We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the airport.”
Review of Hotel Allegra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Allegra
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
454 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“At the airport.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ease of access to Zurich airport with a free shuttle provided. Nice, clean
and modern room with a queen bed quite comfortable. Large bathroom,
with plenty of essentials. Efficient staff, with lots of practice. Good soundproofing, given the train station next door. Did not use the restaurant, had a nice meal in town. Overall, good location and value for
money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. Thanks for the kudos and the details regarding your stay. See you soon!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    336
    85
    13
    7
See reviews for
210
140
69
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I WOULD come back to this hotel if I visit Zurich again. It was the BEST hotel I stayed in Europe for my 2 weeks holiday, and one of the most afford-ably priced. Few things that really made Hotel Allegra a winner:

1. Location - It's not in central Zurich yes, it's in Kloten. But the hotel is right beside the Kloten train station, which is a short 20 min ride to central Zurich that comes every 30 minutes. And, if you are coming / leaving by the airport, they have a free shuttle service from the Flughafen which is fuss-free and comes every 30 min as well. We are a family of 5 travelling with big and small luggage (10 in total) and we had a very easy and pleasant time reaching the hotel. It was raining by the way.

2. Service - Much thought has gone into making customers feel at ease and welcomed. There is this very nice welcome drink and a fruit basket when you want some snacks. The gym is also free for guests to use. More importantly, the staff were well-trained and professional. I was given a thick envelope of "Zurich Tourist Information" which came in very handy since I had not planned for the trip (we intended to play by ear). Check-in was easy. And when I asked for some advice on where we can go to, the staff (Neil was it?) was very informative, he shared good ideas and key information.

3. Room - The quintuple room was very spacious. Most quintuple rooms we had stayed in Europe were small, and could barely squeeze in 5 beds. This one was so spacious that I could have started skipping rope? Maybe. But they had 2 large tables, ample chairs, and places to place the luggage. Beds were clean and we slept soundly. No issues with noise. Provisions in the bath was also inviting and more than adequate. There could have been more power sockets though, but that wasn't a major issue.

4. Breakfast - They had a 50% off original breakfast price and that made the meal quite affordable. For CHF 10 (the more expensive breakfast set), the variety was good. We were incorrectly directed to the more expensive breakfast buffet, which we ate without realizing that that wasn't what we paid for. But the hotel acknowledged it was a mistake on their part and charged the lower cost, so we appreciate their thought for customers.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your huge feedback!
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Allegra Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I am pleased to share your positive feedback with all our team members and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back with us again for another stay with us.
Your Allegra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A very efficient hotel shuttle whisked us from Zurich Airport, the check was very quick and within thirty minutes of landing we were in our spacious clean and bright room.
The lateness of our arrival (by choice) stopped us from using many of the hotels advertised facilities but the T.V. choice was excellent something for most nationalities and the tea and coffee making equipment was most welcome.
After a good nights sleep we were ready to start our train adventure round Switzerland, wow two minutes from the hotel with great info was Kloten station. (we new it was there really but did not realise how close).The closeness of the station did not spoil the quietness of the rooms.
Summing up then the Allegra is a good value choice for starting or finishing your stay in Switzerland Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meljl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comment on TA!
Thanks for all the metioned details, it gives a great view what guests can expect. We are glad you liked the location and facilities of the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Switzerland!
Kind Regards,
Your Allegra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night on 14th May at the end of our 15 day long vacation. On our way back from Paris we got down at Zurich HB and took a train to Kloten. The hotel is bang opposite to Kloten train station and just a few minutes walk. We were a family of 4 and booked a four bedded room. The room was huge, well decorated with 4 comfortable single beds. The bathroom was spacious and clean. My daughter loved the room. We had dinner and a early lunch the next day in the restaurant. Food was good and served promptly. The staffs in the reception and restaurant were friendly and very professional. We availed the free shuttle drop to Zurich airport the next afternoon. As we had a flight at 15.30 we requested a late checkout at 1 pm and the reception lady promptly agreed with a smile. We strongly recommend this as a friendly, convenient and no nonsense hotel very near to the Zurich Airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joybrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow, thanks for your lovely words, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again, it would be our pleasure!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
313 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We love the en-suite room with extra long beds - real spacious. Our toddler loved walking all over the room. And the closets are enormous also - the kids had fun playing hide and seek. We stayed in the room facing the train station so our little 3-year old boy enjoys watching the trains go by.

And the primary colors all over the hotel is just perfect for the kids. And we were surprise with the variety of breakfast food - they even had rice. We think this was weird but after traveling in Europe for several days, it was refreshing to eat rice for breakfast. (Our family is half-Asian!)

When traveling with kids, these moments are valuable for us - we have very fond memories of this hotel. Good memories.

When we checked out for our flight, we have left the souveniers we bought in the lobby and they have called us to inform us quickly. As we didn't want to go back to the hotel for two mugs with Swiss logo, we have asked to just refund us the money and they did very efficiently.

You can really feel in the hotel, even before you arrive and after your check out that the customers' satisfaction is their priority. I would gladly recommend this hotel for family with kids!

One negative though: The free wi-fi is really slow, most of the times, not accessible for all our gadgets. They didn't need to give any password and username - so maybe that's the reason?

Nevetheless, it was still a delightful experience for us.

Room Tip: Choose the en-suite room with extra-long beds for family with kids. Spacious rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turknoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear guest

We are delighted to hear that you and your kids enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Allegra. Thank you for your kind comments about the breakfast and our staff. I am please to share your positive feedback with all our team members and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
We apologize for the wifi connecting problems, we will check that carefully.
We look forward to welcoming you back with us again for another stay with us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My stay was a fast late-night in and early-morning out to airport. Hotel is ideal for this with good train access from city center or the region, frequent free shuttle bus airport transfer. Consequently I cannot judge the value for a longer stay but my impression was that this is also very good. Staff and management obviously wish to maitain a high standard and certainly achieve this. Rooms and hotel very pleasantly equipped. Cannot judge restaurant. Free internet everywhere very welcome. Would certainly recommend this hotel for the outlined purpose. Price fair for Zurich and proximity to airport.

Room Tip: My room faced street i.e. away from train line, and was very quiet during my very short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent rating! We are happy to hear that you had a good time at Hotel Allegra and thanks for all the mentioned details and tipps.
See you soon, Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houthalen, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spend the night at this hotel, asked for a quiet room. No probs, they're all quite, claimed the reception.

When I went to sleep, I could hear the street noise, almost like unfiltered.

The matras was hard and the pillow very uncomfortable.

The room temp. was very high, more than 30°C, and no way to cool it down and with all the noise, opening the window wasn't an option.

Breakfast is my view expensive for what they offer.

Raising the issues, they mentioned that indeed the rooms were hot, but there was nothing they could do. ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kloten
0.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#1 of 3 in Kloten
620 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fly Away
Hotel Fly Away
#3 of 3 in Kloten
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegra

Property: Hotel Allegra
Address: Hamelirainstrasse 3, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kloten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allegra 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegra hotel is situated in a central yet quiet location, close to the Zurich airport, next to the Kloten train station. It offers you a free airport shuttle and free internet in all rooms. You will find a complimentary bottle of water on your room upon arrival. You can park your car for free on site during your stay. Only 5 minutes away from Zurich Airport and 15 minutes from the center of Zurich, the Allegra hotel is a convenient place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Allegra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra Hotel Kloten
Hotel Allegra Canton Of Zurich/Kloten, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing