We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic steak house, warm, alpine and a nice get away from all the traditional "ski town chintz"”

Restaurant Chuestall
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed February 3, 2019

This place did not disappoint and we had a great meal, a great choice of food and the decor is a combination of Swiss chalet and modern contemporary, well worth a visit if you want a change from the ubiquitous red and white gingham check, doilies, fondue and chintz. It is still really cosy and warm, but done in a more contemporary way. Some real innovative touches and dining was a pleasure and totally un-rushed.

Three course, a bottle of red and coffee was around CHF 150 which is pretty good round here/Switzerland. And I would have paid more for the quality.

One thing that must be said - this is a 10 minutes walk up the hill out of town (town is small so it is not far....but it has to be mentioned). If there are elderly people in your party, there are a lot of slopes/steps to get to it. It is also not that easy to find - following google took us to the back of the restaurant and we arrived though a block of flats entrance/back door by luck, but we left through the front door and for some reason totally missed it.

Would definitely go back - not to be missed if you like good dining and want a bit of a change from fondue/Swiss/Chalet stuff.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank MattPWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2019

We have been coming to Saas Fee since 2004. We were looking for a new restaurant to add to an additional night for our stay. We saw where Chuestall was rated well on Trip Advisor so spent our last night enjoying our meal there.

It is a bit of a climb to get to the restaurant but well worth it. The service and food were exceptional. Much of the restaurant diet in Saas Fee tends to be starches and cheese (which we love) but Chuestall prides themselves on meat selections. We were all very pleased with our meal.

I had the Limoncello Sorbet for dessert and I would go back just for that!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

Trendy place a bit on the outside of Saas Fee with a steep hill to climb up to get there. the food and the atmosphere are excellent. staff are friendly and welcoming. We came to town for 5 days between Xmas and new year and were lucky enough to be able to get a table on our first and last evening! Reservations are recommended!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mirjam1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

Saas fee is a magical place and now I have discovered without any doubt the best meat restaurant in the world. Forget simmental steak, limousin or even wagyu. If you have not tasted the bone dried swiss race meat here you will never know what quality meat is. The hospitality is superb and the setting is cosy but classy. As for the price; quality has a price.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Hans_7ants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

Most of the furniture in this stylish restaurant are home-made by host Rainer. His wife swiftly stirs things in the kitchen. Here you can eat an authentic (raclette) cheese meal coupled with tasty meat dishes (lamb and beef were perfectly cooked) and a must-try vulcano chocolate cake. We would rate this deli restaurant with 4.5 points and recommend it to our friends.

Only drawbacks: customers who are wheelchair-bound (difficult access) as well as vegetarians might find better places in Saas-Fee.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 833fabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chuestall also viewed

Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Grund, Saas-Fee
 

Been to Restaurant Chuestall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing