We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More traditional restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Ferme

Restaurant La Ferme
Ranked #12 of 62 Restaurants in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $52
Cuisines: Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: La Ferme is as much a part of Saas-Fee as the Leaning Tower is part of Pisa. Inside, it is decorated in traditional style, typical of the region, and you'll find a warm, cosy atmosphere where every detail has been thought about. Whether you come for coffee and a nice chat, an aperitif with friends or an elegant dinner, the young team at "La Ferme" will tempt you with simple but traditional fare or something truly special and delicious. Typical specialities of the Valais region Meat specialities - some old favourites and some unusual novelties Fondue Chinoise with homemade sauces - eat as much as you like On our sunshine terrace with its wonderful views of the glacier and the comings and goings on the village promenade, we serve a freshly prepared 3-course lunch every day or an a la carte menu to cater for larger or smaller appetites.
Leicester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“More traditional restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

In our weeks stay in Saas Fee we returned here for meals more than any where else .. friendly, cozy atmosphere and good food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CRAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great atmosphere.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We went for dinner on a Wednesday. We were a group of 12 people , 6 adults and 6 kids. The service was very good and the wait staff were very friendly and attentive. Kids enjoyed their pokemon meal. (Chicken nuggets and chips - very good quality). My husband and I are vegetarian. Limited choices. I had saffron noodles and my husbnad had the tomato soup and pasta. We both enjoyed it. The other adults in our group had ordered venison etc. Their portions were huge but they enjoyed the food and the atmosphere immensely.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing swiss stube”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I had thought this would be a great little place from pictures and prior reviews, but we were greatly disappointed both with service, which seemed discombobulated at best, and the rather boring dinners, schitzels and fries, nothing to get excited about. The salads were ok, but then again it's hard to ruin a swiss salad. Would not recommend if you can get in somewhere else.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Plumesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Shame on you-La Ferme, Saas Fee”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I regularly eat out in Switzerland. The Swiss are excellent at being restauranters and their food is exceptionally good. However, La Ferme in Saas Fee has let Switzerland down. The staff serving us were unfriendly, inattentive and unbelievably slow. The food, when it eventually arrived was ok but not exceptional.We had to ask over and over for things which were forgotten. It took us an hour to get to the main course. Wine took twenty minutes to arrive. Luckily my guests had a sense of humour but by the end of the evening we were desperate to leave but we were told we couldn't pay the bill because our waiter was smoking ... can you believe it!!! If there had been a manager available we would have complained as the service was appalling. It was a total waste of money. We even shouted good bye when we left and no body replied although the place was nearly empty and a grump of a teenage waitress was in the room. Don't go there!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LostInTheHillsMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“So much potential but does anyone care?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is a lovely restaurant setting, next to the Sunstar Beau Site hotel but the food, service and ambience just don't work together for the high prices. It gets very busy because it is on the front street but unless things improve there is better food to be found at a lower price elsewhere, especially at Del Ponte, where the atmosphere is totally different.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidandGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Ferme also viewed

Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant La Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing