We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in magnificent mountain world” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferienart Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ferienart Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury in magnificent mountain world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

A one week skiing holiday with my wife and another couple became a total success thanks to the high standards of the Ferienart hotel. Top food and service, very nice pool and spa area and large comfortable room (Rainbow). Public areas were also very comfortable and we never felt crowded in spite of the size of the hotel. The peculiar open bathroom arrangement was, however, not the best soloution as it was a bit cold to step out from the shower and a bit too warm for sleeping. A large breakfast buffet with eggs cooked to order opened already at 7 AM allowing us to hit the slopes early for the fresh overnight snow. Pricy hotel, but this kind of luxury costs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank einarlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    115
    48
    33
    11
See reviews for
108
204
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romanshorn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

FERIEN RESORT & SPA SAAS-FEE SWITZERLAND
The Dryer in the Spa, the savory hors d'oeuvre on a Sunday Dinner, the unique bread shelves during breakfast, the feel at home fireplace, the luxurious bath tub and high end toilet bowl from Geberit, “Wallo” (the hotel’s “Hausgeist”) since the last 128 years, plus the friendly & nice service from the staff…these were my impressions during our 3-day stay at Ferien Resort & Spa in Saas-Fee.
Surrounded by 13 four-thousand-meter peaks, this 5-star hotel is dedicated to all Winter & Wellness Freaks out there. It is located 1,800 meters above sea level in the heart of car-free Saas-Fee. With Chalet-themed rooms and its 5 Restaurants (We were in Cäser Ritz for dinner and breakfast), it was a feeling of far away from home and yet we felt at home. The six-course choice menu during dinner was a winner which was accompanied by the best White Wines from the region.
There were some minor things though that needs to be improved. The Sauna should be supervised at all times (there were a lot of loud & noisy Germans during our stay) and they have to double check the fresh fruits being offered as (the apples tasted like fertilizer!)
Facilities Highlights: Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Gymnastics/work-out room, Spa, Solarium, Wi-Fi available (free), Internet access available in rooms.
Day Activity Tip: Take the The Alpin-Express aerial cableway up to Allalin (the world’s highest Metro). From there, you can enjoy stunning views of the Allalin (3,500 meters above sea level), the Jungfrau in the Bernese Alps and the Italian Alps. Don’t forget to bring your camera & jackets!!! Not only that, you could also enjoy your favorite tee at the Metro Alpin, the world’s highest revolving restaurant. And if you still have the energy and the time, marvel the magical world of ice at the “Eis Pavillon”, the world’s largest ice grotto!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tumfave815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chose to stay at the hotel as it offered certainty of skiing [glacier resort] as well as a very full range of spa facilities for my non skiing wife. We have stayed there before but not for the last three years.
We had opted for a South Facing room in the older part of the hotel. These are well furnished but a little 'dingier' than the new 'Rainbow' rooms in the newer building as they have lower ceilings and are 'deep' - giving a rather darker entrance area and bathrooms.
The food is always a highlight - althought you might not like the 'buffet' style of some evenings [fondue, starter and desert buffets each week require you to get up and select your own items from a really extensive choice].
We were particularly impressed by the Christmas Day Gala Dinner. This started at 19.00 with staff singing carols and then went through a six course dinner with each dish being, to us, of Michelin Star standard. It was venison for the main course and overall we thought the meal was more enjoyable [or food] that our previous Christmas day at Holbeck Gyll. Some thought service slow; we didn't considering the task being undertaken.
Each evening the house pianist played a wonderful selection of background music.
Breakfasts now offer a more extended choice of hot items including Rossti, making it easy to fill up prior to a hard day on the piste.
The rooms offered a very comfortable place to relax, our balcony facing the slopes/mountains offering fabulous views.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The taxi service to and from the slopes most days being really useful.
Less good is the service at the bar during the evenings pre dinner. More staff would have helped here.
As always the Swiss Franc makes any trip to Switzerland seem very expensive but the quality of what you get is usually high.

Room Tip: Old building has smaller rooms but with good views of the slopes from South and East facing sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife, our 7 years old kid and myself spent 2 nights in Ferienart Resort & Spa from 21-23 December 2012. We arrived at 1 pm by car, parked it in Terminal B parking in the entrance of Saas-Fee (as no cars are authorized in Saas-Fee, only electrical cars), then we called up the Hotel. An electrical vehicle came pretty fast to pick us up and drove us to the Hotel, where we could check in. We booked an Alpine Double room but were lucky enough to be upgraded upon arrival to the Wellness Suite number 463 (that was highly appreciated !), with south view, 2 huge balcony, 2 old style TV, a private fire place, 2 separate rooms . As we could not access our Suite before 2 pm, we went for a long walk inside Saas-Fee village, white a lot of snow all around.
The best in this Hotel is definitively the SPA area. There is a huge heated pool, with a jacuzzi, turkish bath, sauna and others relaxing places that you can enjoy, but nude ! Be aware that on most of the saunas, you must enter without bathing costum and it can disturb some people who don't want to show themselves nude in front of others. Then, you can loose the possibility to enjoy fully the SPA area.. This point should be reviewed by Hotel Management, as it is not normal that only 1 place is authorized with bathing costum !!!
The food of the main restaurant was ok but really nothing more. We were even a little bit disappointed as the food was never salty enough or had excellent taste in the mouth, well it is my personnal point of view.
The Wellness Suite number 463 was very well located, but the furnitures are quite "old styled" and you don't really have this feeling to stay inside your room, unless you light up the fire place and have a cup of champain on the balcony.

So, to resume, we found out that :

Positive points :
-------------------
1) SPA area is great, clean, with a lot of facilities and towels available.
2) South view with balcony is a must to enjoy the view on the mountains around Saas-Fee.
3) Staff attitude was always helpful, smiing, friendly and professional.
4) Welcome drink received upon arrival.
5) Free transfer from parking Terminal A or B to Hotel and vice versa.

Points to be improved :
-----------------------------
1) SPA area should allow guests with bathing costum to access fully the sauna/turkish bath area without discrimination.
2) Food generally speaking could be improved, not salty enough and not very tasty.
3) The glass door of our shower was not closing correctly inside Wellness Suite number 463.
4) The salt cellar on our table was broken and not replaced unless we asked for a new one after 2 days...
5) Dogs are authorized inside the Hotel, which I find not aceptable for a 5 stars Hotel, due to hygienical reason and sometimes noise produced.
6) Hairdryer inside our Suite should be changed for a newer model which doesn't need the button ON/OFF having to be pushed at all times...
7) Check in is not granted before 2 pm, so do not come in advance...
8) Pillows, even if 3 different kind of, were not hard enough to sleep correctly.

Well, that's it. I will soon add some photos so that you can have a clear idea of how the Hotel looks like and you can also see 2 HD videos on www.youtube.com, subject being: "otterboris".

We will come back to this Hotel, but some of the points mentionned above should be improved !

.

Room Tip: Ask for a south view room, higher possible floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank otterboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
422 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here with the family in August. We took 4 rooms between 7 of us. The rooms were quite varied and I'm still confused as to what we booked versus what we got - still everyone was happy.

The hotel staff were excellent and the dining was extremely good for a packaged hotel. I very much enjoyed my stay.

Why not a 5 star rating. The food and the staff deserve a 5 star rating, but for me, the rooms were not at that standard. While I had the best of the 4 rooms, it didn't have what I would call a 5 star feel - small, non flat screen TV with virtually no international channels; furniture on the verandah that was past it's useful date and a number of similar small items that add up. To get 5 stars from me - the hotel also has to feel special.

Also, while the staff really tried and were exemplary at all times, there were service delays in the restaurant that are not really good enough.

I would stay again and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I can not fault this amazing hotel - the staff are articulate in many languages and make time to make each guest feel welcome and special. (Even when full). Stunning pool and relaxation experiences.
Food is divine!
Rooms are spacious and clean and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTut_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went to the Ferien Art with my wife and kids 7 and 8. The hotel was recommended to us by friends. Upon arrival they pick you up at the parking terminal as no cars are allowed in the village. We were welcome by a drink and received some basic information. We had a family suite but the TV was missing in the parent room. The shower and bathroom are surrounded by glass window so you do not have any privacy. The Hotel and especially the restaurant were clearly understaffed, even if the employee were trying to do their best, we had to wait an hour between the plates, which was very difficult for the kids. The Hotel is playing on to many chapters, bikes, kids activities, all inclusive, multiple restaurants, fitness, cookies buffet, sport shop.. but except the Spa nothing is really great. They were 4-5 bikes in front of the door, not at our size so we could not use them. The small kids room is made for kids up to 3-4 years old max, all other kids have limited activities. The cleaning of the room in the morning and the beds were not well done, in a five star ! At the breakfast you better be earlier as 9.30-10 am as they were no more juices, no more croissant... again understaffed. The hotel does not have a nice big terrace and garden but three small terraces where you do not want to seat. After three nights we have left the hotel without having a word with the GM, which is very suprising for a boutique five stars hotel. Maybe we had too high expectations before coming, but when you consider the price we paid, they were legitimate. If you go to Saas Fee, I would recommend that you stay in a nice four stars hotel. Finally , thank you to Eddy, for the wine tasting.

Skywalker, Switzerland

Room Tip: Take a room with a view on the glacier
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.3 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 48 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 48 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunstar Hotel  Beau-Site
Sunstar Hotel Beau-Site
#10 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#9 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#12 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferienart Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienart Resort & Spa

Property: Ferienart Resort & Spa
Address: Dorfweg 1 | 3906 Saas-Fee, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#17 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ferienart Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ferienart Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienart Resort And Spa
Ferienart Hotel Saas Fee
Ferienart Resort Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing