We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery and location”
Review of Hotel Fex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fex
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Sils im Engadin
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and location”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This house is amazing. Set in beautiful surroundings, old, historic building. Very nice renovated.You can directly access the crosscountry ski, snow shoe, ski touring and winter hiking trails. Very remote, approximately 15 min ride from Sils, where a free hotel shuttle service pics you up. You could also walk in 1 hour to the hotel. Food is excellent (except of the soups) and the owner makes a very warm welcome. Our room was renovated. They are small, but since you are either outside, or dining, this is well enough. Staff is funny and very helpful. We will come back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TitschMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

In January, my husband, daughter and I spent four wonderful days in the Hotel Fex. We are keen cross-country skiers and the Fex Valley had been recommended to us. We found the local trails were as good as any we have experienced, particularly the one from the hotel to the head of the valley. After a day in the snow, returning to such a cosy, friendly hotel was a real treat, and the idea of the delicious dinner to come increased one's general feeling of well-being. The breakfasts and dinners were excellent, as were the local wines. We understand the flowers are exceptional at the end of June. On all counts, we will be returning.

Room Tip: From the back, you get a good view not only of the mountains, but of yaks, alpacas and Aberdeen Angu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed there from October 03 until October 06, 2013.

We chose the Valley of Fex for the baptism of our daughter and the hotel Fex at almost the very end of this valley has proven to be the perfect place for our families, godmothers and godfather.

It is such a remote place, accessible only by horse-drawn carriage, hiking or by the hotel shuttle from Sils.

The whole staff of the Hotel Fex was so warm, helpful, professional and friendly when we checked out this location in August 2013 in order to plan the baptism for our daughter.
We have booked several rooms for our families, godmothers and godfather.

The Hotel Fex staff gave such a personal touch, like being at home during our stay.
Everyone of our group felt very comfortable and the food, plus wines were just fantastic. The atmosphere was so cozy, that you could really forget what in the rest of the world was happening.
Surrounded by sheeps, lamas, cows, a little river and the mountains, this place feels magical.

The home-made Hotel Fex tea, plus the Torta da Nusch à la Hotel Fex (nut tart, an engadine speciality) we provided as a give-away gift to our people were delicious.

If you want to shut out the world, then go to Hotel Fex...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

After a short stay this summer, while hiking in the region, we decided to come back for a stay in winter. The hotel is as good in every season. Beautiful setting at teh end of the valley. Nice clean rooms, good restaurant, bar and (summer) terrace. Fine food and very friendly and helpfull staff. Definitely worth the travel, despite (or thanks to) the limited access. We come back this summer!

Room Tip: Go for the renovated rooms with balcony on the southside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Totally remote, miles away from any car. Beautiful, old school Swiss hotel managed by caring and lovely young couple. Worth a trip to experience the beauty of a unique hotel. Lamas in the neighbourhood, rivers, variety of flowers and mountains make this a very special place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

In July we doubled the wonderful holiday of last year in these idillic hotel deep in the mountains. If you want to relax and forget the rest of the world for some days this is the place for you.
This rather big house at the top end of the Fex Valley has a very appealing "old days" cIt simple's simple but still not basic, giving a beautiful compromise between mountains feeling and comfort (I love the long corridor with the mountain shoes near the doors of the rooms and the old fashioned dinig room with a stunning view of the Fex Glacier).
The hotel ist runned by friendly personal which contribute to the familiar - cosy feeling, the new Hotel master is maybe somehow rude despite not being unfriendly and being definitive helpful.
All in all a place we love and that we want to try also in winter.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I spent an 'away' weekend here on the recommendation of friends. The accommodation was very comfortable in the Swiss style. The service was excellent and the food and wine delicious. I particularly liked the very Swiss 'Stuva' downstairs. The atmosphere was cheerful and relaxed. I spent hours in the sunshine on the terrace gazing at the magnificent mountain scenery, and in walks up the valley.
All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dickmcconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sils im Engadin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cervo Sils
Hotel Cervo Sils
#7 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#1 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#12 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chesa Randolina
Hotel Chesa Randolina
#6 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Margna
Parkhotel Margna
#4 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fex

Property: Hotel Fex
Address: Via da Fex 73, Sils im Engadin 7514, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Sils im Engadin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Sils im Engadin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing