time.
When we asked at reception if there was a menu that we could look at ready for the evening, nobody seemed to know much about it and when we did locate the one in our lift there was no English translation, which was fine as we could decipher what it was but over the weekend, Saturdays menu was not changed in the lift until Monday morning!! We never saw Sunday's until we went down to dinner. There was a news letter Saturday morning but there were no English ones, no newsletter at all Sunday morning and Mondays was just being done at about 8.00am!! Not handy if you had early breakfast!! Compared to our week that we had just had in Wengen at the Sunstar, you really couldn't compare them, the Sunstar is far superior. The staff did not seem "on it" at the Ferienart. When we checked out not once did anyone ask us if we had had a good stay, yes the manager, well we think he was the manager he seemed to be about first thing Monday morning but we had not seen him over the weekend, did say morning but there was no interaction what so ever, there was only Ingrid that wished us goodbye and shook our hands. One of the younger managers seemed pleasant. The restaurant manager was not particularly pleasant, it was maybe because we didn't partake of wine with our evening meal, he seemed to fuss round certain people. Thank goodness there were a few pleasant guests!! The hotel was not very busy though. We would have think twice about returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PARKER26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice Hotel if not a little predictable in it's design and decor. One thing that was a surprise (and we didn't really like) was the strange semi-open bathroom into the bedroom - not our kind of thing and a tad of a cliche in design terms. However, the place was very clean and the food was very good, particularly breakfast.

We booked fairly late for an extra break in advance of our main ski holiday with friends later in the season and got a goodish deal, the hotel staff we perfectly polite and helpful but without particulalry going out of their way - I guess it's just the different between a hotel and a catered chalet service which is what we are used to. All in all a good stay and good value without being remarkable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Upon arrival, we where treated with some drinks (wine for us and soft drinks for the kids), and where explained what to find where - and how it all worked in a very friendly matter.
Overall - all the staff was nice, friend and helpful as we had 3 kids - nothing was too much.
The staff is built up of an international crew, but all of them - no exceptions - where accommodating.

Rooms: We had a suite in the main building. All just perfectly in order. Clean, spacious (with 3 children)
Restaurant: The breakfasts are buffet style, and everything one desires is there. Dinners are served from a 3 choice set menu (for each course) , and are all delicious and brilliantly made. The waiters in the restaurant are friendly, brilliant and know what they are doing.
Spa. We only used the swimming pool which again is clean, safe for the kids and a joy to have around when you have smaller toddlers. a nice swim after a day at the pistes just completes the day. The pool closes for smaller children at 1800 so couples can also have nice quite time without any children.
Two small downsides (but nothing to reduce the excellent rating of the hotel) - the kids where in the kids club for a couple of days. The food given was nothing else than chicken nuggets with chips - 3 days in a row, and pasta with tomato sauce. A little bit more creativity would have been good for them, since they didn't eat at all. The same goes for the "enthusiasm" the entertainment team radiates. Though the kids didn't complain going there - so no issue.
The 2nd point is that the bar allows smoking after 2100hrs - which is not a big issue for me, but some people might find it annoying.
This place for sure is a 10 out of 10!! What a lovely place, we for sure will go back!!!!

Room Tip: If you have the cash - take the suites. Loads of space!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_d_dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had our post Valentine Celebration here and found the place very romantic and cozy. The place was really incredible! The service was top-notch and the location superb. The only thing that was a drawback was the steep price for the room we stayed at. Lucky for us, our tab was covered by a voucher from Land Rover... If you have the dough to spare, then this place will provide you the luxury that you are looking for,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MertonCabos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.2 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 48 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Glacier - The Dom Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferienart Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienart Resort & Spa

Property: Ferienart Resort & Spa
Address: Dorfweg 1 | 3906 Saas-Fee, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#17 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ferienart Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ferienart Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienart Resort And Spa
Ferienart Hotel Saas Fee
Ferienart Resort Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing