We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Skiing Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Hotel Ambassador

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saas-Fee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Ambassador
Save
You added Chalet Hotel Ambassador to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Skiing Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a fab ski holiday staying at the Ambassador. This was the first time we had used TotalSki but we certainly use them agian. All the staff were very good. The food was excellent and nice to see the chef come out to see us every evening. The location was great some of the best apres ski bars just a few steps away. The nearest lifts just a short walk away and you ski back opposite the hotel. We met some great people this year which made the holiday very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a shocking week weather wise, but a truly amazing week at the ambassador hotel! Food was great, friendly staff and lots of beer served by Tom the bar man, a guy that made our holiday being extremely friendly and an asset to ski total! I would like to thank Tristan the manager being professional throughout our stay and Bram for having a SPLENDID personality! Finally Bradley the pot washer for being so friendly, a really nice guy!

Overall I totally recommend the ambassador hotel, being the second time we as a group have stayed there!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulHoskyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A beautiful resort, lovely hotel and wonderful staff. The food and customer service was second to none, a perfect place to relax after a day on the slopes, totally recommended. Special thanks to Tom the barman, Tristan the hotel manager and Ben the head chef.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just got back from one of the best skiing trips I have ever had. The resort is beautiful and the hotel is in a great spot but it was the staff that made the holiday. An engaging friendly and helpful group of staff. Special thanks to the incredibly talented head chef Ben and Tristan the hotel manager who was always willing to go the extra mile. Also thanks to Tom for being a great bar man and showing us the best night spots and helping us invent some new cocktails.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Head Chef Ben is passionate about his food & has an obvious talent. Hotel Manager Tristian is always friendly & willing to help along with his team. Rooms are basic but clean & spacious. Location is superb. A party of 8 and all us were united in our praise. Ski Total really do have the A Team working here who never lose their utter & total professionalism in working towards their guests having the perfect ski holiday. Stayed week commencing 18th March

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the après ski bar opposite the front of the hotel. Whilst the music finishes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtnay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a really lovely skiing holiday, staying at this chalet hotel with Total Ski.

The Ambassador is in a terrific location. You could ski back to the other side of the road, & the ski lifts were only a very short walk away. Also the après bars, shopping & town amenities were a very short walk away in this beautiful car-free town. The town itself is an utter delight!

The hotel is clean, comfortable & cosy. The communal areas are very nice, with a roaring log fire & enough seating to accommodate all the guests (I think there were about 36 staying that week). Afternoon tea consisted of both sweet & savoury & always a homemade soup. Excellent!

The restaurant is very nice. The service was very good & the food excellent! A delicious variety of food with a couple of choices for starter & pudding, and a choice of 3 for the main. There was also a cheese course offered. Portions were appropriate & quality was very high indeed. Chef came out every night to speak to diners. A really professional set-up. Breakfast was very good too.

There is a sauna, hot tub & not very warm swimming pool in the basement. Only criticism here is the floor in this area gets very slippy when wet, so be prepared.

There is also a ski boot/room in the basement.

We were in room 23 which was a lovely, big, sunny room with a balcony, loads of storage space, hooks, shelves, double bed (2 singles pushed together), sofa, chair, table, desk. Nice big bathroom with double wash basins, bath, shower & WC. There was always plenty of hot water. Yes, the decor is dated, but it is of a very high standard & still looks well kept/maintained. Afterall, you don't go skiing for hotel decor do you! Room was quiet & there was no noise from neighbours, people in communal areas or from outside.

We were very impressed with Total Ski. It was our first time with them, although we have been with Inghams whom I understand are part of the same group. Total Ski were better in my opinion: A young, but very professional staff.

I was unwell on my holiday with a chest infection, & I can confirm that I was very well looked after by the staff who were very forthcoming with offers to help. If I hadn't been ill, this would have been one of the nicest skiing holidays we've had.

Switzerland/Saas Fee is VERY expensive, but because breakfast & afternoon tea was so good at the hotel, we did not need to spend much on the mountain for lunch.

Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtaFitGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had a perfect week skiing 10th to 17th March.
The Chalet Hotel Ambassador is superb. Great location, 4 mins to be able to put on your skis and you can normally ski back to within 2 mins.
The Ski Total staff were brilliant and the food was very good other than the chicken which all of us,12, agreed was not 'proper' chicken.
Other than that I would recommend both the hotel and resort, provided you do not want a massive aggressive ski area.
Lovely reds and a half dozen blacks with nice blues as well and a lovely day out to the runs at Saas-Grund.
Good lively apres ski bars nearby and plenty of restaurants for the 1 day the staff have off.
My mate also went to this hotel in the summer of 2012 and also had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJF199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#3 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#2 of 52 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#14 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#1 of 52 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popcorn Hotel
Popcorn Hotel
#13 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#8 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Ambassador

Property: Chalet Hotel Ambassador
Address: Postfach 149, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 208

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing