We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Ecellent, Excellent”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saas-Fee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday in Saas Fee. All hotel staff amazingly helpful, nothing was to much trouble. Rooms clean and welcoming, Food excellent and plentiful, wine great and flowed thoughout the meal. Breakfast filling for a days skiing with a welcoming afternoon tea of hot soup, nibbles and cakes after a hard day of skiing, with canapes and drinks to follow before a hearty excellent meal Ben and his team roled out to us. Excellent well done (put on about a half a stone). The only wish maybe i had was the fire wasn't lit in the lounge which on the last few really cold days would of been even cosier especially when the slopes were closed due to heavy snowfall and we spent the last day in the hotel. Geneva airport was slow, in and out, thought the swiss would of been better organised.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 121 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just returned from a week long ski trip in Jan 2013 at Saas Fee, staying at this lovely chalet hotel. I can confirm the food is fantastic right through from breakfast (hot & cold choices), to afternoon tea (inc cake and soup!) followed by canapes and evening meal with unlimited wine. By the end of the week several of our party were reluctantly skipping courses as despite expending energy on the slopes and in the pool we still could not summon up sufficient appetite to keep up. As mentioned, chef Ben deserves particular praise for his imaginative and varied menu as well as his obvious enthusiasm for food and is clearly someone to watch out for. Likewise, nothing was too much trouble for the young team of staff who made us all so welcome and were quite inspiring. The hotel interior is indeed homely rather than plush, but the rooms are very spacious rooms and kept spotlessly clean. The hotel is in a good location for the ski school and lower runs/button lifts as well as accessing the higher slopes. The pool is on the cool side though staff explained that this was a local legal requirement and there is a jacuzzi and lovely sauna. We were advised that the dining area could be somewhat drafty though it was fine. In contrast the bedrooms were extremely hot and we Brits who like our cosy central heating had to request for it to be turned down. Due to location the resort can be lacking in sunshine, but again it was January and coming from the UK it was quite frankly nice to see any sun at all - and sunshine or not nothing beats sitting in a little mountain cafe, drinking hot chocolate and looking out at the stunning scenery. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbunnydevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013. Cold outside but lovely and warm inside. The food was amazing, beds great and pillows.Chef Ben is fabulous. Best food ever. Staff are lovely, all good and so helpful. Plus side, good value and a great atmosphere, would come again. Downside, pool and jacuzzi luke warm or cold. Fire should be lit daily, hey guys minus 17. Not a lot of sun, but an amazing place, loved it. Would recommend to anyone. Well done! Minus is the toboggan run, seriously dangerous. Do it at your risk. Pleased to be on the ground. Thank you to all. Hope you do well, you all deserve it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyRohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable stay at this British tour company run hotel. The young staff were all superb. We benefited from having a pleasant large family room with extra sofa bed(headboard a little irrating!). The highlight was the quality of the food from the porridge and bananas in the morning, soup and canapes with coffee and tea in the afternoon (particularly welcome) and the 3 course meal with free wine in the evening. Worthy of particular mention were head chef Ben, assistant manager Bram and manager Tristan. The generally shady ski resort (at this time of the year) although a trip was made pleasurable by trips across to Saas Grund
on the bus.

Room Tip: get a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craftycockney6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

From arrival, it was clear that nothing was going to be too much trouble for the staff at this Ski Total managed hotel which is situated near the lifts in the pretty town of Saas Fee. The rooms were very spacious, and if a little tired, were very comfortable indeed.
Meals began with breakfast (a cooked option of full English was available before 9.00am) and although the next offering was not until 4.00pm, lunch wasn't an absolute necessity. The afternoon tea consisted of savoury and sweet offerings with soup. Fanastic! Pre-dinner canapes and aperitifs were served at 7.00 to 7.30 with dinner following at 7.50pm. Dinner, with unlimited wine (a choice from at least five types) was excellent. Each day there was a good choice and the quality was top draw. For me, the food was brilliantly seasoned as well - very unusual from my experience. Attentive waiting staff added even more pleasure to the experience (thanks Alex and John for keeping my glass full!)
The bar was also very well and pleasantly run by Tom. The management of the hotel was amongst the best I have experienced - attentive and responsive. Ski Total's staff selection and training must be extremely effective as I have never had any (even minor) complaints with their staff.
Personally, despite the above, I won't be returning but this has nothing whatsoever do do with the hotel or staff.I didn't really like the skiing area or lift system and although the snow was excellent, the lifts are not very well linked and the options for routes down were not as good as I have experienced elsewhere (Courchevel is far, far better at about the same cost of living). The sun was also conspicuous by its absence but then it was January!

Room Tip: We had room 33 which gave us a view of the mountains and runs down into Saas Fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank colbrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a difficult review to write as the Ambassador is a 'Chalet Hotel' and thus can't be directly compared with conventional hotels, nor with catered chalets.

The building itself (of 1980s construction) is ideally situated within the resort of Saas Fee, being almost adjacent to the main ski-out area, ski school meeting points and lifts, as well as being just yards from the town's main street of shops, bars etc. The fittings are a little elderly which is perfectly acceptable in the 'Chalet' context, but might raise eyebrows in a conventional hotel. However, the rooms are large and comfortable and the on-site pool, spa and sauna are welcome. (The pool is rather chilly, but apparently its temperature is regulated by Swiss law!)

Where the hotel really wins is in its local management and staff. I have rarely if ever come across a more enthusiastic and helpful set of people as Tristan (General Manager) and his team at the Ambassador. This is particularly impressive given that they are working within the constraints imposed by Ski Total. Given a free rein I am confident that the service provided would improve yet further and would allow them to address the niggles that prevented me from awarding the full 5 stars.

On the down-side, dinner service was a bit slow (probably a 'Chalet' thing, as are shared tables and a single sitting) and portion sizes are not generous (probably a 'Total' thing). The menus are ambitious and were usually delivered to high standard though sometimes let down by details such as cold plates and over-seasoning. Unlimited wine is provided with dinner, though a smaller quantity of better quality wine would have been preferable. The hotel has a nice enough bar area with a most enthusiastic barman, but who again is working within constraints imposed by Total. Thus the only beer available is a rather nasty tin of lager priced similarly to a far superior selection at the elegant bar just across the bridge.

In summary, a really great place to spend a week's holiday and certainly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLJDOGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

As previously stated this chalet hotel is managed in winter by Ski Total, we did have some problems with the administration and communication of Ski Total culminating with us spending nearly an hour in the arrival hall at Geneva airport looking for a rep. We arrived at resort feeling very frustrated but the welcome we received from Tristram the hotel manager very quickly lifted the spirits. The Ambassador is dated but it is comfortable, warm, clean and the bedrooms are very large with constant hot water for that badly needed bath or shower. It is also well positioned for accessing the slopes, lifts and shops. The food is outstanding, Ben may be a young chef but the menus are imaginative and good quality, there is a cooked option at breakfast, after skiing there is soup, cake and a savoury nibble, in the evening before dinner there is an aperitif and hors d'oeuvres and for evening meal there is a good choice of food and plenty of wine. All the staff were exceptional, it was very much a 'Can do and Will do' attitude, nothing was too much trouble, Ski Total are very fortunate to have such a committed team working at The Ambassador.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.5 mi away
The Capra Saas-Fee
The Capra Saas-Fee
#3 of 47 in Saas-Fee
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 47 in Saas-Fee
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#13 of 47 in Saas-Fee
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#6 of 47 in Saas-Fee
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 47 in Saas-Fee
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Ambassador

Address: Postfach 149, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range: $93 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 208

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing