We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING - TRULLY OUTSTANDING - definitely worth every penny! 10/10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ferienart Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I can not fault this amazing hotel - the staff are articulate in many languages and make time to make each guest feel welcome and special. (Even when full). Stunning pool and relaxation experiences.
Food is divine!
Rooms are spacious and clean and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTut_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 512 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went to the Ferien Art with my wife and kids 7 and 8. The hotel was recommended to us by friends. Upon arrival they pick you up at the parking terminal as no cars are allowed in the village. We were welcome by a drink and received some basic information. We had a family suite but the TV was missing in the parent room. The shower and bathroom are surrounded by glass window so you do not have any privacy. The Hotel and especially the restaurant were clearly understaffed, even if the employee were trying to do their best, we had to wait an hour between the plates, which was very difficult for the kids. The Hotel is playing on to many chapters, bikes, kids activities, all inclusive, multiple restaurants, fitness, cookies buffet, sport shop.. but except the Spa nothing is really great. They were 4-5 bikes in front of the door, not at our size so we could not use them. The small kids room is made for kids up to 3-4 years old max, all other kids have limited activities. The cleaning of the room in the morning and the beds were not well done, in a five star ! At the breakfast you better be earlier as 9.30-10 am as they were no more juices, no more croissant... again understaffed. The hotel does not have a nice big terrace and garden but three small terraces where you do not want to seat. After three nights we have left the hotel without having a word with the GM, which is very suprising for a boutique five stars hotel. Maybe we had too high expectations before coming, but when you consider the price we paid, they were legitimate. If you go to Saas Fee, I would recommend that you stay in a nice four stars hotel. Finally , thank you to Eddy, for the wine tasting.

Skywalker, Switzerland

Room Tip: Take a room with a view on the glacier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Ferienart is one of the few hotels in the world we can recommend without reservation. We have been going there for twelve years and we are not the only customers who think so highly of it that they return again and again. Despite the punishing rise in cost due to the exchange rate, Ferienart retains our loyalty because the outstanding welcome, customer care, food , ambience and spa make it irresistible. It retains its old world Swiss charm while providing the best of modern service and comfort. The food is always delicious and innovative; the spa has been cleverly constructed in the heart of the hotel without impinging on the rest of the hotel environment and offers a luxurious array of treatments , saunas etc clustered around a very large and beautiful pool with a roaring log fire at its centre! It is family owned and run and regularly wins national awards for its staff development, green agenda as well as its food. Pearl of the Alps is how the tourist authorities describe Saas Fee, one of the few relatively unspoiled ski destinations in Switzerland. It could be just as aptly applied to the Ferienart.
Not cheap but most definitely excellent value for money. We have never been in the summer but imagine that it would be an equally good experience.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room in the original part of the old hotel ( it was once called the Walliserhof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicity459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel in march 2012. We had a wonderfulll time in saas fee.

This is a very good hotel. The spa is incredible. The staff is great (I have to point out that the apprentice do a great job !). But this is definitely not a 5 stars hotel.
Here is why :

- The sheets were stained. Clean, but some stained do not go away in the washing machine. Although it is not a problem for a 3 stars hotel, in a five stars hotel you expect not to find things like this.

- the Shower hose was improperly fixed to the wall and you had to keep it in your hand to take a shower. Although it is not a problem for a 3 stars hotel, in a five stars hotel you expect not to find things like this.

- The wardrobe door was squeaky, as was the lift to go to our room. Although it is not a problem for a 3 stars hotel, in a five stars hotel you expect not to find things like this.

- the restaurant "le vernissage" offered a really poor service, even though they were only 4 tables that night. We waited for more than 60 minutes on our meal, which turned out to be disappointing for us. The waiter skipped the cheese part of the menu, which was included, without explanation. Note that the main restaurant "Cäzar ritz" was really great and worth the 5 stars.

- The billing was wrong, and included many small mistakes, all of them in the hotel's favour. These mistakes were corrected, but there was no apology or commercial gesture.


The breakfast, however, was great.
The staff is usually great too.
It looks like the hotel owner is focused on making money, and does not hesitate to cut corners for this.

If you go there you will have a very good time . But you could get the same confort for half the price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moogly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ferienart in February. It was the first time we stayed at a 5 star hotel in Switzerland since we usually go for 4 star hotels when we are skiing in the alps. The hotel was a least one class better in all aspects compared to the previous hotels we stayed at.

We were mostly impressed by the food. The restaurant served a great number of dishes every night and each and every dish was delicious. The service in the restaurant was perhaps not perfect all nights but the service personnel were very kind and most of the time the service was excellent.

Also the pool and sauna areas were fantastic and one of the best we have been to. There is a nice open fire just beside the pool. We had a suite located on the other side of hotel compared to the pool area. If possible I would recommend to try to get a room above the pool area. Then you can take the elevator down to the pool area and you do not need to go through the reception area on the way to the pool.

The rooms were very nice . Especially the bathrooms and the shower. We had a big Jacuzzi in the bedroom which is a bit odd. Some might find this very romantic and the hotel has a number of packages which may even increase the romantic feeling. As one author previously wrote I would recommend you to stay at this hotel with your wife and family and not with a collegue. We did not try the jacuzzi nor the packages since the pool area was so fantastic.The beds were maybe a bit hard, but my wife who usually sleeps bad in hotels had a good nights sleep every night. The room was very quite and we did not hear any sound from other rooms or the reception area although we stayed at the second floor.

The hotel is located 4-5 minutes from the Alpine Express which is one of the major lifts in Saas Fee. The week we were skiing there were never any queues to talk about. We rented equipment by the lift and walked to the lift which was a very good idea since the hotel transfer only went every 15 minutes.

Also I would recommend you to try the afternoon tea. The different pastries are just as excellent as the other food at the hotel. The pastries are included, but the tea is not.

We really did enjoy our time at the hotel. Since it was quite cold when we were in Saas Fee we spent more time at the hotel than we usually do when we are in the alps and therefore it was very nice to stay at such a great hotel.

Room Tip: If you are interested to go to the pool area I would recommend you to choose a room above the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoy_best_of_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a good hotel overall. The rooms are warm and comfortable if perhaps a little formulaic. Very clean, genteel communal areas and a spa that is genuinely world-class. For no obvious reason, the main restaurant seems to struggle with service and can easily take an hour and a half for the evening meal. Drinks are very expensive including tap water at 9 CHF a bottle! Quality of food is however superior.

Helpful and friendly service generally with very welcome shuttle buggy to take you through the village.

The spa is simply superb both for adults and children with a sensible curfew for kids at 6pm. Over 6 separate saunas!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalcombeSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

WE stayed at the Ferienart hotel in Saas-fee last summer. First of all, the staff was very welcoming, we even had a welcome drink which was very appreciated. We also got a pickup from the parking in a nice panoramic shuttle which let us admire the setting.

the hotel is top class, magnificent swiss architecture, very charming. There are many restaurants in the hotel too. Breakfast was very nice and good. I appreciated the fresh orange juice.
The rooms are very nice and charming and the spa is gorgeous. the hotel is very well located with a beautiful view.

I highly recommend Ferienart, we were v satisfied !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovetotravel155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#6 of 47 in Saas-Fee
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 47 in Saas-Fee
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#15 of 47 in Saas-Fee
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#5 of 47 in Saas-Fee
300 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 47 in Saas-Fee
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferienart Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienart Resort & Spa

Address: Dorfweg 1, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#14 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range: $244 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ferienart Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ferienart Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienart Resort And Spa
Ferienart Hotel Saas Fee
Ferienart Resort Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing