We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Hotel Annahof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Hotel Annahof
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday at the Annahof in Saas Fee. This is our second year in a row to stay there. We chose the Annahof for it's fantastic childcare facilities and it's location to the slopes and ski school. The size of the chalet is ideal as well as it is not too big, so ideal with young famlies. You can also see you children having their tea from the lounge area.

The staff are enthusiastic, very friendly and helpful. Especially the manager Charlotte, Joe the ski host and Jesse who heads the childcare.

Esprit really focus on the family, nothing is too much trouble and I would not hesitate to go back to Saas Fee again or another resort with Esprit.

Room Tip: When booking ask about the rooms as they vary greatly in size. Some can be small but other great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarFin_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Annahof. This was our first experience with Esprit and although I cannot complain about the enthusiasm of the staff there were a number of issues which left us feeling disappointed and unlikely to use Esprit again.
I have to say the location of the chalet is excellent and the views were great but the general running of the place is below par. That is not to say the staff were not pleasant but most are very young and inexperienced and perhaps are in need of a little more training.
Firstly we arrived to breakfast every morning halfway through the sitting to find there were no croissants left or pancakes at the pancake station ( kids very disappointed) . The staff did bring
some more but the same thing happened every single morning. The fruit on offer was basically a salad made from chopped apple and the family we were with were told they had run out of
sausages at 8.30 am! We constantly had to ask for cutlery as they had run out and when out children's boiled eggs arrived they were in a coffee cup as they claimed not to have egg cups.
Although the evening meal was mostly acceptable there was often old food left stuck on the table cloth from the children's dinner earlier. The wine which was all inclusive during dinner was good except at a certain time the bottles on our table were whipped away even if they only had half a glass left in them. When i asked what she was going to do with the dregs in the bottle i was told by the waitress that it would all be poured into one bottle!!!! I imagine the one we were served the following night. In general the dining room was very tired and in need of updating.
Our bedroom was fine on the whole. Quite basic and small for a family of four and other guests said their rooms were much bigger so maybe we were unlucky but cleanliness was an issue. I don't go looking for dirt but under the childrens sofa bed there was a horrible smell and when I looked there was a pair of really soggy stinky socks left by the previous occupant. The rolls of dust and dirt made it evident that under the bed had never been swept. I asked at reception if they could sort this out and they apologised removed the socks but left the dirt.
On a good note we found the baby listening service very good and the childcare staff lovely. Afternoon tea was another high note and the cakes were always delicious. Also the bartender Robbie was great even if the equipment he had to work with was not.
The chalet could be great and as I mentioned it's ski in/ out location is fantastic but there is definitely lots of room for improvement.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 23 and 24 if you are more than two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at Chalet Hotel Annahof, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are disappointed to learn that ‘Kirsten H’ would be deterred from travelling with Esprit Ski again on the basis of the minor disappointments recounted and despite the holiday, overall, seemingly being an enjoyable one.
In a property the size of the Chalet Hotel Annahof, with a full quota of adults and children present, it is perhaps natural that there will be a ‘peak time’ when guests attend breakfast, which our staff will work extremely hard throughout in a bid to ensure that breakfast items are kept topped up. The Chalet Hotel Manager has acknowledged that some items were in short supply that week, despite their efforts.
We work closely with our property owners to ensure that any refurbishment or modernization needs are met wherever possible, with the Chalet Hotel Annahof being no exception. The owner has recently renovated the child care rooms in the property to an excellent standard!
It is concerning that issues have been raised in relation to the housekeeping during this week, which are at odds with feedback received from other of our guests, though that does not excuse any lack of attention to detail and we regret that not all of the points highlighted were acted upon as is the usual style of the Chalet Hotel Annahof team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Annahof with Esprit. As usual, the Esprit experience was a good one; fantastic child care and ski school, great ski guiding and a really well thought out chalet set up. Great social bar / lounge area, mostly decent food (some nights superb, other nights pretty average but overall ok.....helped by copious amounts of vino!) and, always, the extremely helpful, cheerful and polite staff who made the whole holiday completely stress free.
Highlights: great staff, superb childcare, great ski school, a menu to choose from for dinner options (choice of two for each of starters, mains, veggie mains and dessert), lovely afternoon tea (cake, biscuits, savoury pastries, soup), clean rooms and good housekeeping, heated boot room (one for kids, another for adults with boot warmers!), sociable bar area, great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 31a and b. This is on the 3 rd floor (lift right outside door so no problems) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelundfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol (UK)
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Charlotte / Joe / Jess and all their teams were quite literally superb.

Nothing went wrong, the service was fantastic, the childcare awesome, the guided skiing great and when our little one went to sleep in cocoa club they took her to bed.

The only thing that let it down was my skiing

Guys - you were all brilliant

Room Tip: Room 35 has the mezzanine floor for the children but does have limited headroom, so any child over e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hearditall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here in February and the hotel and staff are amazing. I could mention a whole host of names including Joe, the resort rep, Charlotte the hotel manager, Jessica in charge of childcare who were all fantastic as well as the cleaning/serving staff who were all so cheerful and really wanted to make your holiday one to remember.
The food was of excellent quality, we really looked forward to our meals. A real bonus was that lunch was included on our holiday, an unexpected and pleasant surprise! The kids (8,6) were very happy with their clubs and tuition and didn't want to leave.
Our room was on the small side for four of us (room 24) but we had a lovely mountain view and to be honest didn't spend that long in it anyway. Saas fee is a lovely Swiss town, very picturesque when you are in a cable car.
The only negative for me was that as a nervous intermediate the runs from mid mountain down were just too hard, no easy blue all the way. If you are a complete beginner, the nursery slopes are fantastic. If I could pick up this hotel AND staff and put it in a better resort for intermediates it would have been the perfect skiing holiday!
Thank you again to all the staff at the Annahof!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prycey1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just got back from a week at the hotel Annahof...Had a perfect holiday! The staff are friendly and helpful and provide a high level of service.The food was amazing....a real treat! an added bonus was the afternoon tea which we really looked forward to at the end of our day on the slopes with it's home made soup & cakes! The chefs do a fantastic job, cooking to a very high standard and we really looked forward to ending our day with the candle lit evening meal! The room was comfortable and cleaned every day. The slopes were perfect for us, we escpecially enjoyed some of the red runs half way up the mountain! The hotel is situated at the foot of the mountain and our room faced out towards it with stunning views!This was our first holiday with Esprit and we will definatly be booking again with them in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B0ltWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Esprit staff were excellent! Really made the holiday!
Stayed in room 35 (possibly the best room in hotel) family of 5 children 7, 9 and 10. Kids loved tuition and hotel activities.
Food was superb, staff ratio 32 staff to 28 adults!
Only criticism would be resort not perfect for intermediate skiers. several good blue runs near the hotel and half way up the mountain but very steep reds in between, so lots of cable cars and walking through tunnels to ski around.
Would defiantly use Esprit again, don't think I would go back to saas Fee (probably best suited to complete beginners or advanced skiers).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Saaserhof
Hotel Saaserhof
#21 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Hotel  Beau-Site
Sunstar Hotel Beau-Site
#13 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#3 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dom Hotel
The Dom Hotel
#8 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#1 of 52 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Artemis
Hotel Artemis
#15 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Annahof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Annahof

Property: Chalet Hotel Annahof
Address: Chalet Hotel Annahof, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Annahof offers an unbeatable mix of the absolute prime location in the whole resort, beautifully refurbished bedrooms and lounge area, and our Esprit Chalet Hotel catering and service. Our friendly, professional team of staff look forward to welcoming you to Saas Fee and the Annahof this winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Hotel Annahof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing