We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saas-Fee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The chalet catering includes a varied breakfast, packed lunch, afternoon tea, aperitifs and evening meal except for the day the staff have off. There was unlimited free wine with the evening meal. Tea and coffee was available at all times with herbal teas if required.The food was excellent with 3 choices of evening meal which you choose at breakfast time. The only critisism was that the flapjack in the packed lunch was too sweet. You are able to choose the contents of the rolls for lunch. It is difficult to see how they could provide such good food for the price paid.
Your table was allocated and was arranged so that you sat with different people at each meal which was a good way of getting to know people. You had the option of asking to sit with certain people or as a couple alone if you wished.
The staff were extremely helpful and efficient and hardworking.
The rooms had a small fridge which was very handy although the safes do not work. The room wasspacious and the bed comfortable. The bathroom had twin sinks and a shower above the bath. The water was slow to drain away which was reported so the maintenance crew could address it.
The transfer to the chalet from Geneva was by train and bus which was very efficientbut, a word of warning, on the train to Geneva airport a man attempted to take one of our groups suitcases from the luggage area just outside the carriage but we fortunately spotted him before he got off. It is better to keep your cases with you in the carriage where there is more storage space.
It was a splendid holiday and I unreservedly recommend the chalet.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are higher so the view is better in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sox033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-on-Avon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Enjoyed 7 days in this great resort and made use of the free lift pass now available in resort. Thoroughly enjoyed all meals at this hotel and a good quiet location. Staff very friendly and would definitely visit again to do some more walking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalcMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Have just returned from a short holiday at Chalet Hotel Ambassador in Saas Fee, Switzerland. This was our first experience of a Chalet hotel and we were nicely suprised. The flight by Swiss Air from City Airport, London was superbly hassle free, the rail trip followed by the short but exciting bus trip up to Saas Fee was also a pleasant experience. Being welcomed at the bus station, found a taxi to the hotel and being welcomed to a hot meal so late in the day was a great suprise.
The following day the meeting with the rep and the manager plus a guided walk around the special little town helped to clear the gloomy wet weather. The whole week continued on the same lines with several evenings of entertainment and superb cooking.
The trip home was equally enthralling.
The hotel itself could do with a good makeover hence the VG rating rather than the Exc. option.
In all a very enjoyable holiday helped by the generosity of the Saas Fee Chamber of Commerce or whoever authorising cost free travel within the whole valley.

Room Tip: As is usual in the Alps the view up the valley is the one to look for. Choose a room facing that dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ankor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. Our first experience of a chalet hotel. Everything was first rate and ALL the staff were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and the location superb.

Room Tip: All guests seemed very pleased with their rooms. Ours was 17 and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

An excellent holiday in the mountains of saas fee. The hotel was great, the staff helpful and the food outstanding. I will be recommending this to my friends and family and we hope to return. The organization of the food, breakfast, lunch and the outstanding dinner is run smoothly. The hotel is convenient for most of the lifts and village shopping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acmorris29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our week in the Chalet Hotel Ambassador from 27th June to 4th July was the second week of a two-centre holiday, the first week having been spent at the Sapiniere in Chamonix. We had spent a week at the Sapiniere last year so knew what to expect from chalet hotel accommodation. We highly recommend this for a walking holiday as the hotel provides a very good breakfast with hot options to get you off to a good start, and has tea and coffee on tap all day (and cakes at 4.30) which helps recovery from a day's walking, or whatever other activity has been undertaken, on your return, along with the indoor swimming pool. In addition, the hotel provides a pack lunch (most days), which we greatly appreciated. At breakfast, you choose your main meal for that evening, and can look forward to it all day! We cannot speak too highly of the catering - we were fortunate last year to have Michelle in charge of the kitchen at the Sapiniere, and we were more than delighted to find that she had moved on to the Chalet Ambassador for this summer season. Her dishes really are of an exceptionally high standard, both in taste and presentation - if she entered 'masterchef' she would win by miles!! The hotel itself is well positioned for many walks, is very comfortable with good size balconies, and the staff extremely attentive and efficient. Saas Fee is a pleasant little town - the free lift passes were a bonus this year, and we hope to return soon! Thank you, Paul & Team.

Room Tip: I believe the first floor has a larger balcony although this is shared. Our room (25) on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank matthewsgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the Ambassador for 2 weeks from 4-18th July. We had a wonderful holiday and rate it as one of our best European hols ever. The staff are welcoming friendly and helpful. The food (thanks Michelle & your team) was just as great as last year in Chamonix. Rooms are spacious if just a little tired round the edges but they are kept clean and the beds were very comfortable. The small fridge in the room was a bonus keeping our mixers & beer cool.

Peter is correct that some may not like to share tables but equally some of us thoroughly enjoy the experience and the chance to meet new people who obviously have an interest in walking and the great outdoors.

Saas Fee is a smashing place to stay we went to Zermatt for the day and were glad we were staying in Saas Fee. The free lift/bus passes are worth about £100 each per week.

I recommend the fly luggage system because you use trains & buses to get to Saas Fee and dragging large cases on & off the transport would not be much fun.

One small foot note, Swiss rail is not prefect! Our train back to Zurich airport broke down and we were eventually shunted to the next station had to get off and wait for the next train which ran 1 hour later. Fortunately we had allowed plenty of time and had no struggle to catch our flight.

So thanks Paul and all the staff, you did so well you may have to put up with us again.

Room Tip: If you want a lounger you must stay on the 1st floor but you will not then have a private balcony bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NorfolkSpinone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.1 mi away
Feehof Garni
Feehof Garni
#22 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#20 of 48 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Derby
Hotel Derby
#42 of 48 in Saas-Fee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#27 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saaserhof
Hotel Saaserhof
#15 of 48 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Ambassador

Property: Chalet Hotel Ambassador
Address: Postfach 149, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 208

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing