We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Road Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Luzern
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothenburg
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I drove here in a day from London and everyone made me feel very comfortable. I have done this trip several times now and originally found this place quite by accident but find myself going back. The reasons for this is it's location, friendly staff every time and picturesque views.

Good continental breakfast and if you want something a little large in the evening try the restaurant next door. It is a buffet but very fresh food and very tasty.

We stayed 2 nights and on check out the lady behind the counter phone thought to the Holiday Inn in Pisa and made reservations for us.

I will definitely be returning here if I'm passing again.

Many thanks

Room Tip: The beds in the rooms I have had here are slightly smaller than I'm used too. See if there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 244 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a very nice Holiday Inn, but it is very far from Luzern and there is no public transportation out here. The only way to get there is by taxi and it is approx. 50 Euro each way.
We had an emergency and we found the night desk staff very helpful and concerned.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank areese12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We grabbed three rooms bases on the price for our last night inSwitzerland. We new the airport was about an hour away. The hotel is convenient right off the the freeways. Great from desk,Great breakfast included. The rooms where clean and comfortable but not very large. We truly enjoyed our stay.Fyi you need to drive about 15 minutes to get to Luzern or you can take the Train from Rothenberg in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamond4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a very nice, neat and clean hotel with friendly staff. The breakfast is good and rooms are of moderate size ,by any means not small at all.
The only concern about this hotel is the location. I wud recommend this hotel to those travellers who are using the car to move around. Its located next to highway, and quite far from nearest bus stop or train station. Nearest Train stain is Rothenburg dorf where you wud get trains at interval of 30 mins. From this train station its no way a walking distance, and its quite difficult to get cab or any other mode of transportation easily. Pick up and drop shuttle is not provided.
Except for location aspect this hotel is worth a try for those seeking a stop over before proceeding to the next destination.There is a supermarket next to this hotel to cater to some basic requirements .The surround of this hotel is very beautiful,lush green and scenic indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azad-Sable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

we used this hotel as a stop over point on our journey to Positano in Italy. Ticked most of the boxes, very clean, reasonably priced, breakfast included and adequate. |Worth noting it has no bar as it is illegal to sell alcohol at service areas in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stop here on the way down to Italy with our 3 cats. The hotel is what you would expect from a motorway stop, but the staff is terribly helpful and friendls, the rooms are clean, the breakfast generous and diverse. An there is a lovely horse farm just behind it, so you can take a walk in the country to stretch your legs after a long drive. Perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calpurnia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Clean, pleasant, enough comfort. We enjoyed staying the night. Disadvantage: no place to have a meal in the evening, other then in a relay with not even a glass of wine. I.e one has to make a little trip to Sempach.

Room Tip: Worth your while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothenburg
6.9 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
592 reviews
5.4 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#31 of 67 in Lucerne
821 reviews
2.9 mi away
Businesshotel LUX, Emmenbruke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
1.8 mi away
Birdland
Birdland
#1 of 1 in Sempach
66 reviews
1.9 mi away
Charnsmatt Gasthof & Spielparadies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Luzern

Address: Raststaette Neuenkirch Ost 2, Rothenburg 6023, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $122 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Luzern is your hotel ideally located on the rest area Luzern-Neuenkirch on the Highway A2/E35 (Germany-Switzerland-Italy) between the exits Sempach and Emmen-Nord, only 12 km north of the world famous city of Lucerne. ATTENTION: There is no public transport to the hotel from the city. You can reach us by taxi or rented car. The hotel can be reached from either direction via the overhead bridge. Free parking spaces are available in front of the hotel. Zug is a 30 minutes drive away; Zürich and Basel an hour. You can reach Lugano in 2.5 hours. The Express by Holiday Inn Luzern is the ideal starting point for various day trips in Switzerland - visit Lucerne with the Chapel bridge, the old town and other sights - or take a boat trip on Lake Lucerne and enjoy the breathtaking scenery of this fascinating region - or spend a day in the alps - Pilatus, Rigi, Jungfraujoch, Titlis to name a few peaks. All the 60 modern rooms are equipped with Wireless LAN (WiFi), Pay TV and a Coffeemaker. The hotel also offers family rooms with one queensize bed and one queen size Sofa bed, meeting rooms and a bar. Children under 18 years sleep free of charge on the sofa bed in the parent's room. Complimentary breakfast is served every morning in the Great Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Luzern Hotel Rothenburg
Holiday Inn Express Rothenburg
Holiday Inn Rothenburg
Rothenburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Luzern Canton Of Lucerne, Switzerland - Rothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing