We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Hotel Ambassador
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Marmotte(Saas-Fee)(Great Value!)
$134
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alpin(Saas-Fee)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
95
23
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
23
3
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 121 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013. Cold outside but lovely and warm inside. The food was amazing, beds great and pillows.Chef Ben is fabulous. Best food ever. Staff are lovely, all good and so helpful. Plus side, good value and a great atmosphere, would come again. Downside, pool and jacuzzi luke warm or cold. Fire should be lit daily, hey guys minus 17. Not a lot of sun, but an amazing place, loved it. Would recommend to anyone. Well done! Minus is the toboggan run, seriously dangerous. Do it at your risk. Pleased to be on the ground. Thank you to all. Hope you do well, you all deserve it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyRohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable stay at this British tour company run hotel. The young staff were all superb. We benefited from having a pleasant large family room with extra sofa bed(headboard a little irrating!). The highlight was the quality of the food from the porridge and bananas in the morning, soup and canapes with coffee and tea in the afternoon (particularly welcome) and the 3 course meal with free wine in the evening. Worthy of particular mention were head chef Ben, assistant manager Bram and manager Tristan. The generally shady ski resort (at this time of the year) although a trip was made pleasurable by trips across to Saas Grund
on the bus.

Room Tip: get a family room
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craftycockney6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

From arrival, it was clear that nothing was going to be too much trouble for the staff at this Ski Total managed hotel which is situated near the lifts in the pretty town of Saas Fee. The rooms were very spacious, and if a little tired, were very comfortable indeed.
Meals began with breakfast (a cooked option of full English was available before 9.00am) and although the next offering was not until 4.00pm, lunch wasn't an absolute necessity. The afternoon tea consisted of savoury and sweet offerings with soup. Fanastic! Pre-dinner canapes and aperitifs were served at 7.00 to 7.30 with dinner following at 7.50pm. Dinner, with unlimited wine (a choice from at least five types) was excellent. Each day there was a good choice and the quality was top draw. For me, the food was brilliantly seasoned as well - very unusual from my experience. Attentive waiting staff added even more pleasure to the experience (thanks Alex and John for keeping my glass full!)
The bar was also very well and pleasantly run by Tom. The management of the hotel was amongst the best I have experienced - attentive and responsive. Ski Total's staff selection and training must be extremely effective as I have never had any (even minor) complaints with their staff.
Personally, despite the above, I won't be returning but this has nothing whatsoever do do with the hotel or staff.I didn't really like the skiing area or lift system and although the snow was excellent, the lifts are not very well linked and the options for routes down were not as good as I have experienced elsewhere (Courchevel is far, far better at about the same cost of living). The sun was also conspicuous by its absence but then it was January!

Room Tip: We had room 33 which gave us a view of the mountains and runs down into Saas Fee.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank colbrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a difficult review to write as the Ambassador is a 'Chalet Hotel' and thus can't be directly compared with conventional hotels, nor with catered chalets.

The building itself (of 1980s construction) is ideally situated within the resort of Saas Fee, being almost adjacent to the main ski-out area, ski school meeting points and lifts, as well as being just yards from the town's main street of shops, bars etc. The fittings are a little elderly which is perfectly acceptable in the 'Chalet' context, but might raise eyebrows in a conventional hotel. However, the rooms are large and comfortable and the on-site pool, spa and sauna are welcome. (The pool is rather chilly, but apparently its temperature is regulated by Swiss law!)

Where the hotel really wins is in its local management and staff. I have rarely if ever come across a more enthusiastic and helpful set of people as Tristan (General Manager) and his team at the Ambassador. This is particularly impressive given that they are working within the constraints imposed by Ski Total. Given a free rein I am confident that the service provided would improve yet further and would allow them to address the niggles that prevented me from awarding the full 5 stars.

On the down-side, dinner service was a bit slow (probably a 'Chalet' thing, as are shared tables and a single sitting) and portion sizes are not generous (probably a 'Total' thing). The menus are ambitious and were usually delivered to high standard though sometimes let down by details such as cold plates and over-seasoning. Unlimited wine is provided with dinner, though a smaller quantity of better quality wine would have been preferable. The hotel has a nice enough bar area with a most enthusiastic barman, but who again is working within constraints imposed by Total. Thus the only beer available is a rather nasty tin of lager priced similarly to a far superior selection at the elegant bar just across the bridge.

In summary, a really great place to spend a week's holiday and certainly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLJDOGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

As previously stated this chalet hotel is managed in winter by Ski Total, we did have some problems with the administration and communication of Ski Total culminating with us spending nearly an hour in the arrival hall at Geneva airport looking for a rep. We arrived at resort feeling very frustrated but the welcome we received from Tristram the hotel manager very quickly lifted the spirits. The Ambassador is dated but it is comfortable, warm, clean and the bedrooms are very large with constant hot water for that badly needed bath or shower. It is also well positioned for accessing the slopes, lifts and shops. The food is outstanding, Ben may be a young chef but the menus are imaginative and good quality, there is a cooked option at breakfast, after skiing there is soup, cake and a savoury nibble, in the evening before dinner there is an aperitif and hors d'oeuvres and for evening meal there is a good choice of food and plenty of wine. All the staff were exceptional, it was very much a 'Can do and Will do' attitude, nothing was too much trouble, Ski Total are very fortunate to have such a committed team working at The Ambassador.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews