We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and breakfast, terrible lobby shop”
Review of Hotel Welcome Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Welcome Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The room was nice for the price, the breakfast was very good due to the breakfast staff. However my wife bought a watch from the lobby display. When we got home we discovered that the product literature and packing were missing. Staff uncooperative but offered a refund if I returned the watch.When they received the watch, the refund offered was about 2/3 of the price. Claimed to be due to Swiss tax policy. My contact at the hotel was aware of this but did not bother to tell me in advance. Her note said "I will refund". Apparently that was not a complete statement.
If you deal with the lobby display. be very, very careful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Mr. F,
Thank you very much for your comment and your rating on Tripadvisor.
If you need any assistance referring the mentioned story, I have reference to our email communication.
Thanks fo ryour understanding.
Kind regards,
E. Steingruber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 683 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

I needed to stay close to Zurich airport and wanted a cost-effective option. The Welcome Inn didn't let me down. A good price (for Switzerland anyway, where everything is expensive!) and a great hotel.

The free internet was superb, enabling me to download files and do lots of work.

The free shuttle bus to and from the airport (and therefore to and from the train station, because the train station is at the airport) was reliable. To get the shuttle bus timetable, send an email to the hotel (it's approximately every 15 - 30 minutes, picking up in zone 3 outside the airport).

The staff were friendly and spoke good English.

I really liked the room; modern and basic. It had a fully stocked mini bar, not too expensive either.

Breakfast was OK; not fantastic, but enough choice to satisfy most people.

I will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for rating us and your lovely comment. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay at our place and thanks for the recommendation!
Just one hint besides, there is also a train station in Kloten (within 2 min walking distance) with directions to Zurich downtown and Winterthur. The station at Zurich aiport is bigger and there are more directions also for long distances, the one in Kloten is a only local "S-Bahn" station.
See you soon again, it would be a great pleasure!
Your Welcome Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night at the end of a trip to Zurich and Bern. It is conveniently located near the airport with a free shuttle. While I would normally stay in town, given the circumstances of a late arrival and an early departure this was quite convenient. The hotel was pleasant and the staff reasonably attentive. My wake up call at 540a was on time and did not expect conversation. I was too early to use the breakfast. The room was more US style than other hotels I have stayed at with its decor and set up. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet and clean. The shower was a bit larger than many I've seen in Switzerland and had plenty of hot water. I would stay here in similar circumstances in the future but not for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Larry,
Thanks a lot for your detailled comment and you rating. Nice to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and because of the circumstances you dropped by in Kloten. Feel warmly welcome at any time to visit us again, we will be happy to welcoming you soon again.
Kind regards,
Your Welcome Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I found the staff friendly and helpful. The room was well equipped and clean. There was no airport noise even though the airport is close by. A shuttle to the airport is available. The breakfast was good and plentiful. Located in a nice neighborhood with places to walk to. All in all, a real bargain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansasTribesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your fantastic rating and your comment.
Nice to hear that you liked the breakfast, we are checking several options and are renovating the breakfast room for our guests.
See you back soon at Hotel Welcome Inn!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Large clean room, felt very luxurious after a week in Italian city hotels which are small and cramped by comparison. Friendly staff, greeted me and knew I had been before and were kindly and quickly checking in people who had been on delayed flights and were in distress. No airport noise, good comfortable bed, modern bathroom, room bar. Efficient airport shuttle, every half hour, you need to book at busy times. Breakfast OK but not a big choice of fresh fruit. Would stay again on business, for short stays.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor! Nice to hear, you had a memorable stay with us and we are happy that everything was fine for you.
Referring the breakfast, at the moment we are renovating for you, there will be a compline new breakfast room and lobby with a bigger offer.
See you back soon, have a look what's gonna be new then.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I spent one night before catching an early flight from Zurich. The Hotel is located very close to the airport as well as the town of Kloten. As the hotel is only a 2 min walk from the Kloten train station, Zurich City Center can be reached in about 15 min. The rooms are well equipped for a 3 star and offer even some advanced TV Channels (Sky Germany). There was some minor plane noise, but that is normal when being close to a big airport, like Zurich.

The Hotel has an in house traditional swiss restaurant as well as a steak house. The food was very good and reasonably priced. The shuttle in the morning was also on time and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you detailled comment and your rating, it helps us for improving our services and future guest becoming a reasonable view of the location and the hotel.
See you back soon at the Hotel Welcome Inn, feel always warmly welcome when you drop by!
Kind regards,
Your Welcome Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed a few nights at the welcome inn as it was covenient for some things we had to do in and near kloten. The hotel is nice and clean and the rooms are fairly sized. It seemed extremely expensive for what it provides. The personnel seemed kind but not all of them, some seemed only nice to swiss people. There was no coffee achine in the room and one was supposed to go downstairs and get coffee from either a machine pr the brekfast room. The machine turned out to be broken and the brekfast room was only open in the am of course. What I did not like is that instead of saying the machine was broken, at noght I was told the machine was for the morning only, while in the morning I was told by another person that the coffee machine was only for the evening and that in the morning I should get coffee in the brekfast room. I guess this behvior works in a airport hotel where people only stay one night. In the end when we needed coffee in the afternoon we could exceptionally get it from the rstaurant (that at the time was closed, and we had to pay for it) and when another person joined us we were advised we could walk across the street to get coffee. Paying more than 200 francs a night and not even beeing given free coffee seemed a bit of a joke.
There is a restaurant with nice food bu no room service, even though one can get food and ing it up to the room on their own.
Location is great for the airport.
I probably would ot stay in this hotel again t these prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dastado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Welcome Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for rating us on Tripadvisor and your comment. I apologize for not exceeding your expetations. Your story about the coffee is indeed not very amusing, we will follow it up for sure. Referring the kindness only to Swiss people, I am sure that there was a missunderstanding, after my experience, it can be retraced to the english language style of not original english speakers, it sometimes seems a little rude, I apologize if there was so.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kloten
0.1 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#3 of 3 in Kloten
741 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
1.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fly Away
Hotel Fly Away
#1 of 3 in Kloten
534 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Zurich Airport
1 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#2 of 10 in Opfikon
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welcome Inn

Address: Holbergstrasse 1, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kloten
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Price Range: $91 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Welcome Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welcome Inn enjoys a central location in Kloten, half a mile from Zurich Airport. It offers a free airport shuttle, free wired internet and free parking during the hotel overnight stay. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and the rooms. The rooms feature a desk, a refrigerator, flat-screen-TV and a bathroom with hairdryer and make-up mirror. MEAT's Steak & Wine - Steakhouse, is our restaurant partner and has a stylish interior, in a rustic design and first-class meat, grilled in a Southbend Broiler. Guests of the Welcome Inn enjoy a free entrance to the fitness room at a partner hotel (a 3-minute walk away). Many shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. Kloten Train Station is 300m away. The train ride to Zurich takes 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Welcome Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Welcome Kloten
Welcome Hotel Kloten
Welcome Inn Hotel
Hotel Welcome Inn Canton Of Zurich/Kloten, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing