We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Reasonable price, clean, comfortable family run hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel-Apart & Restaurant La Gorge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Apart & Restaurant La Gorge
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Colchester
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, clean, comfortable family run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

For Saas Fee this hotel is very reasonable. Located near to the Alpine Express lift with easy access to the ski slopes the hotel is great for a ski trip. The rooms are well furnished, with comfortable beds and have a small kitchen. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Everything we needed for a long weekend break. Recommended and I will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

First of all, I made a mistake and booked (and paid for) the apartment through a third party site with the wrong arrival date and arrived a week later than the actual arrival date. Without going into much detail, the owners TOTALLY took care of us. I have never seen such hospitable hotel operators in my life, and I travel quite a bit. Maggie, the woman who owns the place with her husband went out of her way to be helpful and was a gem. She is also an amazing mountain climber (she has climbed all of the 4000+ meter peaks in Switzerland). On the walls of the lobby there are many pictures of her and her family at the summits of many of these mountains. Pretty impressive.

Now for the apartment. The apartment was very spacious and had all of the convenience of home. The view of the gorge from the deck was spectacular. The building does not have a lift, but a gentleman carried our luggage to our room in a flash (the same gentleman who took us and our luggage to and from the bus station). The location of the hotel was very convenient for skiing -- only a two minute walk to the Alpen Express gondola. It is also very close to town, with a Migros and a Coop also only a two minute walk away. During our brief stay we did not have an opportunity to have dinner at their restaurant, but we enjoyed breakfast and a beer after skiing in the restaurant. In previous years I had walked past this hotel while walking to the Alpen Express lift and thought that it looked like an amazing hotel, but that it was probably very expensive. As it turned out, it was a very reasonably priced hotel and I would (and will) recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

Our family (7 & 5y children) booked at last minute having had another hotel cancel our reservation, but this turned out to be much, much better and cheaper. Perfect location - quiet, dramatic with incredible views yet just minutes walk from village centre, cable cars and bus station / car park. We had a suite on the top floor - well equiped kitchen in spacious living area with double bed, and another double bedroom (though this room had shower only; others have baths).

In the end never used the room's kitchen as the restaurant was so good; children ate free yet nothing was too much trouble (they got addicted to steak fillets and chicken nuggets!) and excellent four course meal for adults on half-board.

The owners were always there and very friendly and attentive - though twice they'd been out in the daytime and climbed a 4000m peak before supper, and the mountain photos everywhere are inspirational. One of the most child-friendly resorts we've been to (playground at every cafe) - despite plans for exploring we never left the Saas valley. Plenty of gentle walks for youngsters, some more ambitious helped by the tame marmots, but masses more for the future when they're older.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_family_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Stayed in this hotel by chance, arriving in Saas Fee to visit my son who is working the summer ski season - there is summer skiing on the 4000 metre peaks and glaciers! Excellent location near the Alpine Express cable car and the Feeblitz (like a roller coaster with independent cars!) and mountain adventure (zip wire across the gorge, ropes etc.).
Lovely geranium bedecked wooden balconies, fantastic suite with bedroom and separate living/dining/kitchen room with extra bed for 12 year old, balcony with the best view in Switzerland (gorge, rushing water, huge towering mountains, glacier), and old stone towers. Everything clean, pretty, comfortable. Pretty breakfast room, helpful and friendly husband and wife owners (who gave me first aid for a deep cut) keen to point out places of interest and proud of their own mountaineering exploits, celebrated in the large photos on all the walls. Good restaurant, but portions are small and prices very expensive (compared to London) but everything in Switzerland is pretty pricy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riricroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#1 of 52 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#10 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Artemis
Hotel Artemis
#15 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elite Alpine Lodge
Elite Alpine Lodge
#4 of 52 in Saas-Fee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#16 of 52 in Saas-Fee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Apart & Restaurant La Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Apart & Restaurant La Gorge

Property: Hotel-Apart & Restaurant La Gorge
Address: Blomattenweg 2, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Apart & Restaurant La Gorge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic 3 *** Hotel-Apart & Restaurant "La Gorge" is in the middle of the holiday paradise SAAS-FEE in Switzerland.***!!! PERFECT LOCATION !!!***:We are directly next to the cable car "Alpin Express". The "La Gorge" is situated next to the massive canyon "Feschlucht" at the quiet border of the forest. Walking distances to the center, the bus terminal and the shopping centers are each only 2 minutes.Come to us and never forget: "Heaven is a place on earth!"Looking forward meeting you soon.Maggi & Léonce Voide-Bumann ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel-Apart & Restaurant La Gorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing