We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but not quite "Boutique" Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very nice but not quite "Boutique" Hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

On the hotel website the Sunstar markets itself as a "Boutique Hotel" which we found slightly exagereted. Don't get me wrong, the hotel is lovely, centrally located on Saas Fee main pedestrian street, the reception staff is vey friendly, the sleeping quality was outstanding with excellent mattress and duvet. The decor of the hotel is a bit old fashioned, some of it slightly our of taste (grand ma kind of garden statues in the coridors. The spa area was all right but not spectacular, a bit dark and small. As you walk donw the corridor to get to your rooms, the damp smell of the pool downstairs is not entirely pleasant. This is why this is not "Boutique" to me.
The breakfast was nice so was also the balcony in the bedroom and the outside very large terrace.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchfrog39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    44
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
53
39
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

After booking a family room, we were surprised to see the price rise dramatically on arrival as we had a child with us. Clearly a mix-up with the booking system (why would we book a family room if we weren't bringing a family?). The receptionist said she would try to resolve the issue and get back to us with an explanation at least. She never did and we ended up just paying. The room itself was north-facing, dark and dingy offering a 'mountain view' that consisted of a noisy building site, rendering use of the balcony impossible/unbearable. This was before we got our heads round the fact the balcony was off the bathroom - not very practical when people need the toilet (!). The TV in the children's room didn't work. Was reported, but not repaired. Breakfast was poor and the pool, while nice, only has room for four people to sit around so was often awkward. Staff were nowhere near as friendly as other reviews have suggested and on the one day the builders stopped drilling/banging, the hotel beer garden was taken over by noisy football fans in town for a tournament. Only plus was that the room was clean. Been to Saas Fee before and was disappointed to see it being over-developed; summer is obviously the 'building' season and there were cranes/builders everywhere working on ever-larger hotels. Despite the beautiful backdrop, it looked a bit like a Swiss version of 1970's Benidorm at times; very sad. Given the way the noise travels from these building sites, if you're hoping for peace and quiet, think again I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Insist on a room at the front, or else you will spend your time in darkness looking at a building si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Staffordwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The welcome we received, the service, the cleanliness, the hospitality were all outstanding in this exceptional hotel in Saas Fee. I would recommend this establishment to anyone. It is very friendly and the Swiss National Dress is in evidence. All of the staff are extremely helpful and smile, as if there is an enjoyment in serving you. Klause H runs the establishment very professionally but understands how important you are, the customer.
We were on the forth floor in a suite which was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The lift goes to the third floor only but this does not cause any problem. The menu is in English, German and French but any problems you have can easily be overcome. All staff speak English and many other languages. Breakfasts are of a very high standard and with very many choices. Remember to add time to boil an egg as the altitude of Saas Fee is 1850 m. We will return.

Room Tip: 4th Floor is best and several suites are available. Boil the eggs for breakfast for at least 9 minu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelseaMike_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus H, Manager at Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Daer ChelseaMike_13

Thank you so much for the nice feedback. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope you have had a good trip to Brissago.

We're really looking forward to see you next year.

With kind regards

Klaus & the team of Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau Site Saas Fee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We are staying in the family suite with 2 small children. One of the attractions was the wood stove in the separate living room that was advertised on the Web. Wanting to light this over a glass of wine with the kids in bed, we were informed that the hotel chef would need to light this personally at a 25 Swiss Franc fee (same as the dollar). Ridiculous, especially given the price of the suite! But in line with the general level of quality such as the skimpy breakfast buffet and flat pillows.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank NTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

spent 4 nights in sunstar hotel. great staff, great food. we took our 40 kilo Bernese Mountain dog and she had a great time too. A staff member took her for long afternoon walks while we skied. I highly recommend this hotel, for a family, a couple, business, or going with friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus H, Manager at Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you very much for the great feedback. We're very happy that you have had a perfect time with us. For Desiree it was a pleasure to have a walk with your dog Remy every day.

With kind regards
The whole Sunstar Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Sunstar Boutique Hotel Saas Fee

Hard to fault this hotel.  Just two minutes walk from the Saas Fee bus terminal near the centre of the small town. They offer to meet you at the bus terminal but it was easy to find it on my own, being on one of the main streets.  The train from Geneva Airport to Visp is about 2 hours 30 minutes and the bus from Visp to Saas Fee is about 50 minutes and I didn't find the trip too bad.  Although the hotel offers a regular shuttle I walked to the lifts each day, just 10/15 minutes to the Alpin Express. I had a single room which is up on the top floor.  Spacious and with everything you might need.  Good wifi included in the price and a free minibar. Just one of each, beer, coke, orange, apple, still and sparkling water but a very nice touch. And replenished each day.  There are a couple of small supermarkets very nearby for anything else.  Plenty of TV channels to chose from including a few English news and BBC Entertainment.  On a sunny day the terrace is a fantastic place for a late lunch or drink.  A real sun trap.  Some of the rooms also have nice sunny little balconies though mine didn't.  Breakfast was good with all the usual cold and hot options. Staff very helpful.  The decor is a bit OTT Swiss (cowbells in the hallways and an old milk churn outside my room) but the waitresses do look smart dressed as milk maids.  You could never forget which country you are in. Wellness area included small hot (29 degree) pool (lounging rather than swimming) and nude sauna and steam rooms.  Small but very few people around when I was there (I stayed midweek in mid March). Amazing given the reputation Saas Fee has and the fact the snow was good and the sun was shinning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was recommended the Sunstar chain of hotels by a friend and I must say, I was not disappointed! The hotel is built in a traditional style with ornate decoration in the main areas and cosy wood panelling. I was travelling alone with my 4 year old daughter and this hotel is great for kids as well. They even have a childrens playroom!

Location - ideally situated about a 5 minute walk from the train station. Although there are no cars in Saas-Fee, the hotel does provide a small taxi shuttle service for free on request. Make sure you book this in winter because the streets have snow on them which makes pulling your luggage a real problem! The hotel is also conviniently situated about a 5 minute walk from the main ski slopes. There are many shops and restaurants right near the hotel as well and a pharmacy and supermarket right opposite.

Rooms - Spotlessly clean! Comfortable beds. Very nice sized bathroom with hairdryer, bath and shower. Lovely touch are the bathrobes and slippers. Free wifi. Room service is great as well.

Hotel Facilities - There is a Spa which offers massage and is open from 3-8pm. There is also an indoor pool and jacuzzi. The kids playroom is situated on the ground floor just next to the lounge area. The hotel booked our ski passes and ski lessons for us which was really convinient. There is also a free hotel shuttle to the ski slopes.

Breakfast - absolutely amazing! Buffet consisted of cereal, toast, eggs, bacon, sausages, pastries and every coffee you can think of! Very good service as well.

The staff are very efficient and helpful although there was one who let the team down with her poor attitude which was a real pity.

I will definately be returning to this wonderful hotel again!

Room Tip: We had room 66 which has a lovely balcony overlooking the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaus H, Manager at Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear globalgirlLondon
Thank you very much for that good feedback. It was a pleasure to have you here. Hope your journey back home was fine. In the main time we got lots of snow and there is just sun all the day. It becomes a bit warmer and we're now happy to serve on our terrasse.
It would be with a big pleasure to welcoming you again.

With kind regards

The whole Sunstar Beau-Site team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#1 of 48 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#10 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#7 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site

Property: Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
Address: Obere Dorfstrasse 30, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Saas-Fee
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saas-Fee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Saas-Fee
#15 Family Hotel in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site Saas-Fee is in the centre of this car-free glacier village, set amid wonderful mountain scenery. The historic features of the hotel blend harmoniously with its elegant décor and modern conveniences. The rooms are spacious and luxuriously fitted out, and no two are the same. All rooms have been tastefully decorated using local timbers, fine fabrics and top-quality materials. Those in certain categories have a balcony. A friendly and attentive team of staff provides hospitality with a personal touch. Gourmets are treated to speciality dishes in the homely "La Ferme" restaurant and in the "Fee Chäller". The stylish lounge with its open fireplace is an inviting place to round off the day in good company. For soothing relaxation, there is also a small but smart spa centre, with indoor pool, sauna, thermal baths and massage treatments. Saas-Fee and the surrounding area offer numerous opportunities for excursions and adventure for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Beau Site
Romantik Hotel Saas Fee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing