We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Proper swiss experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schaeferstube

Schaeferstube
Ranked #9 of 64 Restaurants in Saas-Fee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Proper swiss experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Went to this restaurant on Christmas Eve for something special and was not disappointed! Booked ahead and had a lovely table which felt very private. Atmosphere was great and our waitress was so nice even though she was working Christmas Eve! Would definitely return for a special occasion. Even though it's a hike up the hill it's definitely worth it and you can walk it off on the way back down.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    5
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful rustic gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The restaurant is quite a hike uphill from town but it's worth it! We went for dinner and sat inside which was very cosy. The waitress was friendly and helpful and translated and described everything on the dessert menu for us! Our meal was excellent and the chef even gave us free asparagus soup, which was a wonderful delicious surprise! The steak was perfectly cooked (medium rare) and the lamb stew with rosti hit the spot after a tiring day on the slopes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Food is still good but where have all the good waiters gone??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This place has been on our must visit list for at least 5 years now. We have always enjoyed the cozy authentic atmosphere and food. The food is still good but somewhere the organization is getting lost! The waitress was A) not friendly and B) not very good! We waited very long time between appetizer and main course, to the point I was falling asleep! However when it arrived the filet was really perfectly cook and very high quality. I hope the management takes note and try's to get better staff because the current front of the restaurant will drive diners away.....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank marlena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had a very nice dinner here. The soups for starters were rich and very fresh. For the main, half of the group had the chefs recommended lamb stew with rosti and the others had a steak. For the steak you can choose which side dish you want (rosti, fries, potatoes gratin, etc) as well as the size of the steak. The meat was very tender and the side dishes were very nice.

As usual in Switzerland, the food is not cheap, but it was definitely worth it! I highly recommend it for a winter evening after a long day of skiing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We skiied in for lunch - great to be able to do that! My wife and I shared a large portion of rosti with ham and a fried egg on top washed down with a beer each. The food was good and the service was fine. It was great sitting outside eating in the sun, although it was still cold. My wife, who doesn't ski, found it an easy walk from the village. The prices were reasonable for Sass Fee.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandylindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schaeferstube also viewed

Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Schaeferstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing