We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent value for money in Zurich”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Allegra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Allegra
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excelent value for money in Zurich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

It's a very good option near Zurich airport, when you don't want to stay in the city center.
The price is very attractive. The hotel is clean, the rooms have a lot of space. The staff isn’t very friendly.
The food at the restaurant is quite good and not expensive. Breakfast is only acceptable for that level.
I would say that is very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajsm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment. We apologize for not exceeding your expetations regarding the staff and the breakfast. We takr your inputs seriously and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    331
    80
    13
    7
See reviews for
208
132
69
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a non smoking hotel, with a smoking area out front! Only problem wtih that is the smoke rises to the rooms on the front side that have windows open! The back side had the train tracks for town, and there is no room adjustment for the temperature (all centeral to the hotel). The desk did offer to move us, but we were already settle (and spread out for the night). Close walk to town and markets, free shuttle to the airport, and dinning option on site. Free internet, good size room, awesome bathrooms, and shuttle make this a great selection.

Room Tip: Away from the Center smoking area on the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Kelly,
Thank you for your comment and your rating. The Allegra is indeed a non smoking hotel, but outside it is allowed to smoke on the cozy garten terrace. Please make sure for your next stay to request a room further away, we are aware of that problem in summer.
See you soon again it would be our pleasure.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel ideally located close to the airport and free shuttle service from airport to hotel which runs every 15mins is very convient. The hotel is close to the railway station from where u can take the train to go to the city. The rooms are very nice neat & clean. The service is also good your problems are solved withing 5 Mins. All in all nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Take the room with the balcony they are on the top floor and are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amansharma_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment and your rating. Thanks for your detailed information for future guests. See you soon again. Your Allegra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is close o the airport and it has a nice free shuttle service tothe and fro. Located next to the station, it does have a few eating joints close to it. We found the in house restaurant quite expensive and hence ventured out. The rooms are excellent. large size, clean, comfortable. the bathrooms are large and well lit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiBizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment on TA and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Allegra for one night. Upon a quick and pleasant phone call to the hotel, we were conveniently picked up from the airport by a complementary hotel shuttle. When we arrived at the hotel we were amused by the decor which reminded us of the 90's night club, black furniture and surfaces, black and electric blue chairs, bright Mondrian inspired decorative elements. The reception was quick and cordial. We received our keys and proceeded upstairs to our room. The room itself was even more amusing. Over the top 90's Disco + Mondrian all the way! :) This hotel is definitely dated, but in a refreshingly bold and amusing way (though unintentionally so I suspect). The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the shower worked perfectly. No complaints whatsoever. The breakfast was not included, so we can't comment on the quality of food. In the morning we were promptly taken back to the airport.
Overall, it was a pleasant experience. Nothing fancy. Clean, convenient with memorably over-the-top 90's nostalgic decor. :)

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a spot on your morning shuttle back to the airport at check-in (the spots on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Anna,
Thank you for your amusing comment on TripAdvisor too! :) We are happy to hear that you could enjoy your stay and everthing was to your satisfaction. The Hotel is indeed inspired from the artist Mondrian and he's colourful style.
So see you soon again, it would be our pleasure!
Your Allegra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We traveled from St Moritz to Zurich to catch a plane back to the states and spent the last night at the Hotel Allegra by the Airport. We were concerned about being able to find the hotel from the Kloten station on the S7 line from the main station in Zurich(not the Kloten Blasberg station but the next one out). However, we were very pleased to find out that the hotel is within sight of the station. You leave the train station directly onto Hotel Property. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the hotel staff who efficiently gave us all of the information that we required and we went to the room. The room was a nice size for European standards, actually roomy. There was a big bed, two chairs and a table, nice big desk and a refrigerator, free wifi and a large bathroom, large closet, extra pillows. The room was spotless. It also had block out shades (very nice!).
The hotel was quiet and we had a great sleep. We booked on the 8:15am shuttle to the airport provided by the hotel. We ate the light, self serve breakfast for 12chf each. Good selection of cheeses, fruit, ceral and yogurt, and great cappaccino! Staff was very efficient and professional. Easy check out, shuttle was early and the airport was only 10min away. I would definitely recommend anyone beginning or ending their trip to Switzerland here at Hotel Allegra. Also, since Zurich is so expensive this would be a great place to stay since the train ride to the main station was 9 minutes. We went back into Zurich for our last night in Switzerland.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got a room on the third floor near the end of the hallway away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara5012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Barbara,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment with so many useful details for us and for future guest! Thanks for the reccomendation, we appreciate it. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Allegra when you visit Switzerland the next time! See you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Excellent and efficient hotel near Zurich Airport. The rooms are quite spacious and very clean. Bathrooms are big and the restaurant and bar downstairs very accommodating. Not a terribly picturesque location (in an airport business district), but the staff are well trained and speedy.

Great place if you wish to be near the airport for an early morning flight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rtaylor39401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment and rating. It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kloten
0.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#1 of 3 in Kloten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fly Away
Hotel Fly Away
#3 of 3 in Kloten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegra

Property: Hotel Allegra
Address: Hamelirainstrasse 3, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kloten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allegra 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegra hotel is situated in a central yet quiet location, close to the Zurich airport, next to the Kloten train station. It offers you a free airport shuttle and free internet in all rooms. You will find a complimentary bottle of water on your room upon arrival. You can park your car for free on site during your stay. Only 5 minutes away from Zurich Airport and 15 minutes from the center of Zurich, the Allegra hotel is a convenient place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Allegra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra Hotel Kloten
Hotel Allegra Canton Of Zurich/Kloten, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing