We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Accomodation in Zurich by Airport”
Review of Hotel Allegra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Allegra
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Budget Accomodation in Zurich by Airport”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We traveled from St Moritz to Zurich to catch a plane back to the states and spent the last night at the Hotel Allegra by the Airport. We were concerned about being able to find the hotel from the Kloten station on the S7 line from the main station in Zurich(not the Kloten Blasberg station but the next one out). However, we were very pleased to find out that the hotel is within sight of the station. You leave the train station directly onto Hotel Property. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the hotel staff who efficiently gave us all of the information that we required and we went to the room. The room was a nice size for European standards, actually roomy. There was a big bed, two chairs and a table, nice big desk and a refrigerator, free wifi and a large bathroom, large closet, extra pillows. The room was spotless. It also had block out shades (very nice!).
The hotel was quiet and we had a great sleep. We booked on the 8:15am shuttle to the airport provided by the hotel. We ate the light, self serve breakfast for 12chf each. Good selection of cheeses, fruit, ceral and yogurt, and great cappaccino! Staff was very efficient and professional. Easy check out, shuttle was early and the airport was only 10min away. I would definitely recommend anyone beginning or ending their trip to Switzerland here at Hotel Allegra. Also, since Zurich is so expensive this would be a great place to stay since the train ride to the main station was 9 minutes. We went back into Zurich for our last night in Switzerland.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got a room on the third floor near the end of the hallway away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara5012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Barbara,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment with so many useful details for us and for future guest! Thanks for the reccomendation, we appreciate it. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Allegra when you visit Switzerland the next time! See you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    334
    80
    13
    7
See reviews for
208
134
69
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Excellent and efficient hotel near Zurich Airport. The rooms are quite spacious and very clean. Bathrooms are big and the restaurant and bar downstairs very accommodating. Not a terribly picturesque location (in an airport business district), but the staff are well trained and speedy.

Great place if you wish to be near the airport for an early morning flight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rtaylor39401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment and rating. It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Brilliant location, 10 min drive from Zurich apt, and next to the station so one can nip over to the city easily. And all this at a great price. Huge rooms, well appointed, free wi fi etc.

Downside - very small bathrooms, no bell captain - u have to manage your own luggage. Limited restaurant menu.

Tip: take the free, half-hourly coach to the airport. There's a food court and shopping mall - great for a quick bite, coffee and to kill time. McDonald's, pizza, sprungli outlets among others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikastandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much fo ryour excellent rating and your review. Thanks for all the hints and tips concerning the hotel and the area.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our place. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for a night when we landed in Zurich on our way to a ski vacation in Austria and again for a night at the end of our vacation. The shuttle, the reception, the rooms (beds, shower, decor), the free WiFi, the sound proof windows, the HD TV - everything was fantastic. We totally agree with the positive reviews. Everything is expensive in Switzerland and although we were very happy with the place, and the price was the best we could find for these dates, it felt like we were paying too much compared to other hotels we've stayed at in other locations in Europe during previous ski vacations. That is why we give it a 4 and not a 5. The train to into Zurich and back for 2 adults and a child was $32 which we thought was alot for a 15 minute train ride each way. If your workplace is paying, you're lucky. We didn't eat anything at the hotel. There's a supermarket across the street and a rather large AM-PM-type convenience store that is open late (maybe even 24 hours) at the train station on the other side of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed comment and your rating. We are very interested in our guests opinion and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Allegra.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We chose the hotel because it was very close to Zurich airport, had shuttle service (including our ski gear) from the airport, and was also convenient to the center of Zurich via train. The hotel is clean and modern with everything you needed for a quick overnight stop. The staff was helpful and sold us train tickets into the center. The train station is a 2 minute walk -- adjacent to the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAvocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review regarding your last stay at Hotel Allegra. We are happy for exceeding your expetations.
See you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was in transit from Geneva to Dallas and needed a hotel for the night at Zurich airport. I checked trip advisor and did a bit of homework.

The hotel has it's own van service to and from the terminals with a good frequency. The property looks new and is spotless. Extremely well maintained and wonderful rooms with free wi fi. Nice bar and small resataurant included.

The price is fair and you just cannot go wrong. Stores and restauarnts are also quite close in case you want to take a walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichAChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review and your excellent rating! It makes us happy if you are, thank you for your time taken writing down your impressions.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night before an early flight out of Zurich. The hotel was very clean, modern and neat looking. Check in went smoothly and the room was large compared to other places I've stayed in Switzerland. The bathroom was very nicely done. The room also has a large flat screen TV with many English language channels. Its only a hundred feet from the train station and they provide a free shuttle to the airport all day long. The shuttle driver would not leave until everyone on the van was using their seatbelt! I didnt eat in the restaurant because so many restaurants are located on the other side of the train station. Be sure to try Pizzeria Giardino in Kloten.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morbo284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Nice to hear that you liked the Hotel Allegra and thanks for the Pizzeria tipp. Regarding the seatbelts, it is a strict law in Switzerland otherwise it's going to be expensive for the hotel and it could loose its driving license for guest, tha t would be a desaster, so sorry for the circumstances.
See you soon again at Hotel Allegra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kloten
0.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#1 of 3 in Kloten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fly Away
Hotel Fly Away
#3 of 3 in Kloten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegra

Property: Hotel Allegra
Address: Hamelirainstrasse 3, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kloten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allegra 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegra hotel is situated in a central yet quiet location, close to the Zurich airport, next to the Kloten train station. It offers you a free airport shuttle and free internet in all rooms. You will find a complimentary bottle of water on your room upon arrival. You can park your car for free on site during your stay. Only 5 minutes away from Zurich Airport and 15 minutes from the center of Zurich, the Allegra hotel is a convenient place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Allegra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra Hotel Kloten
Hotel Allegra Canton Of Zurich/Kloten, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing