We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Luzern
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothenburg
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We are staying for one night, for English people driving to Italy it is excellent. Rooms are good, good shower, big comfortable bed. ITV is available and I was able to watch Corrie! Which was very relaxing after a long drive. Hotel is clean & quiet, check in good. There is a Co-Op next door with amazing and cheap food cooked in front of you and a wide choice of pasta, Asian, grills, salads, cakes and drinks.
I am pleased I chose this hotel and highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lea K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Luzern, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Paula

I'm really happy that I could read you had a good stay in our hotel and that you enjoy our offer in the hotel and also at the rest area. I'm glad that I can show my staff your review that they make a good job.


Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    101
    59
    11
    2
See reviews for
92
72
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

15 min away from Luzern, towards Zurich.

Very basic room & medium-low breakfast.
The hotel needs a renovation, however it is convenient if you travel along Switzerland. There is also a coop near to the hotel and a small buffet-restaurant open till 23:00.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yotini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Luzern, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Yotini,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend visit to Luzern. it was perfect. Very good location. Not in the center but in a nice rural area. We were able to walk in the morning.
Breakfast was very good. Good choices of bread juices, coffee etc. the room a bit small but all we need for a short visit.
Staff very nice and polite.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dianagisell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lea K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Luzern, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest
I'm very happy that you had a good stay with us and that you took your time to fill out the review as it is very important for our improvement and our staff is proud tho get back such a good feedback.

Thanks again and I hope you will stay again in the future!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Pros: More affordable, convenient if traveling
Cons: Cleanliness

Parking: Free
Breakfast: Free
Internet: Free if you are IHG elite, but costs something if not (unknown price)

This hotel is located at a rest stop on the 2 highway that runs through Switzerland. If you are driving through it is perfect to stay at if it is on your route (that was the case for us). It is right off the highway which makes it easy to find and not too far out of the way.

Upon arriving, there is ample free parking. You enter the lobby and it is standard for for a Holiday Inn Express. There was a scent to the lobby that reminded me of a hospital: a very sterile smell which was unpleasant to me. It seemed like they used a cleaning product that didn't really have any fragrance. This was a turn off to me. The front desk staff was very nice and got us to the room.

We entered the room and it was very basic. Closer to a 2 star than to a 3 star as it is rated here. The room itself was clean but the bathroom was not. It was a cheap bathroom and the shower had a significant amount of hair left in it from the last guest. It wasn't even just in the drain, it was on the curtain and 5-10 strands on the floor. The tiles also really needed a scrubbing. It was obvious that the bathroom hadn't had a deep clean for a long time (and it makes me wonder if the room itself had a deep cleaning at any point). Honestly, not to the level that I would expect out of a Holiday Inn Express. This is the main driver to the low rating because I consider this completely unacceptable as the lack of cleanliness was very blatant.

In the morning, you could very easily hear the people walking through the hallways (at about 8am). If we were trying to sleep, it would have been a huge issue. They really need to do some sound proofing to prevent this inconvenience. We had breakfast, which was very basic, nothing really that special, but hey, it's free.

I expected more out of this hotel and came away disappointed, but it is a cheap option compared to other Switzerland options (but not that cheap when you compare it to other areas of Europe - paid 140 francs (150 USD), would have expected to pay less than 100 USD for this in other comparable parts of Europe).

Room Tip: Higher floor may be quieter and have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Luzern, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Sean F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the cleanliness of the accommodations prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the honor of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Reasonable budget accomodation along the highway . Convenient for car users. Calm and peaceful area with meadows, fields and apple trees. There is a horse barn nearby. English breakfast included with room rent. Very fresh atmosphere.. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Not the best HIE. The bathroom smelled -- initially we thought it was mould, but later thought that the door came from the drains. Small room and the breakfast was OK. The location is weird --- it's in a service stop; who would have thought. Gas station a restaurant and a HIE. Probably OK if you just happen by and need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randalljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Luzern, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Randalljay,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide feedback.We are constantly striving to provide our guests with the highest level of service and accommodations that they have come to expect from our hotel and I regret that we have failed to deliver. We apologize for any discomfort you experienced caused by the unusual smell of the bathroom. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it aids us in ensuring such issues are resolved. I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Solid, convenient budget option outside of Lucerne, where the hotels are otherwise very, very expensive.

Hotel is situated at a rest area along the highway. Because of its location, a car is a must. Same rest area has a mini-market, which closes at 10pm. Despite being at a rest area, hotel offers spectacular views from the room -the mountains, endless fields, and a few horses wandering nearby. Breakfast was plentiful and varied, with hams, cheeses, and fresh bread. Hotel reception stays open very late, which was a plus for our very late check-in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentravelertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothenburg
5.4 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#34 of 69 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
6.1 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#35 of 69 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
7.0 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
5.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
5.5 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Luzern

Property: Holiday Inn Express Luzern
Address: Raststatte Luzern-Neuenkirch A2, Rothenburg 6023, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Luzern is your hotel ideally located on the rest area Luzern-Neuenkirch on the Highway A2/E35 (Germany-Switzerland-Italy) between the exits Sempach and Emmen-Nord, only 12 km north of the world famous city of Lucerne. ATTENTION: There is no public transport to the hotel from the city. You can reach us by taxi or rented car. The hotel can be reached from either direction via the overhead bridge. Free parking spaces are available in front of the hotel. Zug is a 30 minutes drive away; Zürich and Basel an hour. You can reach Lugano in 2.5 hours. The Express by Holiday Inn Luzern is the ideal starting point for various day trips in Switzerland - visit Lucerne with the Chapel bridge, the old town and other sights - or take a boat trip on Lake Lucerne and enjoy the breathtaking scenery of this fascinating region - or spend a day in the alps - Pilatus, Rigi, Jungfraujoch, Titlis to name a few peaks. All the 60 modern rooms are equipped with Wireless LAN (WiFi), Pay TV and a Coffeemaker. The hotel also offers family rooms with one queensize bed and one queen size Sofa bed, meeting rooms and a bar. Children under 18 years sleep free of charge on the sofa bed in the parent's room. Complimentary breakfast is served every morning in the Great Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Luzern Hotel Rothenburg
Holiday Inn Express Rothenburg
Holiday Inn Rothenburg
Rothenburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Luzern Canton Of Lucerne, Switzerland - Rothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing